​User Reviews – Hluhluwe-iMfolozi GR

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 36 Reviews
Andrea   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Oct 16, 2019

Email Andrea  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

Being a national park the animals are more spread out and there was definitely a drive or two we didn’t see much, but the bush walk was amazing.

Andre Langenus   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: October 2016 Reviewed: Feb 17, 2017

Email Andre Langenus  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

Visited 5 years ago (2012)

tapaculo99   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2016 Reviewed: Aug 28, 2016

Email tapaculo99  |  under20 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

Wildlife - we had neat views of Rhino as well as lots of Nyala and buffalo.
This park has gorgeous scenery, especially close to the hilltop camp (we were only in Hluhluwe). Amazing long views over the park gave the illusion of being in an alpine zone.
Bush vibe was not really evident - a major road cuts through this park. The main park road is paved and the hilltop camp is fairly fancy.
Birding - quite good here. Highlights included Woolly-necked Storks and an African Harrier-Hawk.

Tjeerd de Wit   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: March 2015 Reviewed: Jan 18, 2016

Email Tjeerd de Wit

Overall rating
4/5

Great Park
Quite big
Lots of game, also big 5, many rhino.

Gary Longshaw   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: October 2015 Reviewed: Nov 26, 2015

Email Gary Longshaw  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

Being nearer to the Coast, it is a more humid climate, and thick vegetation can make game viewing a bit of a challenge. Facilities are a bit meagre compared to some other reserves, but on the whole it is a great breakaway destination and gives that full Night in the Bush feeling.

Piero   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2015 Reviewed: Oct 18, 2015

Email Piero

Overall rating
4/5

I liked more Kruger National Park, perhaps beacuse of the guide

lem888   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2015 Reviewed: Jul 20, 2015

Email lem888  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

The highlight of Hluhluwe was watching a pack of wild dogs playing in the grass as the sun rose - that was actually likely the rarest animal that we saw in visiting Hluhluwe and Kruger. We also saw quite a few rhinos, giraffe and Cape Buffalo while there as well. We did not see elephants or lions, other than from quite a distance. Nonetheless, it was a great experience and we had a terrific guide on the drive. I would definitely go back, but if I had to choose between Hluhluwe and Kruger, Kruger would win hands down.

awatkinson69   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2014 Reviewed: Jul 12, 2015

Email awatkinson69  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

The Park is incredibly beautiful. But for its size, the network of roads is too small. The variety of game is there - but on the several times I've visited I've been disappointed by what I've spotted.

jeremiahr   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: November 2014 Reviewed: Jun 5, 2015

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Lots of animals to see, but may take time to find.
Overall rating
4/5

Hluhluwe-iMfolozi is huge! There are lots of animals, but if you are driving yourself through (as we did), they may be hard to find (probably depends a bit on the season). We had a couple stretches of maybe 45 minutes where we didn't see anything. We spent about 5-6 hours there and probably only covered 60-70% of the park. The roads are fine, though there are lots of potholes on the tarred roads. The dirt roads we did drive were borderline too much for our small car, but manageable. We had a nice time, enjoyed seeing all the animals we did find and got some good pictures. There are plenty of facilities available throughout the park, so it made for an easy place to spend the day. Several picnic areas are available as well. I think that if we go back, we'd try to go at a different time of year, because all of the watering holes were dry and I suspect many animals were sticking close to certain areas with water that we didn't find.

Walter Lichtenberger (MosSixtieOne) Visited: February 2014 Reviewed: Jun 4, 2015

Overall rating
4/5

Self driving through the game reserve. guided safaris possible. Take your time.

Average User Rating

  • 4.4/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 46
  • 4 star 36
  • 3 star 9
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review