Average User Rating

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 243
  • 4 star 13
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 258 Reviews
Mark C.   –  
Canada CA
Visited: April 2014 Reviewed: May 13, 2014

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Mark C. and not that of SafariBookings.
Kruger Park is amazing, however the contractor that supplied the open vehicles needs to be changed.

Our Safari in Kruger had a rough start, on the first official game drive ( late afternoon, with the open safari vehicle ) the vehicle broke down. When our driver/guide stopped to view animals, the vehicle refused to start. After soliciting the assistance of a passerby who had mechanic tools and knowledge, we returned to the camp safely and finished the game drive in a mini van.

The following day on our early morning game drive ( different open safari vehicle) we again broke down. This time a much greater distance from the camp and outside of cell phone range. We had to wait approx. 2 hours in the hot morning sun until another Safari company stopped and assisted in contacting the camp to arrange for alternate transportation. In the end we agreed to continue with the game drive, in another vehicle . However as a whole we were concerned for our overall safety with these vehicles and we had lost faith and trust in this tour company to deliver a product as agreed upon!

When you operate a Safari company in a huge Wildlife Park such as Kruger, you need to have safe guards in place. Having access to reliable vehicles for the game drives, should be their number one priority. Other communication equipment, such as satellite phones, that will provide contact to the camps in event of break downs or emergency medical issues, is a must. We were informed that the use of the open safari vehicles was fairly new to this company.

In closing, I found our driver / guide, to be very knowledge with the wildlife in Kruger and friendly. On the other hand , the other company employee whom we had direct contact with during this Safari was unacceptable. I felt he forgot who he was working for at times. His communication with our tour was very poor, at no time did he apologize for the inconvenience's of the break downs or inquire as to our safety during the break downs. We also witnessed his unacceptable rants towards our driver in front of us, blaming him for the mechanical breakdowns. He was very unprofessional and not a good representative of Wildlife Safaris !

Reply from Wildlife Safaris
Reply from Wildlife Safaris
Posted on May 16, 2014

Response from Wildlife Safaris
As Management we would like to apologise for the unreliable standard of open safari vehicles we were obliged to use for this tour . Our normal supplier did not have sufficient vehicles so we sub-contracted to another company . We were informed about the breakdowns when they happened on both occasions & we assisted with replacement vehicles . Consequently we have not used this company again & have made enquiries about alternate backup services .

We have requested reports from both guides involved with this tour & we are satisfied that following the delay on Day 2 , the game drive was extended later than usual so that guests received the services we had agreed upon .

Regarding communications , officially S A National Parks does not allow drivers to have satellite phones in Kruger Park because this leads to congestion at Big 5 sightings , so drivers have to rely on their own mobile phones .

As a qualified Tour Guide myself, I am aware of the stress caused by any interruption to an itinerary which may be due to mechanical failure , unexpected conditions such as floods or fire, ill health of passengers or dangerous animals . The guide is usually alone & has to deal with the situation as well as consoling his passengers which can be very difficult . We regret any altercation which took place between guides & they have been reminded to be more considerate to the passengers stranded out in the bush.

Germán Peñafiel   –  
Chile CL
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Dec 6, 2023

Email Germán Peñafiel  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Germán Peñafiel and not that of SafariBookings.
All good, but evening safari was a scam

The tour itself is very good. Hoppy (our guide) was very experienced and could spot animals really well. He also geve us a lot of information about the animals and respond every single question we asked. Accomodations and food were also good.

The really bad part of this tour is the evening safari. The guide was very unexperienced and just cared about driving, keeping his eyes on the road all the time, and talking a lot and veeeery slow. The few animals we saw were spotted by the tourists, not the guide. In addition, the torches were supposed to be operated by the tourists, but we had no instructions about it.
Definitely the worst safari I have ever had in Africa. WildSafaris sould change the operator for this safari, as it is very unprofesional that they put unexperienced and non-motivated guides.

Reply from Wildlife Safaris
Reply from Wildlife Safaris
Posted on Dec 7, 2023

Hi German - we are sorry to hear the sunset drive was a disappointment. This activity is operated by National Parks and their vehicles are the only ones permitted to drive in Kruger Park after sunset. Consequently we cannot look for an alternate Operator. However we do offer itineraries which include private safari lodges so I expect this option may suit you better next time. Thank you for your feedback - we will follow up.

Admin Wildlife Safaris

Doug   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 12, 2024

Email Doug  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Very efficient, great service and our guide Simon was wonderful.

The entire experience was great from the booking to the departure. Our guide Simon was knowledgeable and found us literally thousands of animals to include 2 leopards, more than 2 dozen lions, 3 rhinos, hundreds of buffalo, hundreds of elephants, as well as thousands of Impala, birds and many other animals

Nat   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Jul 24, 2022

Email Nat  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Caring and informative

Amazing service and communication before the trip, answer all the questions and worries not only about safari, but South Africa in general. Good locations for accommodation, comfortable minibus, knowledgeable guides, helpful drivers, good service during the trip. Reliable provider!

Karen Maurtvedt   –  
Norway NO
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Jul 23, 2022

Email Karen Maurtvedt  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A amazing experience

We had five fantastic days with Hoppy in Kruger. Everything was precisely planned and organized. We saw far more than we expected when we arrived and had a fantastic time. I will strongly recommend this company to anybody who are considering a safari. They communicated well and answered all of our questions.

Flemming Nielsen   –  
Denmark DK
Visited: January 2017 Reviewed: Jan 27, 2017

Email Flemming Nielsen  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Quick response and personalised service.

The safari was well organised and the guides professional and helpfull. Unfortunately the safari vehicle did not have covers for the side so the first days when it rained we got soaked.

Emma   –  
Australia AU
Visited: October 2016 Reviewed: Nov 1, 2016

Email Emma  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Awesome experience!

My mother and I booked with Wildlife Safaris for a 4 day tour through Kruger. We had a great time and especially loved our guide Hoppy. Accomodation was good. Food at the included restaurants was very good. The group size of four people was perfect and our guide was obliging to stop for us whenever we wished to take a photo. Cons were that we thought the first day of driving through the mountains to get to Kruger was very long and overrated . The safari vehicle was good but would have liked some blankets and or wind protection supplied as we were freezing in the wind.

Ron and Angela Stenson   –  
Austria AT
Visited: June 2015 Reviewed: Jun 30, 2015

35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Kruger: the big five plus so much more

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our safari! The arrangements were easy and professional. Our luck (Clive's skill) was amazing. The weather was great, our animal sightings were up-close and frequent, the accommodations were fun and the food was great! It was more than we expected in many ways, but most of all it was fun and relaxing.

aldo   –  
Italy IT
Visited: September 2014 Reviewed: Oct 11, 2014

Email aldo  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

confortable and safe

we did the Kruger Park Safari Tour in September. The guide Susan is an excelent guide, very professional and kind. Generally speaking, we are not disappointed about the tour experience but we didn't like to change 2 restcamps in 2 days (SKUKUZA and PRETORIUS) and in particular, we didn t like PRETORIUS Camp (where we didn t find restaurants but just a WIMPY!). The price of the tour is too expensive for this poor options.

Reply from Wildlife Safaris
Reply from Wildlife Safaris
Posted on Oct 18, 2014

Hello Aldo ,
We appreciate your comments following the Kruger Park safari .
Re overnight stops on the itinerary you chose - we usually arrange both nights at the same camp in Kruger & I agree its inconvenient having to pack-up & change camps . However , in high season such as Sept , we face constant problems finding suitable chalets on the dates required . We are contracted to National Park & governed by their rules which prevent us holding surplus chalets for the benefit of overseas visitors . Reservations open almost 1 year ahead of expected arrival & many bookings are placed several months in advance . However we can now book online 24/7 which is a big advantage .
Meals - I am sure Susan told you that National Parks have decided to partner with franchised South African family restaurants ( such as Mugg & Bean , Wimpy & Debonairs ) to manage their restaurants in the main Camps at Kruger . These restaurants have only opened during recent months & I have read several negative reviews about Wimpy in our local press . As Tour Operators , we can decide to avoid staying at Pretoriuskop or suggest to the guide that he does a barbeque . We have certainly noted your remarks .
I hope you have some wonderful photos to remember your safari .
Kind regards Christine

John A Darwin NTAustralia   –  
Australia AU
Visited: August 2014 Reviewed: Sep 5, 2014

Email John A Darwin NTAustralia  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Bucket List

Everything went to plan and the Bush House at Madikwe was great. I have no issue recommending Wildlife Safaris or the Bush House.

Average User Rating
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 243
  • 4 star 13
  • 3 star 1
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a Review


  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Wildlife Safaris , not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Wildlife Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions