Average User Rating
Email Theo | 20-35 years of age | Experience level: first safari
I would recommend you avoid at all costs
We had a terrible experience with them. The driver/guide showed little interest in providing us with a satisfactory experience. He barely spoke to us during the 8-day safari and made no effort to establish any sort of rapport. We had to initiate conversations and invite him to join us for dinners. Despite having chairs and tables in the car, he didn't attempt to find pleasant spots for us to enjoy lunch with a view. Instead, he suggested having lunch in the car on several occasions, even after spending the entire morning there.
We opted for a mid-tier safari, but the packed food was atrocious, especially lunches. (Dinners, especially at Nyerere Camp and Ruaha were excellent)
We understand that box lunches are typically simple, but in this case, they were inedible. The chicken was so dry it might as well have been a rock, and despite my partner being vegetarian, they got the order wrong three times. After informing our driver of the mistake the first time, he neglected to double-check the following day, forcing us to inspect the lunch box ourselves.
The car got also stuck once, which of course can happen as its part of the experience but the guide/driver did not even say sorry, he just silenced himself and we did not know what was happening or how long that might have taken.
Additionally, at one of the camps, the food was excessively chewy to the point where I experienced gum inflammation. After reporting this to Ibrahim, the safari organizer at LuiTours, he changed our accommodations. However, he then proceeded to ignore us, failing to respond to any further communication. This level of unprofessionalism is unacceptable. Avoid LuiTours at all costs.
Reply from Luitours and SafarisPosted on Feb 21, 2024
Thank you for your review; we apologize for disappointing you.
First, there was a lot of rain in January this year, and during the game drive, the jeep became stuck in the mud, which our driver managed to overcome.
Yes, we generally serve exceptional picnic lunch during game drives, but this time due to horrible weather conditions, as it was pouring most of the time, we were unable to find the appropriate site for picnic lunch, so customers enjoyed their meals inside the car.
Yes, you are correct about the lunch boxes. Theo informed me about the lunch boxes from Bastian Camp that were not acceptable, and he requested that I alter the accommodations since they do not want to return to Camp Bastian Mikumi and I booked them Camp Atupele at no extra cost and there was no refund from Camp Bastian as it was last minute cancellation
Last day, when they drove from Ruaha to Mikumi, he emailed me regarding the lunch boxes, mentioning that the lodges had forgotten to provide one vegetarian dish. We attempted to find a restaurant in the park where we could purchase them a hot lunch, but we couldn't find one. We even went to other lodges to buy them a vegetarian meal, and they understood the situation; he even said he'd wait till evening. I apologize again for disappointing you.
Sorry for what happened, and I assure you that it will never happen again, because we have already raised these issues with the lodges, and we will also continuously reminding our guides of their duty.
Thank you for understanding
Email Steven | 50-65 years of age | Experience level: over 5 safaris
Embarked on a 4-day safari to Selous. On the way to the national park, the driver slammed into a curb. The impact injuring my wife’s lower back, hip and ribs. It was an unforced, self-accident and 100% fault of the driver. There were witnesses. He apologized profusely over and over again. My wife was in considerable pain and unable to continue the safari. We were forced to cancel the trip. I asked for a partial refund on the safari, but the tour operator refused, claiming it was not their fault and that he is out a lot of money! Not what you want to hear from your tour operator.
While accidents can happen on adventure trips, it’s how a company responds to such situations that separate the good ones from the bad ones. We did not feel safe with this company and are very disappointed.
In the end, no safari, no animals, no refund, just an injured wife and bad memories.
Reply from Luitours and SafarisPosted on Jul 5, 2023
Steven was our Client and he booked 8 Days Safari to Selous, Mikumi, Ruaha and Udzungwa Mountains
On 31st May 2023 (Few hours before safari) he called me that they will not be able to start the tour in the next morning because his wife got sick in Zanzibar and he wanted me to adjust the tour by one day which I agreed (To start the tour on 2nd June) with the same itinerary
That they'll fly to Dar on 1st June so they can start the tour on 2nd June. But on 1st June he then called and texted me that his wife is very sick and the Doctor in Zanzibar advised them not to fly
That day passed and he called and texted me on 2nd June informing me that it will be hard for them to fly as his wife is not doing well, but they wish to fly the next day (3rd June) to Dar es Salaam and just relax in the hotel for 3 days
He also asked if I can change the itinerary and do a small safari , I told him that according to cancellation policies there will be no refund for the booked accommodations, he then replied (I don't care about that, i only care for my wife now, we'll find other accommodations)
He asked me if I can book the hotel in Dar es Salaam for them. He picked the hotel (Mediterrano Hotel) and we booked, we also arranged airport pick for them (From Dar es Salaam airport to the Mediterrano Hotel)
On 5th June he texted me that his wife is still weak but they wish to go on safari the next day. And asked me if I can offer them a small safari for 4 days and they were suggesting Nyerere National Park
I said ok, I'll do it because they planned this trip since 2019 and I wanted them to have a really taste of Tanzania Safari
He suggested accommodation which is comfortable to stay and rest incase his wife won't be able to go for game drive as she was still sick and weak. I booked them Selous Safari Lodge for 3 nights
Then on 6th June the tour started and I gave them the best safari car with AC and a well professional driver/guide. The driver was driving very slowly as they've requested, as you all know that from Dar es Salaam to Selous after getting out of town there's a rough road and after a certain drive his wife stoped the car and complained that she broke her rib saying that the driver hit a curb
The driver asked to take her to the hospital but she refused. He then asked them if they are ok to continue with the safari to Selous and she said it's fine they can proceed with the drive. I'm wondering how someone with the broken rib continue with the safari and refused to go to the hospital
- All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Luitours and Safaris, not SafariBookings