​User Reviews – Botswana

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 36 Reviews
bianca   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: October 2010 Reviewed: Jun 26, 2011

Email bianca  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

In my oppinion Botswana offers some of the best wildlife viewing and birdwatching in Africa, combined with friendly people, knowledgable guides and comfortable accommodation in various price classes.

TjibbeD   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: August 2009 Reviewed: Jul 28, 2011

Email TjibbeD  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

Botswana has some very beautiful areas, such as Makgadikgadi, Chobe, Moremi and Okavango Delta, with loads of wildlife. However, it's close proximity to South Africa makes it a busy place. Many campsites in National Parks need to be booked more than a year in advance. This pre-arrangement doesn't give the country a real 'bush-vibe', although some gems, such as Makgadikgadi still feel very much like the real deal.

lfostvedt   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2011 Reviewed: Oct 2, 2011

20-35 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

My impression is the delta is hit or miss. It will either be the most amazing safari in africa or a real disappointment. It all depends on the wildlife that is on the islands you visit for your nature walks.

JacoBrits   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: September 2011 Reviewed: Oct 5, 2011

35-50 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

Botswana offers an extensive variety of game and bird species. The country’s habitat is however not very diverse. The bush experience is however maintained with rustic camping sites and well integrated lodges, etc.

Kelly Cheng   –  
Singapore SG
Visited: June 2007 Reviewed: Oct 12, 2011

35-50 years of age

Breathtaking Okavango, like a painting!
Overall rating
4/5

The aerial view of Okavango Delta was unexpectedly breathtaking. The patterns made by the islands, waterways, vegetations were like a constantly changing large canvas of painting by nature. It was a sheer joy watching giraffes, herds of elephants and buffaloes wading in the water.

I had 2 nights of bush camping, coming and going by the local canoes called mokoros. During the bush walks, we had to keep a safe distance from animals, so we could not get as close to them as in a vehicle. A pangolin visited our camp site at night.

We didn't feel very safe in a camp site in Maun. We were told to keep all our belongings in the truck, just had only the necessities in our tents. We were told that tents were slashed and stuff stolen in the middle of the night previously.

The river safari was a special experience, to watch herds of elephants, crocodiles, hippos and buffaloes by the river bank from the water. The land safari was less impressive though.

terrorhawks Visited: October 2008 Reviewed: Oct 21, 2011

Overall rating
4/5

Botswana has managed to preserve its wildlife - unlike so many other african nations.

JivZ Visited: June 2007 Reviewed: Nov 2, 2011

The real bush vibe
Overall rating
4/5

Botswana is relatively unknown to tourists, yet provides all the wildlife and scenery you expect from a safari. When booking always ask for the possibility to stay inside the parks. There are private camping areas so it will be only you, the guide(s) and the wildlife. One night when sitting around the campfire in one of the parks a huge male elephant came rushing through the bushes and passed us within 10 meters. These kind of thrills are almost impossible in other African countries.
We stayed here with a guide and a cook on a private safari, while staying as much as possible inside the parks. As sidetrips we took a flight above the Okavanga Delta and spent two days in nearby Zambia to visit the Victoria Falls including a helicopter flight. Both were fantastic experiences well worth the money.
As the infrastructure inside the parks (and sometimes also outside the parks) is not always developed, do not try to attempt to book a self-drive unless you are very experienced in off-road driving.

Was Buf., Now Was.   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2011 Reviewed: Nov 4, 2011

Email Was Buf., Now Was.  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

I've only been to two parks, and both have been in Botswana (Mokolodi and Chobe). You won't see big cats in either, but you will see elephants and more in Chobe. But in terms of what you can get around Gaborone, short of driving a few hours and dropping a big wad of cash at some bigger, more famous parks, you can't get better than Mokolodi. Botswana is safe, it's inexpensive, and it's not crowded with too many tourists. You'll be in a smaller park, but you may be all alone... we had only four people on our rhino visit, including the two of us. Last time, on a cheetah visit, it was just me and two others. Excellent!

gkamin   –  
Spain ES
Visited: October 2008 Reviewed: Nov 24, 2011

Email gkamin  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

The combination of walking safaris (not always available in other places) and ridden ones (4x4 or boat) allow you for a taste of both close encounters with single animals in the bush, and the impressive abundance of herds.

jo.b   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: May 2010 Reviewed: Nov 29, 2011

50-65 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

We felt safe and well looked after an amazing experience

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 243
  • 4 star 36
  • 3 star 7
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review