Reviews

Average User Rating
4.8/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 1,126
  • 4 star 200
  • 3 star 17
  • 2 star 12
  • 1 star 13

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 200 Reviews
Kuan   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: Jun 1, 2024

Email Kuan  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Experienced, high-quality and good value for money tour operator.
4/5

The experience I had with Karibu Safari was overall satisfying. From the beginning it is easy to communicate with them and their response is always prompt and clear. The tour is well-organized and worry-free with everything being taken care of. We booked a private 6-day safari tour starting from Nairobi and ending in Mombasa. The tour meets our expectations and the accommodation provided is pretty good in terms of comfort and safety. The guides are ok. They did a good job looking after us but we felt a bit awkward when one of them tried to ask for the watch and binoculars from us. Some roads are in really bad condition but they tried hard to make it less uncomfortable for us.

I would recommend taking the tour with them. They are experienced, reliable and meet the general expectations of a high-quality safari tour.

Zak   –  
Egypt EG
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 18, 2024

Email Zak  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Kevin, our tour driver was really professional, friendly and helpful
4/5

Actually kevin the driver tried to show us all the animals in Amboseli national park and he did it, we saw many animals like gazelle, giraffes, zebras, Hippos, Buffalo and finally the elephants .
Also many birds species as well.

Hannah   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 6, 2024

Email Hannah  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Kenyan hospitality
4/5

The good
Our guide Robert was very kind and wanted us to have a good time. We saw all of the big 5 except leopards but saw LOTS of other animals and got some amazing pictures. Robert seemed a great tracker always listening to the radio to find out where to find the best animals. For some reason we got given a Jeep when we were expecting a mini van which was much better for Masai Mara. Communication with the company was good. All plans were executed smoothly. They even helped us to book train tickets for our onward journey as we didn't have an Mpesa account. All the camps and meals were very clean and we'll located. Meals were buffet style and very nice and plentiful.
On the last part of our safari we had a new guide Kevin who was also very nice and organized.

The bad
Even though it says a maximum of 6 guests in the vehicle we had 8 guests + the guide. This meant that there wasn't enough room for everyone + their luggage so we ended up leaving over an hour late because the guide was trying to shove it all in, and we ended up boxed in with luggage in the aisle of the vehicle. When we asked the guide about the 6 maximum rule he said "But this is good for me." We then got pulled over by the police on the way to masai mara because our TLB (tax) was out of date which delayed us for another couple of hours. To be fair to Robert he was very apologetic and dealt with the situation as best he could and made up the time on the safari the next day so we didn't really miss out, it was just frustrating.

Overall
I would recommend booking Karibu for a safari, but I'd check the itinerary on their own website before you do, as it doesn't seem to match what is written on 3rd party websites.

Katerina   –  
Greece GR
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 4, 2024

Email Katerina  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Experienced
4/5

We saw many lions and other animals, it was a nice experience!

Lisa   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 30, 2024

Email Lisa  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Memorable experience
4/5

We had a fantastic experience on our trip to the Masai Mara. Raymond took us on tour drives and was an excellent communicator, answered all our questions about the animals, and was quick to jump on any opportunity to ensure we had a close view of the animals. In the two days we were there, we managed to see 4 of the big 5, which was amazing.

We were given three meals a day, including lunch on the days we were travelling which was a much-appreciated surprise.

We got the opportunity to visit a local Masai village (note to bring money if you want to do this, as they charged us an entry fee for it once we arrived) and learnt a bit about the Masai culture.

Camping was very basic ‘glamping’ style, and although we did have our own toilet the facilities were very basic. Also important to note that electricity was only available for a few hours during the day, and was turned off at around 10pm. We didn’t mind at all as we thought it was altogether fantastic value for money, and were expecting either something similar or potentially a bit worse. I’m mentioning it as it is worth noting for others who may be uncertain whether this tour is for them, and who may want to spend a bit more money for more luxury camping.

Overall, I couldn’t recommend this more. All the staff were friendly and amazing, and it was definitely a memorable experience!

Jacky   –  
Germany DE
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 16, 2024

Email Jacky  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall a great Safari!
4/5

We had an amazing time with Karibu Safari. We could book spontaneously for the next day, the communication was great and everything worked out as planned. We stayed two nights at the Amboseli National Park, had an excellent camp with lovely people and an amazing view on the Kilimanjaro. We would definitely recommend to book a Safari here, the price is fair and they give their best to make you feel comfortable.

Elodie   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 6, 2024

Email Elodie  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing experience
4/5

Positive remarks:
- Incredible experience, 7 days was a good time
- We saw 4 of the big five
- We saw a lot of different African animals from so close, we could nearly touch them
- We saw a lot of different types of birds
- As a budget safari, the accomodations were quite good
- All the people we've met are very nice and helpful
- The parks we visited were very different from eachother, it is really worth it to go to the different ones

Negative remarks:
- Our guide was not really interested in the animals. We had more a driver than a guide, we hadn't a lot of information and some were even false.
- Some activities needed additional fees (Lake Naivasha, Hell's Gate, Masaï Village)
- Masaï Village in Masaï Mara is not worth it, it is a tourist trap

As a conclusion, we ended the safari with stars in the eyes and dark rings under them.

Sara   –  
Sweden SE
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 27, 2024

Email Sara  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great africa owned Safari
4/5

Great trip. I booked the middle option which was great. Stayed at jumbo in masai mara and waterbuck lake nakuru.

Nice driver easy to chatt with.

Def value for money

Lisa   –  
France FR
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 10, 2024

Email Lisa  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall great experience
4/5

Karibu office has been very reactive and provided good service, we were overall happy with the itinerary and accommodations. Our guide Richatd was experienced and went out of his way to make our safari a success and show us as many animals as possible.

It’s a budget safari - expectations regarding accommodation and food should be accordingly moderate.

For us, only the first accommodation, Miti Mingi Eco Camp near Masai Mara was truly below any standard and we recommend seeking an alternative solution.

Nonetheless, would def recommend this tour!

Natalia   –  
Norway NO
Visited: October 2023 Reviewed: Nov 24, 2023

Email Natalia  |  under20 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A wonderful experience
4/5

It was a lovely experience, profestional and helpful, i had a blast on the trip!

Average User Rating
4.8/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 1,126
  • 4 star 200
  • 3 star 17
  • 2 star 12
  • 1 star 13
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Karibu Safaris In Kenya, not SafariBookings