​User Reviews – Botswana

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 247 Reviews
Caroline R.   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Dec 6, 2022

Email Caroline R.  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Beautiful Botswana!
Overall rating
5/5

I am a South African and visited Botswana for the first time in October 2022. Botswana had been on my bucket list for over a decade and now, I wish I had visited sooner! It is a beautiful country, their people are kind and helpful, fluent in English and easy to converse with. I visited three Kwando Safaris camps and loved each camp. The camps are unfenced and the wildlife experience is second to none - elephants walking through camp, buffalos, warthogs, antelope, amazing birdlife and more. The most beautiful scenery and landscapes - perfect for photography! The animal life is abundant, and in the private concessions, game viewing isn't crowded, it's private and perfect. You're often/ always the only safari vehicle at any one sighting. The experience was personal, exceeded my wildest expectations. Safari drives, mokoro on the rivers, fishing, motor boats in the Delta - all spectacular.

Food and drinks are endless, sunsets are magnificent (you HAVE to see an African sunset!), afternoons are long and lazy. Each camp having a swimming pool, lovely to laze at (with the passing elephant every so often!).

Bear in mind, that October is known to be Botswana's warmest month, with little to no rain (waiting for the November rains, which cools the ground). The days were hot - about 40 dgs C, but it cooled down relatively at night. I still loved it - I love African heat! The Delta was dry, and so was the bushveld, making it easier to find animals. But due to the dryness, sand and bushveld fires, the atmosphere was hazy (but you don't really notice this, unless you're processing protos and hope for a crystal clear environment).

I felt safe all of the time, from landing at Maun airport to my journey back home.

My suggestion: Botswana must be on your bucket list, visit it! You won't regret it, it's a magical experience from start to finish. I can't wait to go back!!!

Patrick Carlisle   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Nov 1, 2022

Email Patrick Carlisle  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

We enjoyed an excellent tour in Botswana
Overall rating
5/5

My fiancé and I visited from the US. We went to Moremi and Savuti on separate safaris. We saw loads of game including 7 leopard dozens of lion, cheetah, and wild dog and wild cat. We were not expecting to see as much and we’re very satisfied with our guides and experience overall. We were very fortunate to find safaribookings.com as a resource for affordable options for safari. There seemed to be a lot of other really pricey options on the internet, and I’m glad we didn’t choose them. Most of the local safari owners I spoke with are very familiar with safaribookings and use them as their primary source of clientele.

Claudette   –  
Canada CA
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 14, 2022

Email Claudette  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

I was only in Botswana for one day, what I saw it was very nice. I was there for a Safari.
Overall rating
5/5

It was a great day. Talk about National Geographic! The Boat Safari was very good in the morning. And the Game Drive in the afternoon was wonderful. We had a few families of elephants right beside our vehicle walking right in front of us. My only disappointment was I never saw a Loin right, front and centre. We saw 2 females, quite far away in the bush sleeping. Saw many Giraffes! Just Beautiful! I highly recommend a Safari to Chobe National Park. I has used Aritsamaye Safaris



Jeff Humphries   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 6, 2022

Email Jeff Humphries  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

A SHORT 3 DAYS IN MAUN FILLED WITH A SUNSET CRUISE, A ONE DAY SAFARI AND A SCENIC FLIGHT.
Overall rating
5/5

BOTSWANA HAS EVERYTHING AN ADVENTURER NEEDS, FROM AN INLAND DELTA TO WILDLIFE PARKS THAT CAN BOAST THE LARGEST POPULATION OF AFRICAN ELEPHANTS IN THE WORLD. WHILST IN MAUN FOR A SHORT TIME MY WIFE AND I MANAGED TO COMPLETE A SUNSET CRUISE, A DAY SAFARI IN THE MOREMI NATIONAL PARK AND A SCENIC HELICOPTER RIDE OVER THE OKAVANGO DELTA.
AS A KEEN PHOTOGRAPHER I SECURED REALLY GOOD AMATEUR PHOTOS OF LIONS, CHEETAHS, ELEPHANTS, GIRAFFES, BABOONS, CROCODILES, HIPPOS, GAZELLES AND NUMEROUS BIRD SPECIES DURING THIS PERIOD. WE CERTAINLY RECOMMEND BOTSWANA AS A FABULOUS DESTINATION FOR ADVENTURERS OF ALL AGES. AS RETIRED PEOPLE WE FOUND THE HOSPITALITY OF THE LOCAL PEOPLE AND TRAVEL OPERATORS ALIKE TO BE EXCELLENT FROM EVERY ANGLE.

Julie Gale   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Sep 6, 2022

Email Julie Gale  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Paradise!
Overall rating
5/5

Whatever I write here will not do our experience justice. From the moment we met our guide (Pilot), saw our first animals, smelt the intoxicating scent of the bush (a mixture of wild thyme and camphor), saw, each night and each morning, the glorious and vivid colours of the sunsets and sunrises, hearing the animals during the night, the animal encounters during the day (up close and personal) the amazing food, service and attention to detail - it was out of this world. If we had the money we would do it again. If you are reading this because you're not sure - hesitate no more. Do it! You wont regret it. We did a mobile safari for ten days (unfortunately, I can't mention the company who were phenomenal with every detail) from 28/7 - 6/08. We covered three sites, chobe park (savuti area), Khwai Private reserve then finishing in Moremi and we saw literally everything possible to see and our guide taught us to track. Our guide was clearly very respected by all the other guides we came into contact with, having 30yrs+ experience I'm not surprised. It was an absolute privilege not only to see these beautiful animals in their natural environment but also meeting the warm and welcoming Botswanans. Botswana offers everything. Now book that trip!

Ansley   –  
Canada CA
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 28, 2022

Email Ansley

Nature
Overall rating
5/5

Ahh!!! Take me back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Juanita Coolidge   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Mar 17, 2020

Email Juanita Coolidge  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Luxury tenting with delicious food, attentive service and knowledgable and caring guides .
Overall rating
5/5

They found all kinds of wildlife, luxury tenting, amazing food and great social interaction. Guides were top notch in Kadizora and Little Machaba. Not a hitch. Ker and Downey planned well for us.

Abuthahir Mohamed   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Mar 16, 2020

Email Abuthahir Mohamed  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

What a great experience.
Overall rating
5/5

Once in live time experience. I really enjoyed my whole new experience. People working in the camps really awesome and very helpful.

Sean Howard   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Feb 28, 2020

Email Sean Howard  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing boat cruise down the Chobe River through Botswana!
Overall rating
5/5

We went on safaris through Kruger National Park, South Africa prior to Botswana’s Chobe National Park. Both safaris offer amazing game spotting but Botswana is unique as it included a boat ride on the Chobe River. The animals are abundant and you really don’t have to look too hard to spot them. Botswana provides a glimpse of the fascinating lives of game that inhabit the Chobe River and the surrounding area, especially the plethora of birds. If you are a bird watcher, you will be in heaven! The boat ride through the Chobe river in the morning followed by mid-day lunch break was the highlight of our trip. The river scenery is beautiful and serene. The afternoon safari in a 4WD was a bit rough as the dirt roads are more rugged and less paved but that also adds to the experience. Our driver and operator were also patient and professional. We recommend Botswana for a well-rounded safari experience!

Jane Moran   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Feb 27, 2020

Email Jane Moran  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing
Overall rating
5/5

We saw all the big 5 and more!. We had excellent accommodations, food, guides, it was a trip of a lifetime!. We would like to return when there is a bit more water in the delta and see the differences the delta has to offer. We really enjoyed ourselves and the adventure. TYto safaribookings and to Judy Burrows for setting the trip up for us

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 247
  • 4 star 37
  • 3 star 7
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review