​User Reviews – Amboseli NP

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 164 Reviews
photosbynathanzeluff   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2014 Reviewed: Jun 8, 2015

Email photosbynathanzeluff  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Good overall experience in Amboseli National Park
Overall rating
4/5

My visit to Amboseli National Park aimed to accomplish two objectives: see large herds of elephants in the open and view Mt. Kilimanjaro. Anything extra was considered a bonus for me because I was going to visit Serengeti National Park for other wildlife opportunities. I can confidently say that these objectives were met and I did end up getting what I would call "bonus material".

First, the elephant herds were very large and easy to spot. There were herds of more than 20 elephants. Since these elephants have been well protected from poachers, there are many mature elephants with very large tusks. If you are into elephants, this is the place to go.

Second, I was hoping to catch a glimpse of Mt. Kilimanjaro. I enjoy mountain scenery and always have high hopes of good mountain viewing. Unfortunately, I was only able to view Kili in the very early morning hours. The remainder of the day it was shrouded in clouds. While that was mildly disappointing, I was grateful to have seen it. When the mountain was visible, it did not disappoint. What makes this a unique viewing opportunity is that Kilimanjaro is the tallest free-standing mountain in the world. There are no other dominant mountains or foothills around it.

Other wildlife was easily visible in the park because of the vast open plains. There were few predator sightings; although, I did manage to see a few hyenas and jackals. There are lions in the park, but are seldom seen. The wildlife in Amboseli National Park does not teem with animals on the scale of Masai Mara or Serengeti. Again, as previously stated, this park specializes in elephants and you would be hard pressed to find other destinations that offer the abundance of opportunities to get clear views of elephants.

The weather in the park was what one should expect from African plains. It was very warm with abundant sunshine most of the day. There were brief periods of higher humidity followed by a short rain. That did not negatively impact the safari experience.

The transportation in the park is quite easy. The park is much smaller than Serengeti or Masai Mara, making it easy to see the entire park in a couple of days. The roads were in good condition while I was there in November.

I stayed in a campground just outside the park. The accommodations were comfortable and the food was good. However, I will say that I am quite low maintenance when it comes to food and lodging.

My safari guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. He knew his wildlife species well and he would drive to specific locations when I asked him. He also asked me questions about the specific things that I wanted to see so that he could ensure that my experience was exactly what I was looking for.

Overall, I would highly recommend Amboseli National Park as a safari destination. It is a convenient place for those who are on their way from Nairobi to Arusha for additional safari tours. Furthermore, it is difficult to find better places to view Mt. Kilimanjaro and find elephant herds as large as those found in Amboseli.

Steven Bray   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: October 2014 Reviewed: Dec 11, 2014

Email Steven Bray  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Giraffes with Kilimanjaro in the background: the perfect picture
Overall rating
5/5

I have a great experience of safaris in East Africa but never visited Amboseli. Although it lacks the roughness and wilderness of the Serengeti or Masai Mara, it sure is one of the most scenic and beautiful national parks I've ever seen.

Carmen   –  
Spain ES
Visited: August 2014 Reviewed: Sep 14, 2014

35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

Many elephants to see

alison   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2006 Reviewed: Nov 23, 2021

Email alison  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Absolutely Stunning Beautiful Country Shame it is so political Saw the Big Five Amazing xxx
Overall rating
5/5

Honeymoon Travelled to Malindi We got Married Honeymoon On Safari Oltukai Lodge was our firm Favourite Salt Lick was astonishing seeing the elephants and finally few days in Zanzibar Three weeks of bliss Met on Club 18/30 in 1996 and our romance took off Got married in Watamu We Recommend OLTUAKI absolutely stunning

Ryan S.   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2021 Reviewed: Jul 26, 2021

Email Ryan S.  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

Saw my elephant coming down from the Mountain. saw 8 baby lion cubs hiding out in a tree. Tons of wild life and close encounters.

Inés   –  
Spain ES
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Mar 26, 2020

Email Inés  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

For me this was the most amazing park because of Mount Kilimanjaro. The day before it rained a lot so it was difficult to see the elephants.

badblue   –  
Japan JP
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Feb 27, 2020

Email badblue  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
1/5

I reccomend The lake nakuru !

Family Hansson   –  
Finland FI
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Feb 16, 2020

Email Family Hansson  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

The nature was beautiful and green with grass and water. We spotted a lot of animals. The animals were not afraid of the jeep so we were able to come close and got beautiful pictures. We got a very nice view of Mount Kilimanjaro as well.

Doug Greenberg   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Oct 29, 2019

Email Doug Greenberg  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

Amboseli is located not far from Kilamanjaro, but the atmosphere is often very hazy so the mountain itself is barely visible. The park has good accommodations and features significant wildlife, including elephants, wildebeests, zebras, hyenas, and lots of other animals and birds. During the dry season (when we visited) the park overall has a parched appearance, but the wildlife tends to congregate around the remaining waterholes and the lake. Overall, it is a worthwhile destination for people wishing to see African wildlife.

Masako   –  
Japan JP
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Oct 5, 2019

Email Masako  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

It was very quiet and peaceful park.
Very different from Masai Mara.

I did not see any scavengers there except hyena, but I was satisfied because have already seen them at Masai Mara. I recommend to visit Masai Mara first.

I could spend quite and beautiful time at Amboseli.

Average User Rating

  • 4.6/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 110
  • 4 star 50
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 1
Write a User Review