​User Reviews – Kenya

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 235 Reviews
Mrs P . Thorp   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Jun 11, 2024

Email Mrs P . Thorp  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Very interesting and a wonderful experience.
Overall rating
4/5

We had a wonderful 5 days in Kenya. Unfortunately, April is the rainy season (which we were aware of) so not so many animals and birds to be seen. Over all we found Kenyan people very hospitable, friendly and extremely helpful. We enjoyed the wide open spaces in the Maasai Mara and all in all it was a great experience.

Didier Gilbert   –  
France FR
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: May 25, 2024

Email Didier Gilbert  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing country
Overall rating
4/5

First trip to Equatorial and English-speaking Africa
Business trip, but I was able to enjoy 3 days on my own
Captivating atmosphere
Not at the best time of year, but I still managed to see the attractions.
But no urban tourism
2 days, 1 night in Amboseli Park with the chance to see the big animals, Kilimanjaro, a great lodge and a really great guide.
1 visit to Crescent Island, a great walk among zebras, wildebeests, antelopes and giraffes.
Visit to Nairobi park after the rain, a great atmosphere, other big animals including rhinos, hippos, crocodiles, ...
A great experience, to be had at least once in your life if you get the chance.
And it will be even better if you have more time than I had.

Tascha   –  
Germany DE
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: May 4, 2024

Email Tascha

Great experience
Overall rating
4/5

Our guide Evans was amazing but pay attention which accommodations you book. The basic once are very basic

Margot Thorpe   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 23, 2024

Email Margot Thorpe  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing experience
Overall rating
4/5

We visited Amboseli, Lake Naivasha and Masai Mara. Our safari company was Unscripted Safaris who were very helpful and professional throughout. A special mention for our guide/driver Daniel who was exceptional - very knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure we had a fabulous experience.
During our safari we managed to spot every animal we were hoping to see apart from rhino. We enjoyed Amboseli in particular as it is smaller than Masai Mara and less driving involved. Particularly impressive with Mt Kilimanjaro as a backdrop. Saw dozens of elephants. Less to see at Lake Naivasha although our hotel Sopa Lodge was superb. Masai Mara is vast so it took a lot of driving to be able to see animals such as lions, cheetahs and leopards. For this reason I would not recommend safari for families with young children We were there in April which is the rainy season but we were lucky that the rain only came once at night and once when we were travelling between Lake Naivasha and Masai Mara. After our safari we flew down to Diani Beach to meet up with family. Beautiful beach and nice restaurants. We then travelled by hire car to Mombasa before flying home. The beaches north of Mombasa were nice but very windy at this time of year (not sure if it’s always like this). We were with a family member who is from Mombasa although now lives in the UK and he speaks Swahili. He was quite happy to drive the hire car - I would not recommend this for anyone unfamiliar with the area. We enjoyed Kenya, it’s a beautiful country and the people are friendly. However there is no doubt that there is a lot of poverty and it’s clear that most people are just scraping a living. This is hard for privileged Europeans to come to terms with.

Ariko Odero Ochola   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 21, 2024

Email Ariko Odero Ochola  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

It was simply beautiful
Overall rating
4/5

We really enjoyed the tour. The vastness of the parks is impressive. There is something to discover everywhere. The landscape alone is fantastic. Watching the animals makes it even more exciting. Our driver Maromaro was very friendly and drove us safely through the areas. We met a lot of elephants, which was exciting because they were very close to each other. We will have fond memories of the safari.

Jason   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 19, 2024

Email Jason  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Great sights on the Mara
Overall rating
4/5

I had a great stay in Masaai Mara. It was my second time and there are so many incredible sights. We got very close to a group of elephants and saw an interesting encounter with a pack of hyenas following a big cheetah. I really enjoyed it! I took some great photographs as well.

Eliza   –  
Peru PE
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 13, 2024

Email Eliza  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing to see the wildlife
Overall rating
4/5

It was fantastic and overwhelming to see the wildlife in the Masai Mara, and at Lakes Nakuru and Naivasha.
I also enjoyed my first afternoon in Nairobi, walking through the city and going up the KICC tower.
I found the Masai village visit artificial but nonetheless interesting and fascinating.
It was hard to get out of the tourist bubble once in it, and find budget ways to see the city rather than expensive taxis and tours.

Frank Kroeze   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 13, 2024

Email Frank Kroeze  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Extremely scenic country with beautiful nature and spectacular views
Overall rating
4/5

Had a very good time in Kenya, climbing Mt Kenya (5 days), doing a safari to spot wildlife (5 days) and have some relaxation time in Mombasa (3 days). Apart from shortening the safari a bit (and extending the time in Mombasa) I would do nothing different.

Kelly   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Mar 31, 2024

Email Kelly  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Kenya is beautiful, modern, and rugged at the same time
Overall rating
4/5

Diani beach in Kenya is spectacular. We wish we had spent more days at Southern Palms resort at the end of the trip. 2 nights there was not enough.
Masai Mara is delightful with beautiful scenery and wildlife. Tsavo and Amboseli are a bit more rugged and bush-like. Difficult to see game life at time, and the roads can be rough. But the scenery of both parks is amazing . Particularly, the red elephants in Tsavo east and Mt Kilimanjaro sightings in Amboseli.
Nairobi has wonderful restaurants and malls, and Uber is used fairly. But don’t spend too long in Nairobi. 2 nights should do it.

Kevin   –  
Italy IT
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Mar 14, 2024

Email Kevin  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Beautiful
Overall rating
4/5

Africa is a beautiful place to be specific Kenya in terms on weather and nature

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 1,101
  • 4 star 235
  • 3 star 21
  • 2 star 6
  • 1 star 5
Write a User Review