Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 204
  • 4 star 22
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 227 Reviews
Zaid   –  
India IN
Visited: April 2015 Reviewed: Apr 25, 2015

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great experience
5/5

My journey in Tanzania had started off on a very negative note because the other tour operator I was in contact and trying to go with ended up cheating me out of my money and making off with it. I ended up at Mr. Geofrey Nassari's hotel, the Arusha Tourist Inn.
It was the best thing that could have happened to me because he arranged for me to go on his safari and he even helped me track my money down from the perpetrator after.
The safari was great, the driver was knowledgeable and the cook was excellent throughout the safari.
Highly recommend this company!

Mikkel Ohrt Petersen and Stine Deigaard Engel   –  
Tanzania TZ
Visited: July 2015 Reviewed: Jul 29, 2015

Email Mikkel Ohrt Petersen and Stine Deigaard Engel  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Safari and Kilimanjaro.
5/5

Me and my girlfriend were first 1 week on safari and then we were on Kilimanjaro, it was all booked by this company. We got some amazing experiences, We have absolutely nothing negative to say. The staff at the hotel are so friendly, they help us with everything.
We want to Think them so much for this life experiences.

Hester Ruigendijk   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: August 2015 Reviewed: Aug 25, 2015

Email Hester Ruigendijk  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Tarangire, Serengeti, NgoroNgoro
5/5

We booked a safari from Meru Slopes Tours. It was offered at a competitive price, and we were curious what to expect. Well, the safari exceeded our expectations! We had a really knowledgeable and friendly guide (Oswald Shayo) who apparently is always lucky in finding the animals. He is also a very safe driver who always created a nice atmosphere in our jeep. The food was nice and the camping spots were good too. Meru Slopes organized everything very well, from the pick-up from the airport to Arusha, our stay in their hotel there to organizing a really good guide who gave us a wonderful experience. I can recommend Meru Slopes to anyone!

Aurélie   –  
Italy IT
Visited: January 2016 Reviewed: Jan 18, 2016

Email Aurélie

Recommended !!
5/5

We enjoyed our safari so much thanks to Meru Slopes!
Jeffrey and his staff organized for us a nice tour, prices are very competitive and accommodations are very good. During camping days the food was always nice thanks to the cook. We recommend our exceptional guide, David , who is an expert in knowing animals and Savana habitat.
We were extremely satisfied. Highly recommended !!!

Oana   –  
Romania RO
Visited: December 2015 Reviewed: Feb 1, 2016

Email Oana  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Totally recommend
4/5

It's funny because I got a last minute booking and having a bad experience with Tanzania in the previous days (total rip offs), I was not very confident in the arrangement. However, them and the staff were absolutely amazing. Not only did they fulfill all their obligations at a great rate, but included some other benefits by comparison to other operators. Guide, Johnson, extremely educated and a great company.

I would recommend to anybody interested in a safari experience

Katy   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: January 2016 Reviewed: Feb 12, 2016

Email Katy  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Everything we could of wished for
5/5

I was quite sceptical of Meru Slopes tour at first. It seemed too good to be true, it was the cheapest safari we found and included transport and accommodation. I had visions of getting there and someone taking our money and running or being left stranded at the airport, but that couldn't of been farer from the truth. The taxi was awaiting our arrival, even though we had huge delays, the hotel was very clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and the food was lovely.

So maybe it was the safari that was going to suffer with the price I thought, but again was wrong. The guide was extremely knowledgable about all aspects of the wildlife, fauna, history and our surroundings, he was friendly and fun alongside it which made the whole group feel comfortable. The accommodation was no different to anyone else's and at times, actually better and the food along the whole journey was great. I would 100% recommend Meru Slopes Tours to anyone and I think they go to show that you don't need to pay through the nose to have a wonderful experience.

Igor   –  
Belarus BY
Visited: January 2016 Reviewed: Mar 21, 2016

Email Igor  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great service
5/5

We had a very nice safari with Meru Slopes Tours! Saw big 5 and much more.

Julian   –  
Germany DE
Visited: February 2016 Reviewed: Mar 22, 2016

Email Julian  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Fantastic experience - Tarangire/Serengeti/Ngorongoro
5/5

We did the above mentioned tour with Meru Slopes from/to Arusha. It was a fascinating tour with incredible moments. I can highly recommend this operator as everything was well organized. The managment team took care of all concerns and provided us with everything we needed.
Special thanks to our driver Bekka and our cook Mikel. We had a great time in a beautyful country!

Kind regards,
Julian

Wil and Brigitte   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: March 2016 Reviewed: Apr 17, 2016

Email Wil and Brigitte  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

perfect guide for amazing safari.
5/5

We booked for Lake Manyara, Serengeti and Ngongorongo. Because of the season the operator changed Lake Manyara for Tangarire. Accommodation was perfect, good tents, good camps. Guide Gidion was an nice guy and knew everything about the animals and birds.

Rokas Sazinas   –  
Norway NO
Visited: March 2016 Reviewed: Apr 21, 2016

Email Rokas Sazinas  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Absolutely professional tour company with huge expertise and wide range of services
5/5

I found Meru Slopes Tours and Safaris company in this amazing website. Very convenient. The company offered very reasonable prices for my trip. I could not call it budget because the whole trip seemed to be more than a budget trip. Of course, I booked a joining safari. It means you have to travel with other people. But there is always possibility to make your own booking for a family or friends.
Communication with the company started from my email and a quick reply with the offer. Everything that Meru Slopes offered came true with expenses, daily trips and the whole plan. And everything was smooth. So, there were no discussions and only a couple of emails before the trip. At first, it seemed that it is too easy to be so, they will forget, will not take much responsibility since you do not have to pay in advance. After I obtained my Tanzanian SIM while travelling I called Meru Slopes and from then on they were always curious about my situation. They took me from the hotel and the safari started. Meru Slopes takes from and to the airport which is 1 h drive from Arusha for free. The company is responsible and serious. I have to highlight that there is no need to book hotels by yourself before/after the trip. Meru Slopes provides comfortable accommodation before and after. The price is included in the tour offer.
My safari lasted four days in the end of March 2016. The trip became even more attractive because new people I joined and traveled together were very nice and friendly from all over the world. Highly skilled and experienced driver Gidion (who becomes a main and the only guide during safari) knew what he is doing very well. I was able to see all what was expected (including the Big 5) and more due to his experience. Unbelievable for a first safari trip. Gidion took responsible actions with the car when problems occurred with the tires. The only thing I missed is a basic first aid kit. Some small health problems occurred to the passengers in safari and there were not even activated carbon in the car. But the problem was solved with the help of others. Actually, the food was excellent during the whole trip. The cook was skilled. And I friendly recommend not to forget about the tipping to the driver and cook. Tipping is not included in the tour price but it is stated in the safari offer from the company. It does not have to be a big donation, just symbolic - as much as you feel good about their service.
All in all, I highly recommend Meru Slopes. My safari tour was very relaxing which made the whole vacation enjoyable and unforgettable. They are operative, quick, informative and take care. They provide their services with a high level of responsibility, knowledge and experience. They care about customers and their needs/expectations. This company provides opportunity to see NPs and the wildlife in a very easy way without large expenses. Just choose the appropriate period of travel because in March you might get some rain especially in Ngorongoro crater. Next is the time for Kilimanjaro and I will definitely use Meru Slopes for this purpose. Good luck, folks!

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 204
  • 4 star 22
  • 3 star 0
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Meru Slopes Tours & Safaris, not SafariBookings