User Reviews – Hwange NP

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 50 Reviews
tidingstendai   –  
Namibia NA
Visited: May 2011 Reviewed: Jun 23, 2011

Email tidingstendai  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

Great Park with huge elephant population

Kwali Visited: May 1999 Reviewed: Jul 6, 2011

Overall rating
5/5

My intro to Hwange was a chase of an impala by 2 Cape Hunting Dogs as we drove into the park. How can you beat seeing a coordinated hunt and kill by one of the most rare predators in Africa?!

Nico Roets Visited: October 2010 Reviewed: Aug 16, 2011

Overall rating
3/5

Hwange appears to be suffering from poaching in certain areas. The bush vibe is wonderful and the birding excellent.

Boaz Rottem Visited: September 2002 Reviewed: Sep 17, 2011

Overall rating
5/5

A great ' Bush ' experience. I saw many Lions and lots of Elephants.

Alexander Bramly   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2010 Reviewed: Sep 21, 2011

20-35 years of age

An excellent weekend in the bush to take refuge from the 21st century
Overall rating
5/5

On arrival at the main lodge, we were welcomed by the friendly yet professional staff. The park was very active with wildlife including lions, elephants, hundreds of different bird species, baboons, leopards, cheetah and much more! The waterholes were amazing in the evening for those of us patient enough to wait.

Hwange is an excellent place for people of any level of interest in game to really get to grips with the animals in their large natural habitat and is so much more rewarding than seeing crowded animals in small reserves.

Zimfreak Visited: October 2010 Reviewed: Sep 21, 2011

A place to visit as often as possible
Overall rating
5/5

Wildlife - still one of the best in Africa, a huge biodiversity and geological variety, still a good place to be for the self catering enthusiast, some very experienced safari outfits offer various tours by car or on foot, good value for money!

Schroeder   –  
Germany DE
Visited: September 2008 Reviewed: Sep 22, 2011

35-50 years of age

One of the biggest in Africa, good bush experience.
Overall rating
4/5

Plenty of elephants, buffaloes, antelopes. Water pumps were working thanks to private initiative!

kboaler   –  
Australia AU
Visited: August 2009 Reviewed: Sep 22, 2011

20-35 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

Lots of elephants!

arnorab   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2010 Reviewed: Sep 23, 2011

65+ years of age

The scale is right, the place is delightful, the staff are great, the animals are abundant.
Overall rating
5/5

Everything about the Hide in Hwange works well. The rooms are comfortable without being unnecessarily opulent and are right for the location. The travel arrangements ( you are picked up from the Park Entrance) work really well, there is abundant game and a wide choice of excursions and drives. The staff, with whom you eat the exceptionally good food, are extremely knowledgeable and hard working. Its a rare destination and not to be missed.

Simone   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2008 Reviewed: Sep 26, 2011

20-35 years of age

The best safari experience I had in Africa
Overall rating
5/5

While I was volunteering in Africa, myself and several other volunteers took a week-long trip to Zimbabwe to go on outdoor adventures. The game drive in Hwange National Park was my personal favorite.

We saw ostriches, zebras, impala, elephants, giraffes, kudu, rhinos, but best of all were the lions. We came across lions in the midst of a hunt. It's rare for them to hunt during the day and even though we didn't witness the inevitable conclusion, it was interesting to watch from a viewpoint designed for tourists as the lions stalked and chased after zebras and impala.

Our guide was clearly very experienced and far better at spotting wildlife than any of us, but he was also endlessly patient, stopping the car for everyone to get a look at each sight. We also only encountered one other group of tourists the entire day, which added greatly to the atmosphere.

Our drive was cut a bit short by an incoming storm, but that's a risk you take in the middle of the rainy season, which I would still argue is the best time to go on safari, despite the fact that it eschews traditional logic. Also known as "the emerald season," the scenery is much more colorful, vibrant, and abundant, but finding accommodations may become somewhat more difficult. Still, it's worth a try and Hwange has a great deal more to offer than wildlife alone. Simply being there was a joy.

Average User Rating

  • 4.7/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 36
  • 4 star 12
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review