Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 194
  • 4 star 21
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 216 Reviews
Vasileios   –  
Greece GR
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 21, 2022

Email Vasileios  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The best safari experience I could have asked for
5/5

A truly wonderful experience having a safari with these guys. To start with, our guide/driver Florian was the best that someone could ask for. Very experienced, friendly and willing to give us the best safari experience that someone could get. He knew what time he should be where avoiding safari jeep queues and seeing the most action. He was really obsessed that we get to see the Big-5 (which he finally accomplished). Our cook, Gadi, took really good care of us. We had the chance to experience the true local cuisine and his food was very tasty. Geofrey, the tour operator, was very friendly and willing to answer our questions before we book the safari. Don’t feel worried if he doesn’t reply instantly after you send the booking deposit. This safari agency is 100% legit and everything will go as planned. We picked the 5-days safari but we traded the Lake Manyara Day with the Materuni Waterfall day trip as 4 days around Tarangire, Ngorongoro and Serengeti felt enough. Due to budget limitations we chose the camping safari which I highly recommend as you get to sleep really close to the animals and it’s probably the best part of the trip. Highly recommended to choose this tour operator!

ASAMI   –  
Japan JP
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 10, 2022

Email ASAMI  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Tanzania's wonderful nature, wonderful animals, wonderful people
5/5

I thought I was just there to enjoy the animals and the great outdoors.
But in fact, I had a very memorable time thanks to the guide, Waziri, the chef, Buga, and all the participants, all of whom were wonderful people.
Waziri was a professional. He carried us on a steady drive over difficult roads, looked for animals in the distance, and taught us so much. Chef Buga cooked us delicious meals every day. Soups and pizzas cooked over a charcoal fire were a luxury. I never thought I would be able to enjoy such delicious meals in the great outdoors.
I enjoyed it so much that I would like to join a safari tour again someday, but I will never forget these members. Thank you so much for beautiful Tanzania and Tanzanian people.

Justine   –  
France FR
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 28, 2022

Email Justine  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Fantastic experience from beginning to end
5/5

We are so happy we chose Meru Slopes for our Safari! First off, Geofrey has always been extremely reliable, accommodating, helpful and so quick to answer our messages. Then our guide, Douglas was so much fun, great spirit, extremely knowledgeable and happy to share his knowledge, was a great and safe driver, very respectful of nature, we could only do a 4 day trip but were so lucky to be able to see the big 5! Also our chef, Bagu was exceptional, made us truly delicious meals, put a lot of care into them and was very sweet and also great fun!
I had read great reviews on this site which is why I chose this agency and even with all the reviews, the tour honestly exceeded my expectations. I strongly recommend Meru Slopes, you will be in the best of hands!

Tim   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 24, 2022

Email Tim  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Unforgettable experience thanks to Meru Slopes
5/5

We are a couple and booked a 6-day private camping safari with two nights Serengeti, 1 night Ngorongoro, 1 night Tarangire and 1 night Lake Manyara. We had such adventurous, interesting and wonderful 6 days. Of course, a big part play the national parks with their beautiful landscape and all the wild animals living in them. However, what made our journey exceptional and why I am also so glad that we chose Meru Slopes as a tour operater were our guide Robert and chef Buga. They both made it their mission that we have a great time.
We loved that Robert chose rather lonely paths and calmly spotted animals there instead of chasing other jeeps (of which there can be a lot in Central Serengeti). Also, we really realized how much fun he had on the safari and that he really is a friend of the animals - which is always nice to see that the guide enjoys the wildlife too. Robert called the Serengeti his „second home“, and we really realized that. He knew every street and navigated perfectly (which is not obvious!), furthermore he drove very well making us feel always very safe even though we saw a lot of accidents and breakdowns during our journey. When there was a small problem with the car, he quickly repaired it by himself. Also, when we had questions about specific animals or whatever - he gave answers like Google would. When he was overwhelmed by a question of ours, he was not too proud to take out his „African wildlife“ book and search for the specific information - not just saying something vague like other guides would. And - as it can be supposed - his English was superb, in some discussions even better than ours. As a surplus, he was super funny!
Buga, our great chef, always ensured that we have a delicious hot meal for dinner as well as lunch (a lot of other companies do not offer this). Compared to other adventures like this where you have to be afraid of diarrhea, with Buga, you can even eat the raw stuff like salads or whatever - which was great. He even spoke English and was always in a good mood, which lifted us up even early in the morning.
In conclusion, we had an amazing time on this safari and would recommend it to anyone! Thank you !

Miroslav   –  
Slovenia SI
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 8, 2022

Email Miroslav  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Good price,nice safari,great adventure.
5/5

It was great, there was a lot of adventure,great driver and delicious food.
We saw meny different animals up close.
It was an exspirience of a lifetime.

Jeremie   –  
Tanzania TZ
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 6, 2022

Email Jeremie  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing Excellent
5/5

Great safari experience with Salehe as a driver and guide and Abdalah as a chef. Lots of great memories and we managed to see the Big Five. I recommend their services! 5 stars, great value for your money and good communication with the whole team.

Drago   –  
Slovenia SI
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Jul 20, 2022

Email Drago  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent!
5/5

We (a family of four (kids 10/12) booked a 6-day safari tour, including a trip to Materuni waterfall on Kilimanjaro. I have to say that the trip was organised very well. The team picked us at the airport as promised, all the accommodations and transfers were as advertised and promised. Our tour guide, Mohamed, and our chef, Eric, were excellent. Mohamed made sure that we were comfortable while driving and was very helpful to our demands and needs, always searching for us to find as many animals and getting to them as close as possible. When talking to other camp visitors, travelling with different safari travel companies, they informed us that they weren’t able to see a lot of different animals, which made us realise that Mohamed really did put a lot of effort into ensuring that we saw as many animals as possible. The food was also excellent. Eric, the cook, cooked us breakfast, lunch and dinner every day, and he made sure that the food was diverse, local and very yummy. I would highly recommend going on a safari with Meru slopes!

Sophie   –  
Germany DE
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Jul 20, 2022

Email Sophie  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Unique experience
5/5

I had a wonderful 4-day Safari including Serengeti,Ngorongoro Crater and Tarangire.I have seen the Big Five,big thanks goes to our Ranger Amani,who was always highly motivated in the Game Drive to catch every adventure and beautiful animal moments,so that a lions Family made us cry.We were so lucky and saw 5 male lions.Amani told us a lot about the animals and nature.
Sleeping in the tent was Part of the adventure

Melania   –  
Italy IT
Visited: June 2022 Reviewed: Jul 9, 2022

Email Melania  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Exellent!!!!
5/5

We had a PERFECT safari with Meru Slopes!!!!!
We choose 6 days private camping safari (Tarangire, Serengeti, Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara national park). First of all they are very quick to respond to whtasapp messages the prize was the best I had found.
Our driver/guide, Innocent, was the best!!!He drives very well and knows the places where animals are most likely to be seen. We saw all the big 5!!!!!He explained many curiosities to us.
Our guide/italian traslator, Shukurani, was very kind and nice with us!
Our cooker, Gadi, was fantastic! He cooks very well and the portions were very generous and good!
If you choose Meru Slopes for your safari you don't have to worry about anything, just to prepare your suitcase !!!!
Thank you so much for everythink!!!Our safari was unforgettable thanks to you!!!!!!

Kristian J   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2022 Reviewed: Jun 27, 2022

Email Kristian J  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Fantastic guide, fantastic cook, life-changing experience!
5/5

Life-changing experience!! We went on a three night, four day camping safari in the Serengeti and the Ngorongoro crater as a group of six, two adults and four teenagers. There are no words to describe how awesome our experience was!!! We saw everything: Lion (multiple times), giraffe, elephant, hippos, rhinoceros, leopard, cheetah, and dozens of different kinds of birds, among many other species. Daniel, our driver and guide, is a wildlife savant. He knew exactly where to look for all the different animals, and he was able to intricately explain the ecology and the culture of each animal and their herds. He was so patient and generous with us, answering all of our questions while driving many many hours each day. Our cook, Gadiel, Was a bona fide chef! It was ridiculously fantastic food, it did not feel like camp food, it was gourmet food!! And we received very personal attention and feedback from the owner, Mr. Geofrey, Before the trip he answered all my questions within minutes via WhatsApp, And he even came to the hotel after our Safari to ask us if everything was OK and to thank us for our business. And economically speaking, it was exceptional for the value. We now count these three individuals as lifelong friends! It felt great to support a Tanzanian owned and operated business. We give Meru Slopes and tours our highest highest recommendation!

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 194
  • 4 star 21
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Meru Slopes Tours & Safaris, not SafariBookings