User Reviews – Nyerere NP (Selous)

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 68 Reviews
Mark   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2018 Reviewed: Aug 8, 2018

Email Mark  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
2/5

not much to see...

Mr. Algwaiz   –  
Saudi Arabia SA
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Sep 7, 2019

Email Mr. Algwaiz  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

Selous had more animals than Mikumi National Park , and we saw the African wild dogs there.

wildlifepictures.se   –  
Sweden SE
Visited: December 2011 Reviewed: May 3, 2015

65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

Larger than anything. Wildlife is usually har to find and weather can be tricky, really hot and humid. But this place is for the turists who want to meet the real wild Africa. I´m really glad to have been there before it gets too crowded like the other parks.

Mieke Verschueren, Belgium   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: November 2014 Reviewed: Apr 20, 2015

Email Mieke Verschueren, Belgium  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
3/5

Because we were before in Serengenti, we had seen there everything, so Selous was for us rather poor

Krzysztof Poręba   –  
Poland PL
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Feb 23, 2020

Email Krzysztof Poręba  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

The Selous Park is beautiful. And so many of our dibrtch memories from Tanzania. Afebxha was waiting for us by changing the number of employees in the contract. It was only after our intervention that she confessed to guilty and we received a compensation. The guide himself gave me that this job did not suit him and we were so tired with each other these few days.

Stephanie   –  
Germany DE
Visited: March 2019 Reviewed: Mar 28, 2019

Email Stephanie  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

You can almost see the Big 5

Laurent Sabourin   –  
France FR
Visited: September 2018 Reviewed: Oct 19, 2018

Email Laurent Sabourin  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

This game reserve is very original thanks to the mighty river Rufiji. You also can see some coastal birds. The lodge was excellent and boat trip memorable. Don't miss the tour in the forest with a real bushman : amazing!

arif   –  
India IN
Visited: December 2015 Reviewed: Oct 18, 2016

Email arif  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

great destination .. different from northern circuit .. very diverse type of landscape .. lakes.. bushes .. grasslands .. crocodiles, hippos and some other animals not that abundant elsewhere are in abundance here .. lions are also sighted .. over all a nice place for a safari close to dar es salaam

Restless girl   –  
Croatia HR
Visited: August 2015 Reviewed: May 10, 2016

Email Restless girl  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

One of the most amazing experiences of my life!
Overall rating
4/5

Safari in Selous Game Reserve was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. It's hard to find the words to describe the feeling of being close to a lion or watch a hundred zebras and impalas crossing your path. The guide (unfortunately I forgot his name) was simply amazing and very knowledgeable. I was surprised how much animals have we spotted in just three days of safari as Selous is one of the largest remaining wilderness areas in Africa! Highly recommended to every nature and wildlife lover!

Kelly Marciano   –  
United States US
Visited: December 2015 Reviewed: Mar 18, 2016

Email Kelly Marciano

Dreamy Escape into the bush
Overall rating
4/5

We participated in a three day safari at Selous, organized by Kanuth Adventure Safaris. Kanuth Staff picked up us from our hotel, they were kind, helpful, appreciative of our business and fair priced. The drive from the city to the park was beautiful and exciting, an adventure in itself. We stayed at Hippo Camp, which was a lovely camp, just outside the park gates. We stayed in a lovely tree house right on the rufiji river, it was much like "glamping". The park was extraordinary. It was remote and beautiful. It was rainy while we were there, but honestly the experience was so dreamy, it wasn't too upsetting. We chose Selous over the Northern circuit because we were looking for something a bit off the beaten track. We wanted to immerse ourselves in vastness of the land, away from "tourists". We knew there was a risk in doing so, as we heard the wildlife sightings were less of a guarantee at Selous. But we were very lucky. Our guide was wonderful. We spent all day driving around the park, seeing everything we could have hoped to see. The only other humans we saw were the two other jeeps we entered the park with, from our camp. It was truly lovely. I highly recommend this park. One thing I might say when booking a package-- we were sold a boat safari, jeep safari and "walking safari". The walking safari, was a bush walk that took place outside of the park. While it was lovely, we felt mislead. There were some travelers who received an actual walking safari inside the park. Just be sure to receive clarification on this. Other than that piece everything was a dream. Cheers.

Average User Rating

  • 4.7/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 51
  • 4 star 13
  • 3 star 3
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review