Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 65
  • 4 star 2
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 65 Reviews
Anatoli   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 17, 2024

Email Anatoli  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The tour operator showed us everything in the itinerary.
5/5

Peter our guide showed us everything that was on programme and even more.
The service was perfect and being a low season, it would be very few people in hotels making the service even more personalized.
I highly recommend this company to any one planning to travel because nature here and the people are amazing.
Don't be afraid of mosquitoes, they are not alarming as it it is portrayed in the papers.

Olga Goeljakova   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 17, 2024

Email Olga Goeljakova  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The tour operator is very professional
5/5

We booked a ten day safari with Big Apes Africa for our first trip to Uganda.
Our guide Peter was always friendly and told us everything interesting about nature, culture of Uganda.
The experience was simply amazing and we hope you come back.
Thank you for thé good time and we recommend this Big Apes Africa Company for your trip.

John S   –  
Australia AU
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: May 10, 2024

Email John S  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Big Apes Africa: A 5-Star Expedition Experience
5/5

**Big Apes Africa: A 5-Star Expedition Experience**
From the moment we booked my African adventure with Big Apes Africa, I knew I was in for an unforgettable journey. Their exceptional service, stellar communication, unbeatable value for money, unwavering reliability, and the tour itself exceeded all expectations.
**Communications (5/5):** From my initial inquiry to the final farewell, Big Apes Africa maintained open and clear lines of communication. Whether through email correspondence or over the phone, they were always prompt, courteous, and informative. Any questions or concerns I had were addressed swiftly, leaving me feeling confident and reassured every step of the way. The custom itinerary was well planned, and contained great detail of the adventure that lay before us.
**Service (5/5):** The level of service provided by Big Apes Africa was nothing short of exceptional. From the moment we arrived in Africa, we felt like a VIP. Peter, our tour guide, was not only knowledgeable and passionate about his work, but also went above and beyond to ensure that every aspect of our experience was tailored to perfection. Any last-minute requests, were undertaken without a problem and all completed with a smile and professionalism that truly impressed me.
**Value for Money (5/5):** When it comes to value for money, Big Apes Africa sets the gold standard. Despite offering top-notch service and experiences, their pricing remains incredibly competitive. From our accommodations to thrilling safari excursions, every dollar spent felt like an investment in memories that will last a lifetime. I can confidently say that the experience far exceeded the cost, making it worth every penny and then some.
**Reliability (5/5):** Reliability is crucial when embarking on a journey of this magnitude, and Big Apes Africa delivered in spades. From pick-up times to activity schedules, everything ran like clockwork. I never once had to worry about delays or cancellations, allowing me to fully immerse myself in the adventure without any unnecessary stress or hassle.
**The Tour Itself (5/5):** Last but certainly not least, the tour itself was nothing short of extraordinary. From the breath-taking landscapes of Rwanda to our trekking encounter with the Mountain gorillas in Bwindi , every moment was filled with wonder and awe. The itinerary was expertly crafted to showcase the best that Rwanda & Uganda has to offer, with each day bringing new adventures and unforgettable experiences. Whether it was witnessing golden monkeys, gorillas , chimpanzees or shoebills in their natural habitat, every activity was thoughtfully curated to provide a truly immersive and enriching experience.
In conclusion, Big Apes Africa surpassed all expectations and provided an African adventure of a lifetime. With unparalleled communications, impeccable service, unbeatable value for money, unwavering reliability, and an unforgettable tour experience, I wholeheartedly recommend them to anyone looking to explore the wonders of Africa. Five stars all around!

Susan Heaney   –  
Australia AU
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 30, 2024

Email Susan Heaney  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Tailor made and epic adventure provided by a proactive and friendly tour operator.
5/5

The trip was definitely value for money and the 8 night adventure was tailored to our needs.
Our trip was an active adventure and covered a lot of ground in a short time we had available but the operator can tailor trips to individual requirements.
They were flexible and delivered on all our requests with regards to animals and sites we wanted to visit.
Would recommend them to any traveler wanting to do this part of the word and see the gorilla, golden monkeys, chips and shoebill.
An extremely memorable trip which ticked some travel adventure boxes for this active traveler. Left us needing to see more of both Rwanda and Uganda.

Alice H   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 23, 2024

Email Alice H  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Excellent experience catering to our specific needs
5/5

We had a great 4-night trip with Great Apes. Tour was well-planned and paced despite our short time in Uganda. Peter ensured we had a wonderful time and his attention detail incl. getting our shoes cleaned and providing extra snacks was great.

The trip was definitely value for money with lodges in Uganda particularly memorable . We have recommended Great Apes to many people

Prior to the trip communicating with Peter was quite challenging but once on the trip we became acutely aware it was because he was making sure his clients on the current trip were having a good experience. I have no complaints and would use Great Apes again

Marine   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 10, 2024

Email Marine  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

A Once-in-a-Lifetime Journey with Big Apes Africa
5/5

From the very start, Big Apes Africa stood out with their exemplary customer service. Our guide, Peter's, responsive and flexible approach made booking a breeze, crafting an itinerary that far exceeded our expectations. This level of personalized service and seamless organization set the tone for an unforgettable adventure through Rwanda and Uganda.

Peter was the heart of our journey. His deep knowledge and passion for his home country of Uganda and neighboring Rwanda were infectious. Listening to him share his insights on the local culture, wildlife, and conservation efforts was a true highlight. More than a guide, Peter was our guardian, ensuring our safety, keeping us on schedule, and immersing us in the authentic local culture with delightful roadside snacks.

The wildlife encounters were beyond compare and accommodations were exceptional, particularly the forest lodge near Bwindi, offering comfort and immersion in nature. The transport by a comfortable green bus and the smooth handling of logistics ensured we could focus entirely on the experience without a worry.

Conservation and respect for local communities were clearly a priority for Big Apes Africa, aligning with our values and enriching our journey. It's gratifying to travel with a company that not only seeks to provide an unforgettable experience for its guests but also cares deeply for the environment and the people who call these places home.

Overall, my experience with Big Apes Africa was extraordinary. I've already recommended them to friends, confident they'll deliver the same magical experience. If you're seeking an adventure that combines thrilling wildlife encounters, cultural immersion, and impeccable service, look no further than Big Apes Africa.

Alice Iavarone   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 8, 2024

Email Alice Iavarone

Amazing trip with Peter!
5/5

We had a very nice 5-days trip over the Easter break with Peter, travelling across Rwanda and Uganda and seeing Chimps, Gorillas and Golden Monkeys.

Before the trip Peter was very responsive and flexible to accomodate our requests and make the trip as customized as needed, we really appreciated this as it felt the trip was perfect for us!! Once we arrived, everything was very smooth and all the experiences truly enjoyable, with a mix of nature, culture and society. Peter is a very knowledgeable guide and shared with us a lot of insights as we were travelling together.

Bonus points for the 2 lodges we stayed at in Uganda: really beautiful and with a great service level.

Will definitely recommend Peter and the Big Apes Safari team to friends and family planning to visit Uganda or Rwanda!

Jozef H   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 1, 2024

Email Jozef H  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Fantastic, flexible, fun experience
5/5

- communication: Big Apes was consistent and speedy in responsiveness
- service: Peter was dedicated to good service, putting demonstrable effort to make the tour flexible (incl ad requests) and going the extra mile (eg organizing shoe cleaning after the animal trekking)
- value for money: Peter co-designed the trip to maximize value for money
- reliability: we always felt safe and knew that our guide and the operator could be trusted
- overall amazing experience! Seeing the gorillas was truly memorable. Thank you

Christina   –  
Germany DE
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Mar 16, 2024

Email Christina  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Trip of a lifetime
5/5

I booked a last minute 10 day safari with Big Apes Africa after another provider let me down. Despite only having a week to get everything ready, all of Peter’s arrangements worked out and I had a perfect experience. Out of the 105 countries I‘ve visited so far, Uganda was my favorite.
Not only did I see all of the big 5 and many chimpanzees, but I also had the best possible gorilla sighting in Bwindi with 3 playful babies and a very peaceful silverback.
While I had originally hoped to join an existing tour, I ended up going alone with my guide, Sam. However, this was probably for the best. I felt completely safe at all times and Sam was good company at dinners and a very patient guide during the game drives who ensured we‘d get the best sightings. Eg, when all the other cars had already left, Sam waited until the 3 lionesses got up and came very closely to the car. We were also the only ones to see the leopard in Ishasha that day. Unfortunately, the treeclimbing lions in the Ishasha sector have currently abandoned their previous tree close by the road, but we at least saw them from a distance.
All of the selected activities were amazing and I saw so many additional animals. The only thing I might have changed in hindsight is to spend the last night closer to the airport, as it is a very long journey from Bunyonyi.
All of the food provided was delicious (with vegetarian options available) and the lodges ranged from good to great…They were certainly better than what I had expected, given that the total price for a solo trip was 40% less than what I would have paid to a German travel agent for a shared tour.
Overall, I can’t recommend Uganda or Big Apes Africa enough and I hope that one day, I‘ll be able to do another trip with them and bring my family.
PS: for anyone having doubts about the current security situation- I think the warnings are completely overblown. There wasn’t a moment where I didn’t feel entirely safe, even as a single woman. Just go - it‘ll be the trip of a lifetime!

Aurélie   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 15, 2024

Email Aurélie  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Unique experience
5/5

When looking for a company to gravel with to Uganda we first likes up some belgian companies ( we thought it would be easier since we both live in Belgium). However one of my friends who did the gorilla trek with big apes recommended me to do it through a local company. I reached out to Peter and not even 30min later he already sent me a full document based on what we wanted to See/ do. All the communications went very fluently. All our questions were answered well and in a reasonable time frame.

So we decided to book a 10-day tour through Uganda. In terms of price-quality, it was definitely okay.

We slept in a different lodge every day. these were always clean and authentic. As for the food in the lodges, this was also always fine. In the morning there was an assortment of tea, coffee, fruit, pancakes and eggs. In the evening it was always a three-course menu.

Sam, The driver who accompanied us was super patient and well organised, he did his best to make the journey safe and unforgettable. Thanks to his cautions, we stayed far from danger. And we appreciate his care and respect towards animals.

Lastly, The trips covered different places, which provided us a chance to see different parts of the beautiful country. We saw a lot of wild animals (only pity is we missed the Leopard) and impressive nature.

I would hightech recommend people to visit Uganda and do it with this amazing company!!

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 65
  • 4 star 2
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Big Apes Africa, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Big Apes Africa are subject to their terms & conditions