​User Reviews – South Africa

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 586 Reviews
Natulia   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2019 Reviewed: Sep 11, 2021

Email Natulia  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Tourico Vacations "Loves South Africa"
Overall rating
5/5

Planning a South African vacation is a great idea not only for you, but your entire family. The country has so many things to offer everyone. You can plan a romantic holiday with your partner in the beautiful Cape Town or Johannesburg, or let your hair down comfortably in the sun-soaked beaches while keeping your children occupied with the numerous amusement park and nature reserve tours. Whatever the occasion, South Africa definitely has its own unique platter for everybody. Just take a look.


Talking about the vivacious heritages of the country, South Africa offers a number of world heritage sites for its visitors. Starting with the Cradle of Humankind, it is a collection of several hominid fossil sites scattered in Taung, Sterkfontein, Kromdraai and Swartkrans. More particularly, the Taung Heritage Site is of special importance for archaeologists who consider it to be the most significant source of the missing link between man and the apes. Situated in the northern coastal region of South Africa’s KwaZulu-Natal province, the Greater St. Lucia Wetland Park is home to a wide variety of waterbird species. The park also includes mountains, forests, wetlands, mangroves and dune vegetation.


Now coming down to the city life, Johannesburg is one of the most popular destinations among tourists. The city is commonly known as the city of gold due to its gold mines. Clad in cultural extravagance, the city of Johannesburg is a great location for fun and festivities. That is not all, your air tickets to South Africa destinations certainly will offer lots of holiday ideas for a memorable travel experience in the country. If you like shopping, just head to the Sandton city, where you will find Africa’s best shopping malls. Next to Sandton is the Randburg Waterfront, where you will find a collection of restaurants, fast food outlets and a flea market. So shopping now meets an interesting opportunity to experience the exquisite delicacies of the country!


Alan   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: June 2021 Reviewed: Jul 14, 2021

Email Alan  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

South African parks are affordable compared to Botswana and Zimbabwe.
The big five look the same any where in Southern Africa so decide why added expense and four extra days of travel with petrol costs make it worth while.

If you are in Gauteng a visit to the Pilanesberg especially during the week will make you feel as though you own the park. It is really a weekend park with often not more than 30 cars in the park during the week.

The Botswana side of the Kgalakadi probably trumps Chobe and Savute for its remoteness from other people minus the very big game. There with the proximity to the South African side there are always supplies of essentials should you need them as well as vehicle support and repair.

JC de Beer   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: December 2020 Reviewed: Dec 21, 2020

Email JC de Beer  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

I still believe there are many excellent places to visit in SA that are looked after and I would rather visit these park than go oversees.

Kuziva   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: September 2020 Reviewed: Oct 14, 2020

Email Kuziva  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

It is one of the best experiences i ever had
Overall rating
5/5

Wow, i had the best of times. The service that these guys gave me was top notch. I enjoyed my holiday and will use and recommend you guys again.

Candee   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2020 Reviewed: Apr 24, 2020

Email Candee  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Miraculous!
Overall rating
5/5

Our trip to South Africa and Jamila Lodge in the Welgovenden Game Park was a trip of a life time! Sandra Nicol at Traipsing Through Africa made it all happen with the upmost care, excitement and precision. Sandra contacted me and immediately became my guardian angel through the whole journey--from planning, site-seeing, getting to our safari location--to our precarious return home due to the beginning of the world-wide shutdown & CORONA-19 Pandemic.

I contacted Safari Bookings to get recommendations for Safari excursions w/easy access to Johannesburg--I wasn't sure what to expect. I didn't know I would gain a friend in South Africa who knew exactly what we needed! When Sandra called, she listened to all of our needs and hopes. She soon became a wonderful resource for every aspect of our travel to South Africa, including hotels upon arrival, ground transportation, advice on day excursions and local safety. She was in touch on a regular basis to tailor our trip to our needs and time frame. She worked everything around other plans we already had in place in SA and Eswatini.

Sandra recommended a lodge in the mountains of the Waterberg District, of the Limpopo, province--about 3.5 hours from Johannesburg--Jamila. It was absolutely perfect! When the world situation began to change, our plans began to change by the minute as well. Sandra was checking-in and came to our rescue, re-arranging details and accommodations. We were blown away by the personal service of Sandra and the staff at Jamila Lodge. Sandra's concern and care for us went above and beyond. In spite of everything, we had a very private peaceful adventure with wonderful gourmet meals, beautiful luxury rooms, top-notch service, 2 daily-privately guided safari excursions, breath-taking scenery and sun-sets, morning al fresco tea-breaks, fire-side dinners, spotting of The Big 5 and so much more. It was heaven on earth and we could not have done it without Sandra at Traipsing Through Africa! When we do it again, we'll call Sandra!

D. K.   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2020 Reviewed: Apr 24, 2020

Email D. K.  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Absolutely fabulous!
Overall rating
5/5

Our safari to Madikwe Game Reserve was spectacular. We saw more wildlife than we could have hoped for; the accommodations and food were outstanding. Our guide went out of his way to show us all that he could. I hope to come back and spend more time in the future.

Marcela Grezes   –  
Brazil BR
Visited: March 2020 Reviewed: Apr 19, 2020

Email Marcela Grezes  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing experience!
Overall rating
5/5

We had amazing tour guides and saw the big 5 (and so much more). Would definitely recommend. Unforgettable experience.

Ross Newing   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: March 2020 Reviewed: Apr 12, 2020

Email Ross Newing  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent Safari Experience
Overall rating
5/5

First Class Safari found through Safaribookings. Although initially looking at the numerous safari's and tours on offer via this web site I eventually narrowed the search down to just one recently established safari operator.
I was not dissapointed in any way with the excellent service provided. The wildlife we discovered was way more than we expected, the accommodation was first class, the tours on offer were varied and the guides had first hand knoledge of the wildlife .
Highly recommended, a must do for all wildlife enthusiasts.

Lidia   –  
Ireland IE
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Apr 9, 2020

Email Lidia  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Brilliant experience
Overall rating
5/5

Loved every minute of our trip, the food cooked for us was so tasty and different every day. The day drives were my favourite part and then lounging by the pool. We saw plenty of wildlife and learned a lot about life in the bush. It was a truly unique and educational experience

Soha Haidar   –  
Canada CA
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Apr 6, 2020

Email Soha Haidar  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing!
Overall rating
5/5

Let me start by saying that the Kruger 4-day safari with Wild Wings Safaris (WWS) was the BEST EXPERIENCE of my life!!

Before booking with WWS, we reached out to 6 other tour operators for similar safari options. Most of them were more expensive than what WWS was asking for pretty much the same thing (transport from/to Johannesburg, accommodation in the park, food, and guide for 4 days). We decided to book with WWS due to our limited budget. I didn’t know what to really expect to be honest. Here's what we got:

1- Our guide Sam was simply the best (24 years of experience)!! By day 2, we had already seen 4 of the Big 5. We saw animals up close which was UNREAL! Sam knew Kruger by heart! If you ever get Sam as a guide, consider yourself the luckiest person ever!
2- Jacques (our private cook) was wonderful! He cooked us homemade traditional South African meals every day for breakfast and dinner! I totally did not expect that! I knew that breakfasts and dinners were included, but I though it was going to be something really basic like sandwiches (which I would’ve been fine with). However, what we got was FAR from what we expected!
3- Transport from/to Johannesburg was great! Drivers showed up on time and the cars were comfortable and modern!

This safari was worth every penny spent. Please save your money and avoid overpaying by booking with different tour operators. In terms of cost/value, you can't go wrong with WWS!

Highly recommended!

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 586
  • 4 star 95
  • 3 star 13
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 2
Write a User Review