​User Reviews – South Africa

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 886 Reviews
Albert Abela   –  
France FR
Visited: July 2024 Reviewed: Jul 17, 2024

Email Albert Abela  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Safari with my sons
Overall rating
5/5

Excellent lodges and safari in Kruger and in concessions .

Diane Lincoln   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jul 16, 2024

Email Diane Lincoln  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

I loved the animal viewing on the safari!
Overall rating
5/5

We booked two different safaris in June 2024 with Ranger Buck Safari team. The first safari was the Buffalo Camp in Kampama game reserve. The staff was wonderful and the glamping tents where nice. The game drives started on time and the ranger was knowledgeable and worked hard to find all the animals each day. I would definitely return to Kampama!
The second safari was Shamwari private game reserve. The glamping tents were fantastic but the staff was getting the lodge ready for winter shut down and we felt it was rushed and not time well spent at this lodge. The ranger was driving so fast at times, we could not spot anything in the bush.

Christian Anthony Wiberg   –  
Sweden SE
Visited: July 2024 Reviewed: Jul 15, 2024

Email Christian Anthony Wiberg  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great adventure
Overall rating
5/5

North eastern SA had not only exciting safari but also offer guider tours to diamond mines and Mandela’s old neighbourhood as well as apartheid museum.

Colette   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jul 13, 2024

Email Colette  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Wonderful!
Overall rating
5/5

I’ve wanted to go on a safari since I knew what they were. I went on a 5 day trip with Bongan Safaris and loved it! I saw the Big 5 and many more. I also took a day trip to see Blyde Canyon, among other wonderful sites. Everyone I encountered in South Africa, from airport and hotel personnel to safari and game reserve employees, were so kind and helpful. This was one of my all time favorite vacations. I’d love to go back.

Paola   –  
United Arab Emirates AE
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jul 13, 2024

Email Paola  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

it was magical
Overall rating
5/5

Our trip to Kruger Park was beyond what we could imagine. we stayed at Kapama private reserve. we did many safaris. we could see all the animals we wanted to see. The service, the hotel and the overall experience were excellent and above our expectations. great trip that i would recommend to everyone.

Erica   –  
France FR
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jul 8, 2024

Email Erica  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Definitely one of the most beautiful countries on earth
Overall rating
5/5

It was my first time in South Aftica and definitely not the last!
I've been amazed by the variety and beauty of the landscapes from Joburg to Cape Town! My time at the Kruger Park during a 3 days safari was the highlight of my trip! I was lucky to witness the beauty of the nature and the majesty of animals (lions, girafes, elephants, zebras, etc.).
Joburg is a busy and rich city, visiting Soweto to learn more about the history of the country was very moving but necessary!
Cape Town stole my heart! This city is definitely one of the most beautiful cities I've had to visit in my life, between Table Mountain or Lion's Head, Camps Bay and the other parts of the city, all I could do is to admire the beauty and diversity of this city. I'll definitely come back sooner than I thought!

Fernando Arbach   –  
Argentina AR
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jul 6, 2024

Email Fernando Arbach  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A dream come true
Overall rating
5/5

We loved the experience of going on a safari for the first time! Everything was magical, the people from different places are very kind and friendly.

Ira Lembong   –  
Indonesia ID
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: Jul 4, 2024

Email Ira Lembong  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Experience Like No other
Overall rating
5/5

South Africa have been a long time bucket-list destination for us, when we finally took the trip, it was once in a lifetime experience.
What we love most about South Africa are the people, how accommodating, how they dress so vibrantly, how artistic these people are.
I used to hear horror stories about people’s experience in South Africa, the robbing and the violence, i did not experience any of that and i felt safe.
Maybe some areas have to be avoided but that’s like any other part of the world.
The Safari experience was just thrilling, the anticipation of seeing some animals in the wild was like a game of hide and seek. We did not have the expectation to see the big 5 because it’s not guaranteed in the wild. We were very lucky though to witness a cheetah with it’s kill, devouring an impala. This experience made me have even more respect for nature, the circle of life.
Seeing the vast bushland with all the animals give one some sort of perspective, a need to protect all these animals that share the earth.
Cape Town… just WOW!! It is said to be one of the most beautiful city in the world, you believe it when you see it! This city is surrounded by beauty everywhere, from mountains to beaches to cities. I was most surprised with the South African cuisines, they are delicious, even more surprising, the Thai restaurant in Cape Town is as authentic as it is in Thailand!
South Africa is definitely live up to their Tourism motto “Out of the Ordinary”
If you ever had the opportunity to go, seize it! It will be a travel experience you will never regret.

Amanda Robinson   –  
Egypt EG
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jul 3, 2024

Email Amanda Robinson  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Fabulous
Overall rating
5/5

We had a wonderful time in South Africa, The hotel I booked near airport was great as was the tour to soweto and Johannesburg through them.But the safari arranged for me by Discover Africa and Matthys was excellent everything organised perfectly.The wildlife and birding was great and we stayed at 2 different safari parks that were both different.Sabi Sands and Kruger. Cannot say enough what a great trip this was

Bibhas R Kundu   –  
India IN
Visited: June 2024 Reviewed: Jun 30, 2024

Email Bibhas R Kundu  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Exotic destination with mountains Oceans and Wild life
Overall rating
5/5

We started our trip from Cape Town spreading to the garden route which included wonderful Hermanus Mossel Bay Knysna Port Elizabeth and then flying out from there to Victoria Falls, back again to Johannesburg, driving out to Kruger National Park and ending our trip at Johannesburg
Every bit was exciting.
I want to highlight Kruger done through Safari Booking via Wild Planet.
A team of two people Chris and Hope met us at Hoedspruit and then rolled us to a wonderful park, putting up at Satara camp
We took multiple game drives with excellent views of the park and animals.
Hope did the cooking and packing ( very good at it and maintaining time) whilst Chris showed us around spotting the animal well in time for a photo shoot
It was an unforgettable experience!
Strongly recommended

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 886
  • 4 star 132
  • 3 star 15
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 2
Write a User Review