​User Reviews – Kenya

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 173 Reviews
Alan Willoner   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Feb 4, 2023

Email Alan Willoner  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Sunny
Overall rating
4/5

Good views of mount Kenya. Friendly people Nice weather. Good food

Roberto Dramis   –  
Italy IT
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Jan 17, 2023

Email Roberto Dramis  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Very welcoming and friendly
Overall rating
4/5

The parks we visited offered a good opportunity to see practically all wild animals, included the Big five. We were very like in this sense, and finally the experience has been really remarkable.
All was good and above all we didn't meet any problem. We are satisfied!

Tomasz Sosnowski   –  
Poland PL
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Dec 22, 2022

Email Tomasz Sosnowski  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Nice but poor country with VERY FRIENDLY PEOPLE
Overall rating
4/5


I visited Kenya with my friends in November 2022. I must admit that the country itself, although very poor, is of course very worth seeing. I had the pleasure of going on a 2-day Safari in Tsavo East Park, which I heartily recommend. We stayed at the Diani Sea Lodge Hotel which also met our expectations. In addition, we had the opportunity to go to Wasini Island, but here I already have small reservations, especially about the local restaurant ;-) I highly recommend a trip to Kenya. It's gonna be a great adventure.
Tour Operation recommendation : Karibu Safaris In Kenya - Thank You ( Jeremaya from Ukunda )

Miles   –  
Canada CA
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Dec 7, 2022

Email Miles  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Beautiful country with abundant wildlife, and cities with large wealth disparities.
Overall rating
4/5

Kenya is a must-travel destination if you enjoy wildlife tourism. Masai Mara is an expansive, well managed safari, with an abundance of fauna, though tour operators vary in their knowledge of details about the animals. The roads are chaotic, but it's quite fun really, and the accommodations seem quite nice when the power/wifi works. Birding isn't a big feature it seems, though there are some beautiful species, with the exception being the guides at Lake Naivasha. Nairobi has some nice restaurants at affordable prices, and is quite safe now (given the precautions taken due to terrorist attacks), but isn't worth spending much time in unless you're there for other reasons.

Keith Jacquard   –  
Canada CA
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Nov 6, 2022

Email Keith Jacquard  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very diverse, the locals were very friendly and helpful, it was a lot to take in but in a good way.
Overall rating
4/5

This was our first safari experience. We selected a budget safari and the company ensured that our eight days were filled with game drives and excursions. We saw the big five and so many other animals, we took well over 1500 pictures. The itinerary had to be flexible as we were on an eight-day safari and other members of our group were on a six. I would suggest that changes to the itinerary get communicated a bit better, we found out at a lunch break that we were being moved to another guide to complete our tour which was a bit of a surprise. Our two guides, Jackson and Eric were amazing. One thing we weren't prepared for was the amount of driving between the parks as we covered Masai Mara, Amboseli and Nakuru. It did give us a look at very different eco systems, Masai Mara was both green and a bit drought affected, Nakuru was very lush and Amboseli was very dry. The meals provided were very repetitive at all the accommodations. The eco camps were excellent accommodations, the hotels were not as comfortable and clean as the eco camps.

Halee   –  
Zimbabwe ZW
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Nov 1, 2022

Email Halee  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Speed Date: Kenya Edition
Overall rating
4/5

Kenya is a great East Africa experience. Being my first time on that side of the continent I found it’s diversity made it easy to indulge in everything. From the beautiful non tourist filled beaches in Mombasa to the vast rolling landscapes of the Maasai Mara and the nightlife of Nairobi. Whether you’re into ecotourism, cultural encounters or the highlife, there’s something for everyone. My next trip will be much more curated and quiet but if you’re a first time traveler to Kenya, I suggest try everything once, stay for a minimum of 10days then return again for what you enjoyed most.

Sonja   –  
Germany DE
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 19, 2022

Email Sonja  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Super nice country, lots of animals, nice open people
Overall rating
4/5

Three days wildlife in Masai Mara were great, easy booking and reliable with Axis Africa Safaris. Lake Naivasha and nearby volcano also very nice. Diani Beach top! We reached it comfortable with train from Nairobi to Mombasa and Uber to Diani. Everywhere upper range hotels but also budget. Travelling by busses is easy. People are always helpful and like to talk. There are many sights left to visit. We have to come back.

Elisabete Cristina Pereira Coelho   –  
Portugal PT
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 7, 2022

Email Elisabete Cristina Pereira Coelho  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Wildlife and culture
Overall rating
4/5

Perfect for wildlife Safari, multicultural full of life cities, really nice people.
You really can feel and see how climate changes are affecting the world.
You can really get to know kenians and reflect on how basic is not always warranted.

Troy   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 6, 2022

Email Troy  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Massai mara 3day safari and lake navaisha
Overall rating
4/5

We did a three day safari with meektrails and our guide antony.
We were picked up and dropped off at Nairobi airport all included in the price.
Our guide was antony who was excellent throughout in being flexible and getting us to see all the big amimals and the small ones aswell!

Game drives in the massai mara are an incredible experience and would recommend to anyone, especially worth getting up early for the dawn drives as this is when the animals are most active.
Lake navaisha was good but less spectacular although worth the visit if you have time. We stayed at AA lodge which was functional and reasonable but not luxurious.

Claus   –  
Germany DE
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 28, 2022

Email Claus  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Kenia is a beautiful country with friendly people
Overall rating
4/5

Douglas is a good Scout a driver! ....................................................................................................................

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 805
  • 4 star 173
  • 3 star 18
  • 2 star 5
  • 1 star 4
Write a User Review