​User Reviews – South Africa

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 95 Reviews
Jacqueline Landry   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2020 Reviewed: Apr 14, 2020

Email Jacqueline Landry  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing
Overall rating
4/5

Wildlife was amazing!
Guide should not operate at night with lights! It’s not natural and destroys the ambiance and natural beauty of the park.
The guides should announce how much time to spend at a stop & when we are headed back! No communication on these matters! I didn’t like that

Stefan   –  
Germany DE
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Mar 1, 2020

Email Stefan  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

One big adventure
Overall rating
4/5

The main attraction is the game life, hands down! Second price goes to the scenery and only third to food and beverages.
But above all are the warmth and friendliness of the locals.
However beware of sudden changes to your itinerary due to abrupt heavy rain (during rain season that is).
This might not really affect you inside Kruger but can hit you even harder in a private resort.
Apart from that, always wear sun protection and a mosquito repellent.

Almir Yeijo Tahira   –  
Brazil BR
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Feb 29, 2020

Email Almir Yeijo Tahira  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Unforgettable, really wonderful!
Overall rating
4/5

We were able to enjoy very nice hotels either in CapeTown or Johannesburg. Environment is very well protected around Cape Town, providing a wonderful sightseeing. The Safary was great, Pilannesberg National Park is the best place when you have limited time at Johannesburg area.

Christine   –  
Norway NO
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Feb 7, 2020

Email Christine  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Reliable Company, Excellent Safari
Overall rating
4/5

Mmilo Tours ensured that everything was in order, and we felt like we were in good hands. It was easy to contact both our driver and the tour company while we were on our trip.

We went on two sunrise and two sunset safaris and got to see four out of the Big Five. I am still not not sure getting up at 3am two days in a row is something I would recommend or not, so that is something other travellers might want to consider when booking. Hamilton's Lodge was a great place to stay in terms of location and had a great receptionist, but the restaurant staff was a confusing mixture of unhelpful, slow, and decent. The Graskop Hotel eventually proved far more service-oriented, and the majority of the staff were kind and helpful, and I would not hesitate to strongly recommend this hotel.

The Panorama Tour bit was unfortunately cut short for us due to an accident. But even apart from this, the Panorama Route was the part of our trip we were least happy with. Our tour guide/driver was very helpful in many ways, even taking us to the airport when we had to cut our trip short. However, in spite of asking more than once, he did not reveal the full itinerary of what we were going to see, which resulted in us spending a lot of time in one (to us, less interesting) place rather than other places that we would rather have prioritized had we known where we were going and that we did not have much time.

In short, we are very pleased with the company, which ensured everything was in order and that we got what we needed. The safari was truly amazing, and the SanParks rangers were both very impressive and knowledgable. We would not hestiate to recommend Mmilo Tours!

Annie   –  
Taiwan TW
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Feb 5, 2020

Email Annie  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Unforgettable Wildlife Experience
Overall rating
4/5

Overall the safaris were great! We saw and learned about many animals, and the sceneries were beautiful. We went in summer, but the weather was relatively cold, as it was our first time to safari, I wish someone could've told us that the Kruger safari would take the whole day, jacket, sunglasses and sunscreen are a must for a more enjoyable ride. The accommodations were very African style and the food was tasty, we really enjoyed them. It's a pitty that we didn't get to see all the big five, however, we heard there was a bigger chance of seeing rhinos, leopards and buffalos at the camp site we were staying, which we weren't arranged to see during the three days we were there, maybe the tour package we bought were too short. Nevertheless, we still had an amazing wildlife experience and we would do it again in the future!

Maja Balenovic   –  
Croatia HR
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Jan 30, 2020

Email Maja Balenovic  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Beautiful scenery, diverse
Overall rating
4/5

We were family of 3 (10 yrs old kid) and traveled through Garden route via motorhome (camper).
We started planing the trip a bit late since we were traveling from 30/12-10/1/2020--high season. For that reason sometimes the accommodation (camp grounds) were either full or did not have much of a choice. Few times we had to go to a chalet or bungalow, which was in our case not necessary since we had a motorhome...Also I believe the company does not have much experience in organising a trip for motorhome, so at the end of the trip , we would do few things different as far as accommodation.
Everything else was really nice from Karoo area , Schotia Safari, Tsitskiama national park, etc.
Correspodence with Elmor and his collegues was good and they would answer email fast .
I would definately recommend this company for organising your trip, just make sure you start organising it far in advance for the high season!

Martin James Ledger   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Jan 29, 2020

Email Martin James Ledger  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

My fourth in 20 years and just as good
Overall rating
4/5

Wildlife - good, scenery - fantastic, weather - mixed, but mostly good, accommodation - good to excellent (mostly the latter), food - fantastic (even if portions were a bit on the large size!), transportation - always good, guides - all excellent and informative. We had 3 holidays in one, first safari in the Kruger, then to Port Elizabeth, hire car and drive down the Garden Route and finally 6 days in Cape Town. All those running the guest houses etc we stayed at were very friendly and helpful. All accommodation was clean and generally well maintained. Most importantly we never felt anything but safe and felt comfortable wherever we went. No doubt there is crime (as anywhere) but it never raised its ugly head. In fact we were impressed by the honesty of all we met.

Saad Bashqa   –  
Qatar QA
Visited: December 2019 Reviewed: Jan 13, 2020

Email Saad Bashqa  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

disappointed not to see a pride of lions during one and a half days of game drives in Kruger
Overall rating
4/5

Five stars to Cape Town. Durban and Johannesburg are disappointing. I booked our safari on this website. It was definitely a memorable life time experience. I was surprised to see that the CEO of timeline travel came to take us from the airport being our driver guide. He came driving a Toyota Avanza which was not enough to accommodate the five of us with our five bags, car seat and a pram in addition to the driver, so we were squeezed during the five hour drive from Johannesburg Airport to Hazyview and also on the way back from Hazyview to Johannesburg airport. The accommodation was good in Kruger Park Lodge in general. The 3 bedroom chalet was very nice but had only one shower and no air conditioning in the main living room although the weather was hot. Dinner in the lodge was very good. The visit to the panorama route was really beautiful through Graskop, God's Window, Bourk's Potholes and the three rondavels (Blyde River Canyon). The lunch in the Potholes was pathetic and there definitely should be something else other than the one and only ugly busy restaurant. The one and a half days of game drives was a fantastic experience for a first timer. Yet I was disappointed not to properly see the big five. We saw enough Rhinos, Buffalo and Elephants but we only saw one Leopard hanging on a tree from a distance and only one sleeping lioness turning its back on us from a distance.

Mori Mitsuki   –  
Japan JP
Visited: November 2019 Reviewed: Jan 4, 2020

Email Mori Mitsuki  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Different space
Overall rating
4/5

It was very good. I want to go again.
There are bugs in the room, so I want to put some pesticides.

Sandra Mitchell   –  
Australia AU
Visited: December 2019 Reviewed: Jan 1, 2020

Email Sandra Mitchell  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great experience
Overall rating
4/5

Thank you we were very happy with our safari and accommodation.

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 586
  • 4 star 95
  • 3 star 13
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 2
Write a User Review