​User Reviews – North Luangwa NP

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-9 of 9 Reviews
Guillaume d'Autichamp   –  
France FR
Visited: October 2018 Reviewed: Oct 31, 2018

Email Guillaume d'Autichamp  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

North Luangwa is recommended for expert safari aficionados and for walking safaris especially !
We stayed 3 nights at the Mwaleshi camp along the Mwaleshi river

This was a great experience : we saw fewer animals than in the South park because we mostly made walking safaris: there a very few roads to drive in the park.
However the wildnerness experience was unparalleled : we tracked lion on foot and found them : at first a pride of 14 that were 100 meters close, and then a young lone male that rushed from the bush just 20 m ahead of us while roaring, we had great hippo encounters in the river (rafts of more than 100!). And of course as always in Zambia, guides were excellent, food was delicious and bush vibe was optimal

Not a destination for a first safari goer but very recoomended for those who want to experience animals encounters differently

michael heyns Visited: April 2014 Reviewed: May 19, 2015

Overall rating
1/5

Very poor destination for a self travler. Needed a guide in the park. Felt like a military excursion with a armed guard in my vehicle. Not pleasant at all. If you visit Zambia, give North LUangwa a definite skip.

Achim Visited: September 2014 Reviewed: Apr 8, 2015

Overall rating
4/5

A great park with shy animals, little infrastructe and very few tourists. The most remote national park with pure wilderness feeling. 4WD absolutely necessary.

T Sharp Visited: October 2012 Reviewed: Jul 29, 2013

Overall rating
4/5

Luangwa was a great area. We saw lots of elephant and buffalo, and a river bed view that hosted lots of game at night. It was much warmer than the Kafue at the time we were there, but was still very pleasant. Great area for photo safaris, bird watching, or wildlife painting.

BeechcraftMUC Visited: August 2010 Reviewed: Aug 29, 2012

A Gem
Overall rating
4/5

We enjoyed our stay in North Luangwa very much. We only stayed for two nights, but with the help of our great guides from Delia Camp, we tracked down a lion pride, elephants and two leopards on a single nightdrive.

North Luangwa seems undiscovered by mass tourism, but already features nice camps with friendly and helpful staff.

I´ll come back for sure!

Egil   –  
Zambia ZM
Visited: March 2011 Reviewed: Mar 17, 2012

Email Egil  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

Very similar to South Luangwa, lacking giraffe, but more cookson's wildebeests and liechtenstein's hartebeest. The park offers a real remote feeling, and most camps based along the stunning mwaleshi river. The animal densities seem a bit lower, but that might be due to the lack of roads, and the main activities being walking safaris on which not as much ground is covered.

halvardcux   –  
Germany DE
Visited: November 2005 Reviewed: Nov 22, 2011

35-50 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

Very remote Area, few tourists.Good for lions and leopard and buffalo.

bymy141   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: September 2009 Reviewed: Nov 4, 2011

Email bymy141  |  50-65 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

Africa as Livingstone must have found it.

Andrew W   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: July 2007 Reviewed: May 17, 2011

Email Andrew W  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

This is a wild and exciting place which feels remote from the rest of the world.

Average User Rating

  • 4.1/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 4
  • 4 star 4
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 1
Write a User Review