User Reviews – Hluhluwe-iMfolozi GR

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 92 Reviews
Brenda   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: May 2021 Reviewed: May 27, 2021

Email Brenda  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

Game is wonderful, the accommodation very much below par. Staff not much better

Stuart   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Feb 1, 2020

Email Stuart  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

An excellent game park but let down by poor maintenance and management
Overall rating
2/5

We hired a lodge for a family of six at Hluhluwe Hilltop Camp which was excellent. During our three day stay we experienced the game park, including a game drive which too, were excellent. What was not good however was how the place was managed and maintained. For example:
1) There were only 2 x washing machines for the whole camp and both were broken!!! On inquiring I learnt they had been out of order for at least two weeks prior to our arrival.
2) Secondly, the swimming pool was full of green water. Completely unusable for lack of regular cleaning and maintenance. It looked as though the pool had been in this condition for weeks.
3) The shop, as advertised on the website was virtually empty of anything useful apart from small quantities of tea sugar plus two small loaves of bread. The shelves were empty due to nobody ordering stock and goodness only knows for how long. We had to waste a morning driving out of the park to buy groceries.
4) On several occasions there did not seem to be enough restaurant or bar staff on duty resulting in long waits.

I strongly urge management not to forget that things do breakdown and therefore have to be repaired in a timely fashion. Shelves don't restock themselves neither do swimming pools clean themselves. It's called management!!!

Andrea   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Oct 16, 2019

Email Andrea  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

Being a national park the animals are more spread out and there was definitely a drive or two we didn’t see much, but the bush walk was amazing.

Trish   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: November 2017 Reviewed: Dec 6, 2017

Email Trish

Loved every minute! We saw Rhino up close! Fantastic!!!!!
Overall rating
5/5

Everything was exactly what the dream expected. We never saw any of the Cat Family, but made up for it with Rhino sightings from the moment we entered the Park, and loved being so close to Elephant too. The scenery was breathtaking, amazing to travel from thick bush into open savanna.
We stayed in a tent in Mpila, very clean and comfortable rooms, and had the pleasure of watching the Hyena trying to "steal" our dinner each evening.
The Admin Staff were absolutely fantastic and helpful and everyone was so friendly
Would we go back again? You bet!

Douglas Hibbard   –  
Canada CA
Visited: October 2017 Reviewed: Nov 24, 2017

Email Douglas Hibbard  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

It is a beautiful reserve with a great camp at Hilltop. The wildlife viewing was amazing. Spending 30 minutes with a pack of Wild Dog with no other vehicles was truly amazing.

scarlettvixxen007   –  
Australia AU
Visited: September 2017 Reviewed: Nov 19, 2017

Email scarlettvixxen007  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

A quiet, more remote park.

PyLb29   –  
France FR
Visited: January 2017 Reviewed: Sep 25, 2017

Email PyLb29  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
3/5

Combined with a cruise on the Pongola River, it was especially a relaxing moment to enjoy the scenery rather than a discovery of species. The visit of the animals in the encampments, zebras for example, remains a pleasant moment.

jamescastle   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2017 Reviewed: Sep 23, 2017

Email jamescastle  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

It rained during the game drive, so I could not ascertain if there were any birds worth seeing. Despite the rain, we still managed to find lions, warthogs,vervet monkeys, chacma baboon, Cape Buffalo, white rhinos, giraffes, kudu and implala galore.

Alex Massey   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2017 Reviewed: Aug 30, 2017

Email Alex Massey  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Beautiful scenery, fantastic wildlife, friendly people and excellent facilities at Hilltop camp.

tobias.gebhardt   –  
Germany DE
Visited: March 2017 Reviewed: Jul 16, 2017

Email tobias.gebhardt  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

The scenery is breathtaking. There are hills where you can go and get an incredible overview of the Game Reserve. Unfortunately 2 days before our visit a rhino has been killed by poachers. The carcass has been still there and lions were eating it.
It is great that there are still rhinos but they have to be protected from poachers.

Average User Rating

  • 4.4/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 46
  • 4 star 36
  • 3 star 9
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review