​User Reviews – Lake Manyara NP

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 63 Reviews
mpotechin   –  
Canada CA
Visited: June 2011 Reviewed: Aug 7, 2011

20-35 years of age

The review below is the personal opinion of mpotechin and not that of SafariBookings.
Overall rating
3/5

Lake Manyara is an interesting location that is very different from what one expects in East Africa. The lake provides year-round water, which makes Lake Manyara green and lush, and this location is one of the best for monkeys and baboons. We found, however, that the game drive here was a bit lacking compared to the other three locations we visited. The lake is full of flamingos, but there are no roads passing nearby (at least there were not when we did our game drive), so all we saw was a pink haze in the distance. We also saw small numbers of elephants, lions, giraffes... but after being spoiled by the amount of wildlife in the other parks, we were a wee bit disappointed. It is interesting to see this location, due to its dissimilarity from the other parks, but if you want to save money by cutting a day from the safari, this is the one to skip.

Haavard   –  
Norway NO
Visited: December 2019 Reviewed: Feb 10, 2020

Email Haavard  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Haavard and not that of SafariBookings.
Overall rating
3/5

A lot of elephants. This is the place where you come clostest to the elephants. There is some gaselles and monkeys here, but not that many other animals.

Polwach Wudhikulprapan   –  
Thailand TH
Visited: June 2018 Reviewed: Jul 8, 2018

Email Polwach Wudhikulprapan  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Polwach Wudhikulprapan and not that of SafariBookings.
Overall rating
3/5

Lake Manyara is pretty small comparing to other national parks we visited. What we like about this place is that we saw lions resting on the trees which was quite spectacular, thanks to the springwater that has an influence on their behaviors. There were not so many kinds of wild animals to see here although olive baboons were notably abundant. The lanscape is a mix of plain and forest and not so scenic as Serengeti or Ngorongoro.

Beth   –  
United States US
Visited: April 2018 Reviewed: May 29, 2018

Email Beth  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Beth and not that of SafariBookings.
Overall rating
3/5

It was rainin and one of the rivers flooded so we were unable to access a large portion of the park it seemed. It is heavily forested which made it difficult to spot wildlife, but still very beautiful.

Robert   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2018 Reviewed: Apr 6, 2018

Email Robert  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Robert and not that of SafariBookings.
Overall rating
3/5

Wrong time of year for the flamingos, wild life was poor.

Matrishva Vyas   –  
India IN
Visited: January 2018 Reviewed: Feb 11, 2018

Email Matrishva Vyas  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Matrishva Vyas and not that of SafariBookings.
Overall rating
3/5

Manyarra can be considered as an opener, a soft introduction to exciting safari ahead in Serengeti and Ndutu area.
For bird lovers it is good, and the fact that it is on the way and breaks the journey time, it must be explored.

AyBee   –  
France FR
Visited: December 2017 Reviewed: Jan 8, 2018

Email AyBee  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of AyBee and not that of SafariBookings.
Overall rating
3/5

Going to manyara at the end is not really worth it, too much bush, more difficult to spot animals, there are apparently climbing tigers, but difficult to find.
there were thousands of flamingos, but they are too far to really understand how many they are.

Leandro Rosa Novo Vita   –  
Brazil BR
Visited: December 2017 Reviewed: Jan 6, 2018

Email Leandro Rosa Novo Vita  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Leandro Rosa Novo Vita and not that of SafariBookings.
Overall rating
3/5

Beautiful scenery. Lush vegetation and mountains. It lacks diversity of animals and predators tough.

Carl Hagen   –  
Germany DE
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 19, 2024

Email Carl Hagen  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Carl Hagen and not that of SafariBookings.
Overall rating
3/5

Lions in trees and beautiful landscapes

Mirela Erbisti   –  
Brazil BR
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 15, 2024

Email Mirela Erbisti  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Mirela Erbisti and not that of SafariBookings.
Overall rating
3/5

Very few animals

Average User Rating

  • 4.0/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 96
  • 4 star 76
  • 3 star 63
  • 2 star 15
  • 1 star 2
Write a User Review