User Reviews – Namibia

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-6 of 6 Reviews
Christian   –  
Germany DE
Visited: October 2017 Reviewed: Nov 12, 2017

Email Christian  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Awesome destination with beautiful Wildlife.
Overall rating
3/5

We were 4 days camping in Etosha with a private guide. The guide was good and the wildlife was beautiful. We were lucky to see lots of animals very close (e.g. 50+ elephants at a waterhole and a leopard next to the car) and always felt safe. I would always recommend a guided tour as the guides know at what time to be certain places to see the animals you want to get.
The camping part of the tour was not that good (which was organized by an organization for us).We were staying just outside the park in a camp which was quite good. Unfortunately our sleeping bags were to thin so that we were freezing at night. Additionally the food was really ‘basic’ (packet soup, backed beans, packet salat etc.) so that we ended up buying a bigger lunches by ourself at the camp when stoping there for a break at noon. We only got a ‘normal’ car (not a 4x4) to drive around the park. A 4x4 is not absolutely necessary, but I would recommend it because is a lot for comfortable (with luggage and camping gear we needed to squeeze in) and there are some places we had to skip as you need a 4x4 to get there.
To sum it up I would give 5 stars to the wildlife and the park itself. The overall impression for us was only diminished by the not properly organized camping experience.

Susan   –  
Canada CA
Visited: February 2017 Reviewed: Jun 10, 2017

Email Susan

Skip the rainy season
Overall rating
3/5

Andersson's Camp was fine, though the absence of field guide books in the common area was disappointing. The food was good, cabin comfy. The private park around it was good value for animal viewing, despite downpours. Etosha in the rainy season was disappointing at several levels. Few animals, military vehicles speeding down the main road, dismal little museum. It was hard to grasp the history of the place, like which animals are native, which are introduced. Guide seemed reticent to handle questions of context. And be forewarned: there are no meerkats in Namibia.

fabuloustravel   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: April 2015 Reviewed: Jan 27, 2016

Email fabuloustravel  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

Remoteness and desert scenery are prime reasons to go to namibia. Every other place I have been to offers better Wildlife, like Kenza, Tanzania, South Africa

Andrea Giuseppe Sanfilippo - Photographer   –  
Italy IT
Visited: August 2015 Reviewed: Sep 28, 2015

Email Andrea Giuseppe Sanfilippo - Photographer  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

Etosha National park is home to a large variety of wildlife and there are remarkable landscapes. However, the park is often crowded with tourists.

adoninger13   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2011 Reviewed: Dec 27, 2011

20-35 years of age

if you go to Namibiaq, see the dunes - they are magnificent and breathtaking.
Overall rating
3/5

My first night in Namibia I spent at The Cardboard Box Backpackers in Windhoek. It was cheap, clean, nice, had a kitchen, and a friendly staff – I highly recommend it. I can’t talk much about Windhoek because I didn’t spend much time there. It doesn’t seem like there is too much to do. Also, it is a very modern city – reminded me of home (USA). My first destination was Etosha National Park. We got there by rental car – I don’t think there are buses that go up there, just tours which are really expensive. The drive was beautiful and what is nice about Etosha is that you can use your own vehicle to do a game drive instead of paying for an expensive safari. The problem with Etosha is how expensive it was. The park entrance fee and camping prices are OUTRAGEOUS. More than staying at a hostel – it was really ridiculous, but we had no alternative. The only food options are overpriced snacks like chips or breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets all very expensive. There are not any grocery stores or other restaurants nearby so either bring your own food and cooking equipment or prepare to be spending a lot of money on food.

Etosha is very big. We spent one night at a campsite on the eastern end of it and the next night at the western end of it. We did our own game drives and saw loads of animals. Apparently, Etosha is a great place to see the Big 5, but unfortunately, we didn’t see any of them in the 2 days we were there. The problem with Ethosha is that although you may not spend a lot of money on paying for a safari (although you certainly can – we didn’t) you spend a lot on gas because the park is so massive. By the time we left Etosha I was very tierd of sitting in the car.

Overall, Etosha was great. Just know that it has pricey food and accommodation and the majority of the trip will be spent sitting in a vehicle – a safari vehicle or your own. Also, it should be noted that the campsites all had very nice, clean facilities and pools.

Olga.Bard   –  
Italy IT
Visited: April 2011 Reviewed: Aug 31, 2011

20-35 years of age

one of the most fascinating place, it will make you fall in love and regret your desire to travel
Overall rating
3/5

wildlife wasn't very rich in aprile, but we saw a lots of zebras, kudu, giraffe, springbok, and many birds. and no lion no ghepard and no lepard.
scenery: very beautifull desert and skeleton coast, etosha, burn mountains, epupa falls is so so. windhoek is very small and just one day enough to visit.
weather in aprile doesn't perfect. in some areas it rained a lot(ex. waterberg, and etosha)
accommodation good: campsites are well equipped with hot water and electrical outlets.
food is good. (you can try all types of meat from zebra to crocodile)
transportation: Roads are often unpaved, you need 4x4, one tire more, and bensin reserve. before renting the car checked it for damage. the best thing: let a few tips, their will remember when you return.
be careful driving. Namibians are not very careful drivers often allow very risky moves.



Average User Rating

  • 4.7/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 132
  • 4 star 28
  • 3 star 6
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review