​User Reviews – Serengeti NP

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-4 of 4 Reviews
Mette   –  
Denmark DK
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Jan 23, 2020

Email Mette  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Mette and not that of SafariBookings.
Overall rating
3/5

Not many animals and bad roads. Beautiful nature though.

Joost   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 21, 2024

Email Joost  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Joost and not that of SafariBookings.
Overall rating
3/5

We stayed in Central Serengeti in June while the migration was also taking place in this area. Very impressive. We stayed there for 10 days and therefore also had days when the migration had already passed through the area. Those days it was not easy to spot the wild animals. Overall I expected to see more cheetahs, elephants and leopards. There is no shortage of lions, but here too we were always there with easily 70 other cars, all moving continuously to see the lions just a little better and tourists shouting at the animals. Not the relaxing and romantic safari that I am used to from private parks in, for example, Namibia or even the national parks in Zambia. The roads are dramatic even though you pay a large fee to enter the park and the rest camps are places where you really don't stop for fun.
I have the feeling that they can also make the roads much more 'romantic'. Sometimes you have a beautiful river, but you don't see anything because the road goes in the completely opposite direction. The Masai Mara does this much better.
Overall I also thought the guides were very poor. They pushed the animals too much and often locked them in.
Overall, I would rather spend my money on a safari in Zambia, Namibia or Kenya, for example.

Mirela Erbisti   –  
Brazil BR
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 15, 2024

Email Mirela Erbisti  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Mirela Erbisti and not that of SafariBookings.
Overall rating
3/5

I went to central Serengeti and didn’t know that animals were migrating to the south. It should be said when I booked my trip, then I could change destination.

Xavier   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: August 2016 Reviewed: Aug 27, 2016

Email Xavier  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Xavier and not that of SafariBookings.
Tanzania Northern Circuit - Too crowded
Overall rating
3/5

Hi Folks,

Just a quick one to let you know about my experience in Serengeti and Ngorongoro.

We had an amazing well organized safari with Serene Tours Tanzania, in fact this is the second one I did with them. The first one was back in January in the South of Tanzania. But for the North of Tanzania I am a bit disappointed, it was way too crowded and spent quite some times at gates of the parks.

My advice to you guys, do not do the same mistake as I did. Start with the North of Tanzania first, do not do the safari in August as it is peak season and then only do the South of Tanzania. Doing so you will have a different feel of your safaris and will not remain and a mixed feeling.

This been said, Tanzania is well worth it but, you need to be careful when you choosing the itineraries as well as the time of the year you will visit!

Enjoy Tanzania,

Xavier

Average User Rating

  • 4.9/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 428
  • 4 star 29
  • 3 star 4
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review