User Reviews – Nyerere NP (Selous)

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 51 Reviews
Susana Dente   –  
Argentina AR
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Feb 11, 2020

Email Susana Dente  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Reserva que te permite ver a gran cantidad de animales.
Experiencias muy lindas

Adam Blair Golden   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Oct 12, 2019

Email Adam Blair Golden  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Birds mostly go unnoticed because of big game. The birds are amazing here. There are no rhinos or cheetah.

Lyn Arnold   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2019 Reviewed: Aug 7, 2019

Email Lyn Arnold  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Fantastic Reserve: Full of Animals, Not Full of People
Overall rating
5/5

Selous Game Reserve is a real jewel, full of wildlife and birds and intriguing flora with the added bonus of very few visitors. I stayed at Asilia Africa's Roho Ya Selous and it could not have been better. As a solo traveler, I look for places which allow me to be on my own (for meals or individual safari vehicles) and Roho was very accommodating. I could do as I pleased.

Selous' geography, with its river, plains, and abundant flora was a completely different experience than the Serengeti. I saw many hippos, giraffes, lions, and baboons there, along with the always-charming impalas. You will see almost all the great predators (if luck is on your side!).

The Northern Serengeti and the Ngorongoro Crater are fantastic to see; but if you are looking for a safari that does not resemble a drive-through 'zoo', with countless other vehicles surrounding a beautiful animal, Selous is worth visiting.

Marianne Nabaloum   –  
France FR
Visited: November 2018 Reviewed: Nov 27, 2018

Email Marianne Nabaloum  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

We booked a three day safari at Selous Game Reerve with Hippocamp adventure rufiji river and we spent one of the best moments in our life.
Everything was perfect: the agency, the camp, the wildlife, food, transportation, and specially the guide who was the best who could have to live the great expérience.

He wasn't only a guide. He was always availabe and wanted to be sure that every minutes of out trip was good for us.
He constantly get managed to find all animals to satisfy us.
He was helpfully, always smiling and very professionnal.
We were very sad to leave him after three days.
Donatus was very reactive by email to give us all informations from France before the safari.
Mickael picked up us at the hotel at Dar es Salam with the 4×4 and we drove directly to the camp during 6 hours.
And we arrived, we have been welcomed by the staff.
All food and water is including expect soft drinks and alcohool.
The first day we made a boat safari on the rufiji river during 2 hours. There, we met hippos, crocodiles and a lot of birds.
The sunset was beautiful.
The day after, we made the safari in the reserve near the camp. We spent all the day from 8 am to 6pm.
We saw girafes, hippos, waldos, crocodiles, elephants, zebras, antilopas , birds, monkeys, lions, buffalos.
The landscapes were so beautiful that you have the feeling to be on another planet.
The last day, very early in the morning, we did a walking safari with a traditional hunter, Didi. It was an amazing meeting. Very impressive and unforgettable.
After the safari, we spendt 7 days at Zanzibar, so the agency was very nice to book the tickets boats and to leave us at the port.
The bungalow where we spendt 2 nights was very clean and confortable.
The electricity is cut off the night from 10 pm to 7 am.
To conclude, it was a big experience for all of us and we are glad to have it in these conditions and with this agency.

Martina Menicucci   –  
Italy IT
Visited: November 2018 Reviewed: Nov 5, 2018

Email Martina Menicucci  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

VERY GOOD SAFARI!!
here you can really see the pristine savannah and wild animals.

Craig Hobin   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2018 Reviewed: Aug 29, 2018

Email Craig Hobin  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

Everything we expected, wished for, and more. So lovely and just about the animals and your experience.

Veronica Merotta   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2018 Reviewed: Aug 28, 2018

Email Veronica Merotta  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

lovely landscape, many animals, quiet

Beatrice Svanström   –  
Tanzania TZ
Visited: July 2018 Reviewed: Aug 14, 2018

Email Beatrice Svanström  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

Everything was great, the staff was wonderful, lovely nature and we saw animals all the time!

Jaume   –  
Spain ES
Visited: July 2018 Reviewed: Aug 4, 2018

Email Jaume  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

Great safari in Selous, last July 2018. Three days/two nights. We saw all the animals expected, including lions, buffalo, hippos, and a elephant. The weather was great in july: no rain and a great temperature. Selous occupies an enormous territory, so is difficult to find others vehicules, except in the encounters with lions and elephants because they are more difficult to find. Selous is an area not overcrowded by tourism.



Tor Arne Fallingen   –  
Norway NO
Visited: April 2018 Reviewed: May 6, 2018

Email Tor Arne Fallingen  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

The park displayed a lot of what I feel African nature is like, it has dense vegetation areas and sparse vegetarion areas. It has the common animals, but you may not get to see the more rare ones. As our guide said, Selous you might not see everything, but you get close to the animals you see. In Mikumi you drive in hills and mountains, you may see more, but need good spectacles to make out what animal it is. This is 2 reserves easily accessible from Dar es Salaam, its not Serengeti og NgoroNgoro, which I understand is something completely different in many ways. But when we visited, there were 1 other car in the park, we saw it at the gate going in, so we didnt drive in a Safari convoy, this I appreciate.

Average User Rating

  • 4.7/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 51
  • 4 star 13
  • 3 star 3
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review