Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 11-20 of 1,436 Reviews
Farida   –  
Russia RU
Visited: March 2015 Reviewed: Mar 10, 2015

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Farida and not that of SafariBookings.
Overrated. Had no luck with a guide driver.

So the main complaint is about information. It seems that our guide driver Matu was a lier! Or a joker, but it was not good that information about animals he gave us and other guides gave was very different. As not an local we cannot prove anything so it was kind of unfair. Also, he was late every day. Talked a lot with somebody on the phone and with other drivers. It was very uncomfortable to travel with him. He never commented his actions. We were driving about 3 hours under the hot sun with no words where are we go and what a going to do. And he had very bad accent. He always said "glass" instead of "grass" and other words.
Also it is a complaint about hot drinks. It was highlighted in the contract that drinks like sodas and beers are not included. But they didn't say a word that hot drinks are not included into lunches and you should buy it!
But they gave us a better price for that time. But at the same time the hotels and camps they are providing are so poor and incomfortable. Other proc is that they didn't want a prepayment (you know that e-payment systems are not brillliant in Africa) and the water was included in price.
I want to say a big thanks for Vinsent.

Reply from Jocky Tours and Safaris
Reply from Jocky Tours and Safaris
Posted on Mar 13, 2015

Thank you Faridah for your honest feedback about your safari Experience with us.We have made follow up with our guide Matu and found out that he indeed acted very unprofessional.All the drinks were included and you were not supposed to buy any drink by yourself,Matu says he didn't read the program well,which is nonprofessional. About "glass" and "grass" its his local/native language accent influence which we regret and apologize.We also apologize for learning that the hotels and camps we recommended you to didn't meet your expectations,though its because of the budget you wanted.
Thank you again for your honest feedback that will help us better/upgrade our service,We have suspended Matu for being unprofessional and sincerely apologize for any inconveniences caused to you.
We would like to invite you or your friends back to experience better service.Again Thank you Faridah

JIANG   –  
China CN
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 19, 2024

Email JIANG  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of JIANG and not that of SafariBookings.
Wasting time and boredom

The day before departure, I confirmed how to pick me up at the airport by email, saying that someone would be waiting outside with a sign with my name on it. But when I arrived, I didn't see the driver. I contacted the travel agency through WhatsApp before the driver was arranged to pick me up. I waited for a long time.
After coming to Kenya, all the times told by the people here will not be on time. Please be prepared to wait for 15-30 minutes each time.
Our driver Kikito was very enthusiastic on the first day, but the car broke down halfway on the first day, so it wasted a lot of time, resulting in a very short time in Masai Mara on the first day, and only saw some common animals.
The second day was the best day of the entire trip. The driver took us to find many animals and saw lions and cheetahs.
After that, the drivers of Nakuru, Naivasha Lake, and Amboseli were very perfunctory and did not look for animals seriously. Moreover, Nakuru only stayed for 2 hours, and the day's trip ended at 2 pm. It ended so early, which surprised all of us!
On the fifth day, there was suddenly a girl on the car. The driver said she was an intern from their company. But our car stopped several times for her to take pictures of animals. I felt that she was more like a guest. We arrived at Amboseli very late that day. When I got off the car, I asked the driver to turn on the lights because I wanted to get something, but the driver refused. I know that the lights can be turned on in the car because they were turned on in the past few days. I don’t know why he refused to turn them on that day. The lights were not broken. This made me very confused, and he was in a bad mood. I don’t know why he was unhappy and brought this mood into work.
On the sixth day, the driver drove very slowly and wasted time with us all day in Amboseli. The car broke down in the park, causing us to waste a lot of time waiting. We didn’t see any animals that day. They were all wildebeests, antelopes, elephants, and giraffes that we had seen before.
The last day was even more outrageous. The driver actually stopped the car and arranged for us to wait in the car while he had breakfast and coffee leisurely in the restaurant. His breakfast time can definitely be described as leisurely.
After the trip, I felt that it was a waste of time. Everything I saw could be seen in the zoo, but I spent money to come here to waste time. I didn’t receive good service either.

(automatic translation from Chinese)

me   –  
France FR
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 23, 2024

Email me  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of me and not that of SafariBookings.
reliable operator, even if the choice of certain accommodations leaves something to be desired

reliable operator, even if the choice of certain accommodations leaves something to be desired both in terms of comfort and food, as well as the fact of bringing together people from different lodge which leads to wasted time and stress and luggage which also accumulates inside the car.

Anonym   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 14, 2024

Email Anonym  |  under20 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Anonym and not that of SafariBookings.
He knows where and how to find the animals

In total it was really good. We see a lot, also the Big Five. But I was wondered and surprised what was not included, like the Boatstour or the Walk with the animals. I took again a look of the Safari-Description but I didn't find these advices.

And also to see the animals very close was really nice, sure. But I don't think that it is good for the animals. And to breake rules by leaving roads was terrible. There is a reason why this is not allowed.

At least thank you for the journey with you, Moses.

Adrian   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: March 2023 Reviewed: Mar 31, 2023

Email Adrian  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Adrian and not that of SafariBookings.
Got quick replies. Could texted by WhatsApp. Guide was friendly. Office wasn‘t eas to find.

Paied USD 720.00 for 6 days (landcruiser) with the budget version. Visited Maasai Mara, Lake Nakuru and Amboseli. Very long distances between. Also very bumpy roads. Guide (Jimmy) was friendly and helpful. But didn‘t introduce himself. Als didn‘t tell us about nice facts (countries, nationalparks,). Didn‘t ask about our wishes (animals) which we want to see. Because it was a budget trip we got simple lunch boxes. Accommodations were better than expected (AA lodget, hotel in lake nakuru and Maasai mara). It was sad that we didn‘t start in Amboseli very early with the game drive. We started at 8:30 (too late for seeing wild cats). Was sad that we didn‘t stay a long time at the place where the lions were. Saw 4 of 5 big fives. The driver/guide could be more interessted in us (aks questions of us). On the last day we finished 30 minutes earlier compared to another groupe. Afterwards we waited 30 minutes at the AA lodge in Amboseli there. I was happy that we could catch the train in Mombasa (3pm).

Alex   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Sep 12, 2022

Email Alex  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Alex and not that of SafariBookings.
Very good driver

Very good value for money. Saw the full big 5 in massai mara, with a very skilled driver. Camp side was very nice, with own bathroom.

Jazz   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: April 2022 Reviewed: Apr 18, 2022

Email Jazz  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Jazz and not that of SafariBookings.
Good price, bad safari.

If you can only afford a budget safari and just want good pictures of animals, then this one might be a good option. The cost includes all meals, park entrance fees, transport and everything was well organised. However, if you would like a good safari with nice animal encounters, then I'd recommend going with another operator.

We were driven around in the Masai Mara for 3 days by Isaac from Jocky Tours. Isaac had his radio on constantly, listening out for reports of sightings. As soon as a sighting was reported (which was pretty much constantly, the charm of the Mara!), he'd put the accelerator down and drive full pelt to the sighting location. You'd be thrashed around at the back of the vehicle. Isaac would go off road at every possible opportunity. The Mara is scarred with tyre tracks, even though guides are supposed to stick to the roads. Once we'd reached the animal, Isaac would do all he can to get in the path of the animal, and as close as possible. Sadly, most other cars had the same idea, making the animals very stressed as lots of cars (most of the time 15+ cars) fight to move within 2 metres of them. As the animals move, the cars move too, constantly creeping closer and interrupting their path. This meant that most of our animal encounters were actually just distressing, rather than enjoyable. This appears to be a problem with most drivers in the mara, not just Isaac, and needs to be sorted.

We asked Isaac if he could slow down, stop driving in the animals path and we said we did not want to go close to the animals and cause them stress. However, he didn't listen and continued to do as he liked.

There were a few nice moments with animals, where we asked Isaac to stop and turn the car off. But any peace was disrupted by the radio or him on the phone. He'd also decide quite quickly that he was bored and start the car and drive off, cutting our nice moments with animals short.

I left the Mara feeling quite sad, realising that the chaotic and cruel interactions between animals and the drivers that I'd experienced, most likely happen on a daily basis.

If you are looking for an enjoyable safari and a guide that actually cares about the wildlife, I would not recommend Jocky Tours. Despite the price tag for this Jocky tour trip being so appealing, I'd recommend finding another operator and being clear to them before booking about what type of safari you'd like to go on.

Rich   –  
Slovakia SK
Visited: March 2019 Reviewed: Mar 22, 2019

Email Rich  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Rich and not that of SafariBookings.
good office interaction, driver not perfect

Minneh was great helping get this organized at the start and was quick to respond to our questions and queries, which was fantastic. But there were some mixups on what time we were supposed to be picked up at our hotel to start. Not a big deal, but we were told three different times and ended up ready at 7am while the driver said he was told to get us at 8am. A bigger deal was the 45min wait at the tax office coming home while our driver sorted out permitting issues on the way out. Other safari teams came through the tax checkpoint quickly, showed their receipts, and left -- less than 60 seconds -- while our paperwork wasn't quite right, and so we waited and waited and waited.

The animals of course were great, which is what you want to remember from the experience. And Keekorok lodge, while dated, was a great location and had super friendly staff.

I'd probably be okay using Jocky Tours again for the ease of payment and organizing, but just double and triple check how things are supposed to go on timing. And maybe avoid Leonard as a driver. We didn't get as a warm a fuzzy with him as we might have liked -- he'd clearly done this a lot before, but spent a lot more time on his phone while driving that we would have wanted.

Marc   –  
Spain ES
Visited: August 2016 Reviewed: Sep 6, 2016

Email Marc  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Marc and not that of SafariBookings.
Nice safari, old and broken vehicles and poor staff

Although Safari was amazing and we get to see all animals, there's a huge room to improve in staff/drivers and vehicles. Our vehicle was broken two times, we've change to another vehicle, and this was broken again. Drivers due not explain many things, and they drive looking all the time the mobile phone, so the trip was not safe. They don't provide you waters even it's included on the price, you have to request them all the time. On a stop to a restaurant, the driver and vehicle has disappear without saying nothing with all our bags, because they have to repair the vehicle, a bad experience. Price is good.

Reply from Jocky Tours and Safaris
Reply from Jocky Tours and Safaris
Posted on Sep 7, 2016

Hi Marc, Glad that you loved the safari part. We unfortunately regret and apologize for the vehicle breakdowns you had and unprofessional nature of our driver guide of the day. You traveled during peak time of the season and therefore there was a strain in resources, all our guides and vehicles were full booked and therefore we had to out source the guide you used on this particular day and leased his vehicle too. Sorry for the inconveniences caused to you.

Shelly   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2024 Reviewed: Jul 22, 2024

Email Shelly

Excellent excellent guide - ok accomodations

Our guide Johnnie Jackson was super duper excellent!! We saw the big 5 right away and also saw 7 cheetah one day as well as quite a few lions (1 male and 1 female were right next to our vehicle) and even a leopard! He knew right where to find the animals and made each day fun and interesting. He was concerned about everyone in our group and was patient, kind and flexible. The only downside of the safari were a couple of the accommodations. They were definitely budget and we knew that going in, but we're still surprised by the lack of cleanliness, broken tiles, and no hot water.

Average User Rating
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 1,319
  • 4 star 98
  • 3 star 8
  • 2 star 4
  • 1 star 7
Write a Review


  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Jocky Tours and Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Jocky Tours and Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions