Reviews

Average User Rating
4.9/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 857
  • 4 star 77
  • 3 star 3
  • 2 star 3
  • 1 star 1

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 941 Reviews
Jack   –  
United States US
Visited: December 2018 Reviewed: Dec 29, 2018

Email Jack  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Jack and not that of SafariBookings.
Only a booking agent
1/5

"Moafrika Tours is just booking agent I cant comment on (Company name redacted) staff and what they did." - MoAfrika. If you have any problems with your tour, they will not address it as they are only a "Booking Agent". Book directly with the tour company you want, so if a problem arises you can actually resolve it.

Irene   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: March 2023 Reviewed: Mar 31, 2023

Email Irene  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Irene and not that of SafariBookings.
Disappointing experience
2/5

We booked a 2 day safari tour and stayed at Ivory Tree Lodge. The rooms, food and open game drives provided by the lodge were excellent. The transfers from Johannesburg provided by MoAfrika Tours did not meet our expectations. Although we advised we would be travelling with 4 suitcases, no provisions had been made on the outbound transfer so the suitcases needed to be stacked in the aisle. The outbound transfer was a disgrace. Just before checking out of the lodge we received an email, offering us a choice between being picked up at the arranged time 11:30 AM) and spending time in Pilanesberg on a closed game drive. Or spending time in the lodge and being picked up at 2:00 PM. We chose the first option but ended up spending 3 hours in the reception area for our transfer. The people at MoAfrika Tours kept telling us they did not know why the driver did not pick us up but he would be there within 10 minutes. He arrived a little before 2 PM and was met by a group of angry people (7 in total) who had been waiting since 11 AM. And 2 people who had chosen the second option, to be picked up at 2. The driver told us that the people of MoAfrica were well aware that he would not be able to pick us up before 2PM as he was in the park woth another group of people. So obviously it had been the intention of MoAfrika from the start to pick us up at 2. They just were not honest about the situation and kept us waiting for 3 hours without food as they had us believe the drivers would be there any minute. To make things worse, the driver was supposed to wait until 3 PM to pick up 3 more people. After we refused to wait any longer (5 of us had flights to catch), he decided to leave the other 3 behind and drove us to the airport. The driver was not to blame for this mess up, solely the people at MoAfrika office.
After returning home, we sent a complaint to MoAfrika, but we have not received a reply or apologies.

I would not recommend using MoAfrika Tours, just book the lodge yourself, nearly every lodge and hotel offers transfers. No need to book through MoAfrika or any other operator.

Ade Ojuri   –  
Nigeria NG
Visited: April 2023 Reviewed: Apr 17, 2023

Email Ade Ojuri  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

He was a great and knowledgeable
4/5

The booking and the whole process was seemless. The whole experience was great and I would surely patronise again.

Lee H   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2023 Reviewed: Apr 13, 2023

Email Lee H  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Excellent wildlife viewing - hotel facilities average.
4/5

Thoroughly enjoyed the Kruger game drives as well as the scenic tour of NE South Africa. Guides were knowledgeable and engaging. I do wish there was a little more time spent observing the myriad of birds in the park - I do understand that most visitors are on the tour to see the Big 5 as well as the numerous other wildlife in the park.

The hotel facilities were acceptable. My room was nice; however, nothing really was working, including lights, television, etc. I had to go to the main reception area to read. The staff was pleasant but did not follow through when I asked if the lamps or television could be fixed. The restaurant was okay but selection was limited and the hotel was not particularly close to any other options for meals.

The trip was easy to book and MoAfrica was very responsive to my questions.

ML   –  
Singapore SG
Visited: March 2023 Reviewed: Mar 31, 2023

Email ML  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Good safari experience but accommodation can be improved.
4/5

I took the 6 day 5 nights safari tour with MoAfrika tours.

The accommodation at the Tremisina lodge was decent. But the accommodation at Marc Treehouse lodge was found wanting. First, the walk to the treehouse was quite far. And it required us to drag our luggage a long distance through the stone/rock pavement. There were many ants on the pathway which inevitably crawled on your luggage. The accommodation itself was dimly lit and had many insects such as ants. I had to flick away many ants and other insects that were crawling on my bed, mattresses, pillows, blankets etc. Food served at Marc Treehouse was also of poorer quality compared to Tremisana lodge. The beef was not tender and hard to swallow. Finally, I was hoping to see more animals around the treehouse, like some monkey swinging outside my door, but alas there was none. Only some impalas...

As for the safari experience, it was exciting to see so many animals roaming freely around in the wild. Animals spotted include lions, elephants, giraffe, hippo, rhinos, leopard, buffalo, jackal, wild dogs, baboons, hyena and others. Given the fact that I stayed longer, I guess it is only natural that the number of animals sighted would correspondingly increase.

Guides were alright – neither remarkable nor unremarkable. I guess they were focused on driving and spotting animals so didn’t have much interaction with them. Couldn’t remember their names or anything interesting about them too. Some guides were more time-conscious and clock-watching whilst others were more liberal with the timings.

Also did the Moholoholo tour, learnt about animal poaching and conservation efforts. Saw some eagles and my favourite (white lions), and some other animals such as hyena, jaguar, cheetah etc. It felt like I was visiting the local zoo and less interesting compared to the safari drives.

Nataly   –  
Russia RU
Visited: February 2023 Reviewed: Feb 20, 2023

Email Nataly  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Safari in pilanesberg
5/5

Good afternoon - I went on a safari to Pilanesberg Park - amazing, very clean with rich vegetation and wildlife - wonderful organization, wonderful staff!

(automatic translation from Russian)

Shoko   –  
Japan JP
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Feb 5, 2023

Email Shoko  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Mr.Anthony & Mr.Sunny - super responsible, helpful, reliable, 5 star tour operators!
5/5

【Mr.Anthony】
Despite our tour date was fixed a day before, Anthony kept communicating with me, making sure everything is ok.
As I was travelling with a 6 years old child, the safety was the most important part of the travel, he kindly provided some good options and answered my questions so quickly that made us feel very comfortable.
On our last day, we had to wait for our transfer longer than expected as other guests were late, but Anthony offered a free lunch for us while waiting for the transfer arriving. It was very thoughtful of him.
If you have any questions about the safari or where to stay, etc, just ask Anthony. He will guide you to the right best option he has! Highly recommended for sure!

【Mr.Sunny】
He came pick us up from the JNB hotel. The journey was awesome and amazing with his kind hospitality and interesting talk. On the way to the Pilanesburg Bakbung Lodge, he explained about how locals live when driving. His talk was very interesting and so meaningful, that helped us learn about SA.
Once we entered the park and on the way to the lodge, he stopped the car every moment when he found animals and explained about the animals.
He is not a ranger, but he has massive knowledge about the animals, and it seemed like animals know him well that they do trust him. We saw lots of animals on the way to the lodge.
On our last day, Sunny was the one who came pick us up from the lodge and dropped us in the JNB airport. We were so happy to meet him again!
We had a nice talk on our way back to the airport. For every questions we had, Sunny answered right away. He’s so passionate about his job, we could understand this by talking with him. He is such a kind, interesting, caring and highly experienced person!

Overall, the journey to SA was great thank to Anthony and Sunny who are very responsible, helpful and caring.
We are hoping to go back to SA again, and definitely they will be the one to contact again!!!

Ann   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2023 Reviewed: Feb 4, 2023

Email Ann  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Incredibly efficient
5/5

As a last minute decision I wanted to plan a safari trip. MoAfrika was one tour company I contacted. I chose them because they were good value for money. I was concerned handing over a lot of money to someone I contacted on line. MoAfrika were just fantastic, they gave me options, they tried to fit in with my requests, they were expedient and organised like a truly well oiled machine. I was a female travelling alone and they arranged pick ups to and from my hotel that were always punctual. I was taken from Joburg to the Lodge I was staying at and back again (2 hr drive). I always felt safe and enjoyed chatting to their drivers too. I would want to use them again should I do another Safari.
Really impressed with their service!

Suzanne   –  
Australia AU
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 29, 2023

Email Suzanne  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Pilanesberg with MoAfrica
5/5

I did the 3 day Ivory Tree Game Lodge tour through Pilanesberg National Park with MoAfrika and I would definitely recommend these guys. It was so easy to book through Anthony and everything throughout the 3 days ran like clockwork. From being picked up by Sunny (the best Giraffe spotter there ever was), right from my Johannesburg hotel, to the multiple safaris through the park, it was the most awesome experience. Ivory Tree lodge is stunning and Themba, the safari tour guide we had, was amazing. We were so close to giraffes, elephants, zebras and lions, you could almost reach out and touch them. I was a solo traveller and felt so safe with these guys. Don’t go with anyone else. Go with MoAfrika!!

Michael   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: November 2023 Reviewed: Dec 27, 2023

Email Michael  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Very well organised and helpful
5/5

I was looking for a safari holiday in South Africa and while researching the internet I noticed that Moafrika had many excellent reviews I decided to try them and would definitely recommend the company to everyone they organised my whole trip from being collected at my hotel to booking my accommodation everything went smoothly

Average User Rating
4.9/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 857
  • 4 star 77
  • 3 star 3
  • 2 star 3
  • 1 star 1
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by MoAfrika Tours, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by MoAfrika Tours are subject to their terms & conditions