Cookie Settings

By clicking ‘Accept’ you agree that we use Analytical cookies for gathering information about how our website is used, as well as Advertising and social media cookies (including cookies from trusted partners) to personalize our advertising campaigns and to allow you to share on social media. About our use of cookies

Manage Cookie Settings

Please select which cookies you would like to keep switched on. Open a list of all cookies

Below you can decide which type of cookies you would like to keep switched on. Open a list of all cookies


Functional cookies

Functional cookies are essential to using our website and cannot be switched off. These cookies do not contain personal information and are not used for analytical or advertising purposes. Show Hide description

Analytical cookies (anonymous)

Analytical cookies gather anonymous information about how our website is used. The information collected does not contain personal information, cannot be traced back to you, and is not used for advertising purposes. Show Hide description

Advertising and social media cookies

Advertising and social media cookies (including cookies from trusted partners) enable us to personalize our advertising campaigns, and enable you to share on social media. Show Hide description

Safari Reviews

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 71,739 Reviews
Timothy Anand   –  
Singapore SG
Visited: May 2016 Reviewed: May 29, 2016

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

A Day Trip to Akagera National Park
5/5

This trip exceeded our expectations, not just because Akagera is a beautiful place, but also because Frank is a remarkable person. His customer care is impeccable. He is polite, considerate and knowledgeable. Very conversant in English and not imposing in the least.

We were picked up in a luxurious 4x4 at about 630am from Kigali and then driven about 2 hours to Akagera while we chatted with Frank. Conversation flowed well and wasn't strained in the least.

Really appreciated the fact that the one quoted price that we paid was all we paid that day. Hassle and fuss free! Not to mention, His rates are very reasonable for the quality of service we received.

After a brief introduction to the park and a very nice breakfast, we were whisked off for a day of fun. Frank is an excellent driver and his contacts in the guiding industry (at no additional cost) really brought the whole experience alive for us. They told us stories about the place and interesting facts about the flora and fauna. It's surprising how much you can learn on a safari!

Frank and our guide went above and beyond during the drive. The fun part was that despite having done this over a hundred times, Frank still has a sense of wonder about him, and that makes him go beyond the call of duty to serve his clients. He understands their excitement and wants them to receive the best possible experience.

We spent a considerable time looking for a great tour company and now that we've experienced what we eventually decided on, we just know we made the right choice. If you're looking for a great day out in Rwanda, look no further. Frank and his team are a great option. And who knows, you might even have found a new Rwandese FRiEND at the end of the day.

Ciara Peace   –  
United States US
Visited: May 2016 Reviewed: Jun 9, 2016

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

This tour company was everything we needed and much more!
5/5

On our safari trip with Golden Rwanda we went to many places in Tanzania including Serengeti, Ngorongoro, Tarangire, Kilimanjaro, and all the way to Dar es Salaam. Our tour guide was amazingly knowledgeable about the animals, places, and people and was super helpful when we needed directions or wanted to go somewhere special. Our driver had become our close friend and we loved every bit of our time with him and he definitely made the trip so much better! We had he absolute best time and would recommend this company. The price was fair and the trip was very smooth, which made things that much more enjoyable :)

Janet   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: December 2015 Reviewed: Apr 16, 2016

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Fantastic service, reliable and trustworthy.
5/5

We made contact initially as a result of an internet search. International Golden Tours and Travel Agency replied quickly to our initial email and proved consistently easy to contact. They gave us good advise and service before we travelled to Rwanda as well as while we were there. We hired a vehicle from them to self-drive around the country including Akagera National Park. The vehicle - a 4x4 was perfect for the job and didn't let us down at all. After touring we returned to Kigali and Frank of International Golden Tours and Travel Agency took us on a city tour taking in the sights of Kigali.
We have recommended to someone else travelling to Rwanda and would not hesitate to do so again. We hope to return in the near future and would consider taking one of the full tours offered.

Negocios Ltd   –  
Rwanda RW
Visited: March 2016 Reviewed: Jun 9, 2016

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

the great leadership and professionalism
4/5

allow me to take this opportunity to thanks , the great leadership and professionalism of Golden tours and travel Agency staffs
I remember the journey to Musanze , Kayonza,south province in a very smart car , even if we were on duties of rahpc , for sure we enjoyed and were satisfied of the services
keep it up !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Andy Leskowitz   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2016 Reviewed: Sep 15, 2016

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Rwanda and DRC in 11 Days
5/5

Frank did an amazing job trying to juggle our 5 days in Rwanda with 6 additional days in DRC that we asked him to organize for us. Our itinerary changed at the last minute as two Volcanoes NP mountain gorilla permits came up just before we left home (yay!) and Frank just moved everything around without any issues. He's a great driver and a very knowledgable guide and we loved criss crossing Rwanda with him.

He then connected us with his associate for our DRC - Goma to Bukavu segment and although we had a few issues with unexpected hotel rate increases and the visa process, we managed to do it all. DRC is not for the faint of heart! Finally Frank located and coordinated with D'jambo in Kinshasa to get us to the bonobos and they did a fantastic job as well.

Thanks for the awesome tour Frank and Golden Rwanda! One note - make sure you arrive at the front gate of Akagera NP before 6PM or you'll end up in protracted discussions with NP and lodge personnel before they let you in! :-)
Mahalo Nui Loa Frank - hoping you do make it out here to Hawaii!

sergio   –  
Italy IT
Visited: January 2016 Reviewed: Apr 27, 2016

65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

very nice tour, great experience
5/5

we had a very good experience with Golden rwanda Tours ...Frank was our driver for all the week we spent in Rwanda tour in january 2016.From Kigali we went to Volcanoes National Park , than Giseny , lake Kivu, Gitarama and Kigali again.
Frank was a very good guide, very good driver,the service was perfect, the car 4x4 perfect and very confortable-
Who will plane to go to Rwanda might contact Frank and Golden Rwanda Tours and will enjoy the tour !!!

Kelsey   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2016 Reviewed: Apr 13, 2016

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great Experience!
5/5

I had a wonderful experience with Golden Tours. The driver was on time to pick me up at my hotel and was extremely professional. I traveled to Akagera National Park and he had a good relationship with tour guides in the park and was very knowledgeable. The entire trip took about 12 hours, with about 8 in the actual park. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a reliable tour.

Cilla   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: May 2016 Reviewed: May 27, 2016

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Brilliant 12 day tour of Rwanda with Golden Rwanda Tour company.
5/5

I can't fault the service. Traveling on my own I arrived a little apprehensive of how the holiday would work out but on being met at the airport by Frank Benoit Kanyamutara, his professional but warm welcome instantly made me feel secure and there was no incident in the whole trip for which he was my driver and guide to give me any concern.
We had no strict itinerary my request was that if I liked an area we'd stay a couple days if not we'd move on. Frank did his best to show me most aspects of life round the country as well as National parks, cleaning coffee beans, a tea factory and live music one evening at a bar.
I really enjoyed my time in Rwanda and have no hesitation in recommending this tour company. Advance payments made by bank transfere went through with no difficulty and I wasn't asked for any more than initially agreed.
A most memorable holiday.

Alex   –  
Australia AU
Visited: July 2016 Reviewed: Aug 3, 2016

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent Guides
5/5

The guide was extremely friendly and knowledgable about all the animals! He was very kind, spoke excellent English, and made the trip a lot of fun!

Vadim   –  
Russia RU
Visited: May 2016 Reviewed: Jun 3, 2016

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The Weekend with Golden Rwanda tours
5/5

Being on the business trip I had a chance to spend a weekend with Golden Rwanda Tours and its owner Frank. And this experience was excellent! Comparing to other offers the price was very reasonable, especially for comfortable 4x4 vehicle. I had a very tight schedule and ordered 2 tours at the weekend, both started from Kigali and required to wake up at 4 in the morning. Frank was OK with that and both time picked me up at the hotel. The first tour took the whole day and was to Bisoke volcano, which was pretty nice, despite of the raining at the second part of the day. The second tour to Golden Monkey was a bit shorter and we freed at 11 a.m, so Frank suggested to visit Kivu lake and Kongo border as a bonus.

I highly recommend Frank to travel with, especially if you first time in Rwanda and need to know more about the country, people, history, food, etc. Travelling with Franks is not the official way when you have a strict itinerary and should follow the guide. He is always ready to show you some more about his country. On the way back we also did extra stops to grab some local food and to buy gifts and souvenirs. Frank became a real friend during this trip and his attitude to customers is on a extremely high level. Hope I will have a chance to visit Akagera next time with Golden Rwanda!

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5

Rating Breakdown

Write a User Review