​User Reviews – Uganda

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 59 Reviews
Jiri Machacek   –  
Czech Republic CZ
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Sep 26, 2022

Email Jiri Machacek  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Uganda is an interesting safari destination but its wildlife is obviously under a great pressure
Overall rating
4/5

I think Uganda is not for someone who suppose to have just one East Africa safari tour in his/her life.
For such people Kenya/Tanzania are better options.
Uganda is about some special animal (shoebill, chimps, gorillas, other primates, birds) and special landscape (lakes, Virunga, Ruwenzori, a margin of Congo rainforest basin) targets.

We knew that, we are strongly oriented to wildlife but anyway - Uganda was a partial (with the focus on PARTIAL) disappointment.
When I was a child the classical Ugandan national parks like Murchison Falls and Queen Elisabeth were symbols of the African wildlife beauty. They are still here but obviously under a great poaching pressure and some parts of QE (esp. Ishasha sector) are simply dying ecosystems. Without any change in NP management Uganda can expect even further decrease of safari visitors.

There were also 2 and 1/2 disappointments with the activities which were expected to be the Uganda safari highlights:

* Disappointment 1 : chimpanzee trekking in Kibale - IMO this is a cheat from definition - this is no trekking but cca an hour of standing in a dark forest and staring at a chimpanzee back high and far in the trees. I can understand it is made as it is possible but with all the marketing and for the price (a half of the gorilla permit) ... ? But I do believe that for chimps is Kibale a good place to live. Which is a good message.

* Disappointment 2 : tree-climbing lions in Ishasha/QENP - we saw just one older cub which was seriously and repeatedly injured (the older injury from poacher snares, the fresh new injury - as we were told - made by an aggressive male lion ). Add the evening/night shooting at elephants (to keep them out of the crop fields) and the fact that one half (really) of Ishasha sector is completely burnt down. A depressive place.

* 1/2 of Disappointment : gorilla trekking in Bwindi - this is no cheat (compared with chimps trekking in Kibale), it is a real rainforest trekking crowned with gorillas observation from a close distance - we spent a half an hour with a female and cca 10-month-old baby (nice) and we could hear other group members (incl. silverback) in the undergrowth nearby. But when the female with her baby was leaving we were told by our leader guide we could not to continue in observation because of a wasp nest (it was really there but it was there all the time and could be easily bypassed when trying to follow gorillas which were apparently nearby). So we finished our session after a half an hour and returned to the base where we were waiting another half an hour until the "easy group" returned (we were the "medium group"). I suppose the gorilla trekking is no cheat from definition (as I suppose the chimps trekking in Kibale is) but we simply had a hard luck with our leader guide. You didn't travel so long distance and didn't spend so much money to skip a half of the activity for such a vague reason.

But there were also very good points in our Uganda safari tour :

* shoebill in Mabamba swamps
* rhinos trekking in Ziwa RS
* Nile delta boat cruise (private small boat)
* giant forest hogs close to Buffalo lodge/QE
* Kazinga channel boat cruise (private small boat)
* Golden monkey trekking in Mgahinga NP (by far best of the primate trekking)
* Lake Mulehe birding (private small boat)
* Lake Bunyonyi birding (private small boat)
* birding !!!

And the trip organization by Africa Adventure Vacations was excellent. The tour was discussed and planned with Robert and we were guided with Ceasar and Daphne. I can highly recommend all of them, the tour organization was simply great and we would like to thank them once more at this place.

To sum up - I'm far from being sure to visit Uganda again but if we do that we'll ask Africa Adventure Vacations (Robert, Ceasar, Daphne) to organize our trip again.

Sarah   –  
Australia AU
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 31, 2022

Email Sarah  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Beautiful green lush country with friendly people
Overall rating
4/5

After spending some time in Kenya (dry and rough in most places), it was refreshing to travel through Uganda for a few days. The landscape was breathtaking, so many green hills - not to mention the incredible Bwindi Forest where we had the opportunity to see Silver Back Gorillas in the wild! The roads were much better than in Kenya, and the people were friendly - especially towards women who seem to be well respected in the Ugandan society. The amount of wild life can't compete with Kenya's huge & abundant national parks though. Overall I had a lovely time in Uganda and I'd be happy to return!

Mariana Pereira   –  
Spain ES
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Jan 25, 2020

Email Mariana Pereira  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing experience watching the gorillas in their natural habitat
Overall rating
4/5

The accommodation, the food and the guides were pretty good! We had a great time!

Josephine   –  
Italy IT
Visited: March 2019 Reviewed: Mar 26, 2019

Email Josephine  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

excellent experience
Overall rating
4/5

the country - which is called the "Pearl of Africa" is a gem, the western areas in particular.
I had a 4 day safari starting from Jinja in the east and including Lake Mburo, Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Lake Bunyonyi. The places are wonderful and they deserve visiting.
I booked my trip through Tourist Centre Safaris' agency in Jinja and the program they submitted was simply super.
The accommodation chosen were great, all set in wonderful places with magnificent views.
I recommend Tourist Centre Safaris in Jinja for their skills and care with customers

Prathima   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2019 Reviewed: Feb 21, 2019

Email Prathima  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Perfect!
Overall rating
4/5

This trip was exactly what we were looking for. Someone to take care of all the logistics and an incredibly guide to take us along the way. We still talk about this part of the trip and our guide.

Kyle   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2018 Reviewed: Feb 11, 2019

Email Kyle  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Great for Rainforest. Not as great for typical safari.
Overall rating
4/5

The tour was fantastic.! Not as good as other east Africa countries but still a wonderful place to visit

Douglas   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: November 2018 Reviewed: Dec 7, 2018

Email Douglas  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

It was the best safari ever
Overall rating
4/5

Africa has the best wildlife especially Uganda, i visited Murchison falls and would strongly remmend it
Entebbe Zoo is also another good place to vist as there also very nice resort hotel beaches if you want to spend a nite
The weather in the tropics is fantastic .Accomodation-we stayed serena hotel which is just in the middel of the capital kampala
40 miles away from international Airport.serena provided us the best 5 star service one could dream of.
food(most hospital provide english breakfast served with fruits so you can't go wrong
Transport is cheap and there is Uber realiable
I recommend any one to visit safaribooking.com Hails Tours Uganda

Andrea S   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: November 2018 Reviewed: Dec 7, 2018

Email Andrea S  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

great program, not the best guide ever
Overall rating
4/5

The service provided a great plan. Kidepo valley in November is great for the nature and wildlife. Sipi was nice too. They tailored the program following my need. Locations and activities were great. The management of the holiday was not the best: they booked one month before doing a mistake (if it would have been 1 month later, it would have been a great problem), and they did not help with a problem of delayed luggage. The guide was not the best, not knowing well where to go, what to see and where to stop. He was just a driver with scarce ability and not funny at all.
The company has a great plan, and uganda is beautiful, but the staff is not at same level.

Ulrich   –  
Germany DE
Visited: September 2018 Reviewed: Sep 28, 2018

Email Ulrich  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

A very successful 16 days wildlife super safari for one person
Overall rating
4/5

The result of wildlife rating should be very much better if I would have taken part on gorilla or chimpanzee tracking. Without the mentioned
animals you can`` t compare the wildlife with countries as in Kenya, Tanzania, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia or South Africa. But also with a smaller animal kingdom you can have wonderful experiences. So I had the possibility to watch in Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary my smallest rhino
I have ever seen before in Africa, in one of the lakes or channels my smallest hippo, without the mother you could carry the cup away with
both hands, a fish eagle with a too tall fish just in front of our car, not more than three metres away, twice the fish fell down in front of our car
when the eagle started to safe the fish and in Rwakobo camp I had the luck to watch a two months old waterbuck, found from the manager of
the camp in a age of 1,5 weeks without a mother. Two times a day the little buck came to the manager of the camp and was asking for bottles
of milk. Because you could touch the cup and give to the animal some milk, it was one of the main attractions.
The safari was organized with one of the best, perhaps even the best travel agency in Uganda. For nearly a year, the manager Jackie was
planning with me together my tour of Uganda. Jackie was a amazing and patient, with unusual prompt replies to my emails and with her help
I booked the best safari to suit my needs. With one of the best cars, a 4x4 wheel driven Toyota Landcruiser, we - the driver and safari guide
Martin - started our safari, when he picked me up at the airport around midnight. For road conditions, which I haven` t seen before during
nearly fifty years in Africa the car and the driver was the best what could had happened to me. Very often without any signs Martin found
without any difficulties his way and brought us without any breakdowns back to Kampala and Entebbe. Under no circumstances I felt unwell
or there was a fear of not enough security. Wether for lunch or dinner I had to eat meat, with his help I could always pick up a piece of fried
fish with chips.
The accommodations, with Jackie I had agreed with "moderate", were always very clean and comfortable, but only the accommodations in
Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary and Rwakobo camp where a little bit more simple and older.
The mountains and lakes of the southwestern part of Uganda are postcard perfect. Katona Tours and Travel is a very experienced Tour Opera-
tortor and travel expert for East Africa. I would definitely use Katona Tours again.

Diego Higuera   –  
Colombia CO
Visited: July 2018 Reviewed: Aug 10, 2018

Email Diego Higuera  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Uganda is a place full of contrasts, sometimes in a positive way other times in negative
Overall rating
4/5

In Uganda you can live many experiences, some incredibles others not so much, sometimes there are certain social dynamics that make it difficult to move quietly in certain areas so you should always be well informed about safety. Public transport is not so easy, but it is a great adventure. The food often does not have a salad and soft drinks are sweet, sweet.

Average User Rating

  • 4.7/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 197
  • 4 star 59
  • 3 star 6
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review