Safari Reviews

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 1,102 Reviews
Gill Rees   –  
Jersey JE
Visited: September 2023 Reviewed: Apr 16, 2024

65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Botswana, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe, Zambia and the zambezi were all an amazing experience.
3/5

The tour was value for money, we stayed at some amazing places and the food everywhere was brilliant. We had booked this holiday not wanting or expecting luxury. We wanted 2 or 3 star guest house/ lodges for the experiences. There we some last minute changes which really annoyed us ( in the places we stayed) some were an upgrade which we did not really want. Our guides for the whole trip were brilliant. I would stay at all the lodges again, but not sure if I would use the same company. However we all loved it.

David L   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 9, 2024

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Review about Ngorongoro Crater by David L
Overall rating
3/5

The landscapes are wonderful. The drive down and drive up were fun to experience with the top open.

Yet, it feels like a zoo. If you have been on other safaris, I would recommend skipping it and just do the lookout at the rim.

David L   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 9, 2024

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Review about Lake Manyara National Park by David L
Overall rating
3/5

There are some elephants. There are lots of monkeys. There are birds. The park itself is dying as the lake grows and kills the trees. The other part of the park seems overgrown. You really only see animals that are within 6ft of the road. If you have been on other safari’s, I would recommend skipping it.

The night safari is a waste as well.

Kc   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 4, 2024

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Disorganized
3/5

Ok I’m going to be completely honest and be the review that I wish I would’ve seen, because this would’ve led me to book differently. Let me start by saying KENYA IS ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL! There were moments where I wanted to cry tears of joy from what I was experiencing and pinch myself because the beauty there is unmatched. Now for Tall Masai as a company, they were completely disorganized. To begin my pickup time was severely miscommunicated by Benson. He messaged me saying my pickup time was 6pm and actually ended up being 6am! MAJORRR difference as I almost booked an extra hotel night to accommodate for the late pick up. So I had to rush and pack all my items last min due to this major error. Then I get in the van and I’m requested to pay the remainder (being that you only pay half prior to booking) in USD. I travel with the country’s currency (Kenyan Shilling) never with usd because it’s not smart. My driver tells me Ben should’ve told you to have usd but he didn’t! So we call and I ended up going back and forth until I was allowed to pay online in which Ben asked me to pay MORE to accommodate for the exchange rate. That was completely unfair and disrespectful. These two errors happened within 40mins of being picked up so I was already super annoyed. All I received was a weak apology from Ben and nothing else. Once the safaris started because we were super delayed things got a little better.. until it was lunch time. The lunch was absolutely horrible and not safe. The meat was not properly refrigerated and the fruit was not fresh. Honestly the food at all the accommodations was pretty bad except Nyati, which was decent. Citymax hotel was disgusting and I would’ve rather slept outside. Please bring a bunch of snacks because the food offered is the worse I’ve experienced in my life. The game drivers were shady and didn’t speak much which was weird. For some of us this is a once in a lifetime experience so engage and explain to us what we’re seeing…. Some did but a lot didn’t and drove with no purpose. However the people I’ve met and the locals, Masai tribe, the wild life was absolutely perfect. If it wasn’t for me making the best out of it and being in nature I would’ve easily gave this company a 1 or 2 star. Yes I understand this is marketed as a budget tour,however no one should be fed old bread and cucumber and sleep in vermin infested hotels for $600 + dollars. NO ONE! this is greedy and not humane. To wrap this up look into higher priced options with a different company if you want to have a full great experience. I would not recommend Tall Masai at all sadly. Hopefully they can take this review as constructive criticism as this was my true raw experience.

Richard S   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 4, 2024

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Review about Lake Manyara National Park by Richard S
Overall rating
3/5

relatively fewer wildlife and not as fulfilling.

Aleksandra G   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 2, 2024

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

About: Tanzania
great hikes and people on the mainland, unpleasant in touristy areas
Overall rating
3/5

people on the mainland were absolutely lovely and very friendly, in Zanzibar the experience was the opposite - very insolent and everyone treats you like a bag of money. terrible flight coordination - your boarding pass, airport schedule and actual departure time are completely unrelated, resulting in unexpected change of plans as you go

Julia   –  
Norway NO
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 31, 2024

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Good but room for improvement
3/5

Overall pleased with our booking, but we experienced some minor conveniences.

For our first sunset drive, we got picked up about 1 hour late. And also, some of us chose to do the optional sunrise game drive the last day, which according to the program were supposed to be in Kruger. Instead we went to the same reserve as we visited the first night, which was a bit disappointing.

All our guides were attentive and listened to our preferences. Our Kruger guide, Lambs, made an extra effort for us to get to see the lions. We would highly recommend him.

The timbavati safari lodge was authentic , and we enjoyed our stay there. The food was good and the staff were friendly and very helpful.

Emilia   –  
Germany DE
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Mar 25, 2024

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Was communicative and nice
3/5

It was a nice trip, but too expensive. In the national park we barley saw animals. Just few giraffe and elephant. Even the time in the national park was way too short for this money. That was very disappointing.

Luisa   –  
Germany DE
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 24, 2024

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Everything was good organised.
3/5

Sometimes it could be better explained what we are doing and what’s happening next. Also it would be nice when we arrived to get a quick change but there was no time for…we hat to get quickly to our safari. All in all ist was a nice time there. The service was good und the people are friendly.

Kumar Ankur   –  
India IN
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Mar 22, 2024

20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Review about Hell’s Gate National Park by Kumar Ankur
Overall rating
3/5

Opt for a cycling tour. Can be skipped if doing Nakuru/Mara, as the gorges are closed.

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5

Rating Breakdown

Write a User Review