Average User Rating

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 1,331
  • 4 star 12
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 2

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 1,348 Reviews
Yoshi   –  
Japan JP
Visited: October 2019 Reviewed: Nov 10, 2019

Email Yoshi  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Yoshi and not that of SafariBookings.
Please confirm your itinerary carefully

We booked a 3 day tour exchanging mails with Suricata Safaris. We selected their tour from many options because they offered a tour with a luxury tented camp by a reasonable price in Safari We carefully confirmed their offer many times before the booking, since a safari tour was our main purpose to go to Tanzania.
However, we realized they had prepared just a budget tent for us on arriving at a camp site in the evening on the first day. Here, what I want to say is that there might be difference between their offer shown in Safari and their actual tour. I recommend you to ask them to make precise itinerary for your tour in order to avoid any misunderstanding. I hope no one have such a disappointing experience anymore.
Finally, though I think it was quite expensive as a safari tour with the budget tent compared with other offers, the only salvation was quality of a driver and a cook.

Reply from Suricata Safaris
Reply from Suricata Safaris
Posted on Nov 14, 2019

We are very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience. our company offers safaris of certain quality standard and we are also very disappointed that you didn't enjoy it. we are briefly replying to your comments,

1. you booked this trip via safari bookings we received a quote for the private budget camping safari, we sent you an offer with all details day by day with the camping accommodation listed on each day you accepted it and confirmed as you can see below

On this 3-day camping safari you will be well looked after and see some of the best that Tanzania has to offer. You will experience breathtaking wildlife in the midst of some of the most diverse landscapes; monkeys in the forest, lions in trees, elephants among acacias and a huge variety of animals inside a collapsed volcano. Not only visit Serengeti and ngorongoro Parks but also drive into the world-famous rift valley.


After the breakfast early in the morning our drive guide will drive you
from Arusha to Serengeti National Park Set out for the endless open
plains and stunning skies of the Serengeti. A good-looking four hour
drive, day game drive together with late evening game drive. Dinner
and overnight at Seronera Campsite.


Serengeti to Ngorongoro, after a relaxing morning and an early lunch,
proceed to Ngorongoro, our well proffessional and experienced driver will
drive you all through Serengeti way to Ngorongoro crater explain enroute
wildlife and natural beauty of Tanzania. We will spent the night on the
crater rim, dinner and overnight will be at Ngorongoro simba campsite.


Ngorongoro Crater tour - back to Arusha. Early breakfast, proceed directly
to the Crater floor for a day crater tour with picnic lunches. Later
proceed back to Arusha.

Included in the tour package are:

• Camping Accommodations
• Meals: Full Board - Breakfast, Hot Lunch or Picnic Lunch and Dinner while on Safari
• All Transfers and Transport, Park Fees
• Game viewing activities as stated in the above tour/safari description
• Services of a Safari Driver/ Guide
• Safari tent, Safari cook and camping supplies

Not included in tour:
• International air fares
• Any required Visas
• Travel Insurance
• Items of a Personal Nature
• Tips to Staffs

What to bring:
• Appropriate clothing for Safari: A warm sweater as the nights can be chilly at high altitudes
• Sun Glasses
• Binoculars for better sightings

Send us your arrival time and date so that we can arrange pick up for you.
Looking forward for your positive reply.

2. As you can see the above itinerary is also published on safari bookings the same, after we sent you the above itinerary and a reasonable price that is on the site till now you confirmed right away and asked for our bank details so you could make the deposit in order to confirm your spot with us,

3. When you arrived on the 5th of September I came to your accommodation in Arusha and briefed you all about the tour and again I explained about the accommodations you were fine and never doubted,

4. when you arrived to Serengeti at I received a call from our guide Lewis that we took you to a wrong accommodation I tried my best to explain you and resent you the itinerary we confirmed initial but unfortunately we could not understand each other because you had a language problem,

5. when you arrived to Arusha I asked you to have a talk about the situation but you said it happened and there is no way we could change anything and you promised when you get back hone you would review the emails and let me know if you find out anything but unfortunately you never replied to our emails that were following up the situation you ended up giving us a negative review,

6. our itinerary are well confirmed and well shown on safari bookings we hope that you would find out that we never intended to provide you a wrong service.

Gennady   –  
Tanzania TZ
Visited: March 2018 Reviewed: Mar 8, 2018

Email Gennady  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Gennady and not that of SafariBookings.
Hillary has jointed us to company Blue mountain safari. Before he didn't tell

Hillary sold us the tour from company Suricata safari, but when we come to Arusha he has jointed us to freelancer how he have said, but later we have known that it's the company blue mountain. So Hillary has layed to us. That's terrible.
Plus Hillary asked to pay a tips for 10 dollars from each per day. That's terrible.
Guide Emanuel has ugly behavior. Every questions from us and others make him angry.
When we asked to stop him behind the animal he become angry too. We didn't asked him to stop more then one two time per day.

Reply from Suricata Safaris
Reply from Suricata Safaris
Posted on Mar 11, 2018

Dear Gennady,
we are very sorry to hear your complaint via the safaribookings feedback form.
We were not aware of the situation you were in, and would have done everything to fix the situation.
We can only ask for appologies.
We are really sorry and again would have done everything to correct the situation in case you had informed us before.
Kind regards.

Tiia   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Apr 19, 2020

Email Tiia  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Tiia and not that of SafariBookings.
Hillary swapped customers to cheaper tour operator without disclosing this

I spent a good while researching safari options prior to my trip to Tanzania. I chose to book with Suricata Safaris based on their great reviews (#6 of 1,294 Outdoor Activities in Arusha) and accepted the cost as a part of the great experience I was in for. Weeks in advance, I had emailed the company to confirm this tour was going ahead on that day. Hillary from Suricata Safaris confirmed this.

When the tour started, I quickly realised it was not the 5-star treat I had paid for. Another day in, I realised that we had ended up with Arunga Expeditions & Safaris (#674 of 1,294 Outdoor Activities in Arusha) and their rude personnel. When I asked about this, our driver told me to "stop complaining". When I confronted the Suricata representative, Hillary, he said that they moved me to a cheaper operator to save costs.

My experience with Arunga was very poor. There was no toilet paper, no hot water and no WiFi in the camps, and I shared a small tent with two people (I was told differently when I made my online enquiry with Suricata Safaris). When one of our crew fell ill and needed transportation out of the nature reserve, our guide suggested that we need to sort that ourselves.

I ended up getting dinner and 10% of my money back from Suricata Safaris after the tour. This really does not make up for the difference in quality for the two tour operators.

Monica   –  
Romania RO
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Sep 8, 2023

Email Monica  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Monica and not that of SafariBookings.

Overall, the adventure went well. In detail, we saw wild animals - that's why we went to Tanzania in the first place - and sometimes they were so close... right next to the jeep's front wheel OMG. We had Mister T, Lewis, Silas as our guides and Piu as a chef in Ngorongoro. On the first day of the safari, the jeep had issues when it exceeded 35 km/h, and we lost a few hours trying to fix it at a Mad Max-style service center :). The response was that it could be repaired if taken elsewhere for a part, and all of us in the group chose to continue using it as it was. On the second day, a different jeep, a different guide, and a different group: this time, the gearbox broke down right before entering the park, before the ticket gate. After a few phone calls done by Silas, we were told that it would be fixed in an hour. After an hour, we were told it would take another 2 hours. After the first hour of the two, we were informed that we would receive a replacement vehicle around 3 - 4:30 pm. After a while, Silas managed to persuade another driver (just entering the park) from a different company to take each of us to our respective accommodations - we drove for 6 hours with only a few stops because it was already getting dark, and the driver didn't have time to return back safely. The vehicles were not properly checked, which posed risks (what if we were already near the group of relaxed lions we photographed next to the front wheel? What if the vehicle didn't start? I'm sure Silas would have found solutions, but I would have preferred not to have these worries :). The first night of accommodation was at Boma Lodge - excellent lodging and food. The second night was at An'gata Lodge - MASH-style tents, a dedicated team - we were escorted to and from the tents by a team member using walkie-talkies; good food. The third night was at a camping tent, and the toilet/shower area needs improvements. Good food cooked by Piu. During the night we were visited by zebras OMG :) I'm glad that, overall, the safari was a success. We took memorable photos/videos and returned safely, with no unpleasant incidents regarding food. I can recommend improvements in communication between guides and tourists AND regular technical checks of the vehicles. Regarding tips, I agree with it up to the point where there is so much pressure that it can be believed that salaries are not paid from the money tourists pay for the safari (and it's not a small amount), and guides rely solely on tips. I hope that is not the case.

Dilan   –  
Norway NO
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 20, 2022

Email Dilan  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Dilan and not that of SafariBookings.
Great wildlife, but disappointing tour operator

We did a small safari tour over 3 days, where we slept in tents. Our experience was very two sided.


1-The animals and nature we got to see was incredible. We saw almost all the animals we were hoping for.

2-The cook was amazing, considering his working conditions in public camping sites. Every single meal was really tasty, and had a good variety. He was always polite and explained in detail which food he served.

3-The tents were as expected for two adults in terms of size and weather resistance, but the campsite toilets and showers were dirty and lacking toilet paper. There were also too many tourists per toilet.

4-We have beverages in the jeep (water and soda) every day.

5-Two person per row in the jeep allowed everyone to have their own window.

6-The cars used for transport to and from the airport were in good condition


1-The lodge where we stayed before and after the safari was very low-budget. The shower had only cold or burning hot water, and the water pressure was way too low. No hand towels were provided, and we had to ask for a second shower towel both stays. The breakfast was decent and the staff was polite. The room had poor sound isolation, so we were kept awake by other guests.

2-Our guide/driver (James or Jimmy) was often driving very erratically, so that it was often difficult for us to take good videos or photos of the animals. Sometimes he wouldn't stop when all of us saw animals we wanted to photograph.He was often giving information while we took pictures, but he kept demanding our response whenever we were busy with experiencing the wildlife. The way he approached different tourist in the jeep seemed unprofessional to us. When the tour was over, he didn't even bother helping with our bags, or even say goodbye. This was after we had paid the tip that was suggested by Hillary.

3-The driver should have a microphone, because it is almost impossible to hear his voice while the engine is running, especially if you are sitting in the back of the jeep.

4-Our contact at the lodge (Mr. Ally or Ali) gave us a very unenthusiastic introduction to our tour, where he said that we "must" pay a tip of 15 USD per day per person, even though Hillary's email said it was a recommendation. Only after we said this, he changed his choice of words. After the safari was over we met him again. Then he asked "give us a 5-star review on Tripadvisor, both of you today". We told him we would review the experience from home, but he kept asking to do it immediately. The only purpose was to keep Surikata Safari on top of the list at Tripadvisor, rather than honest feedback. Future tourists should keep this in mind when you read all the 5-star reviews. We had some extra time on our last day in Arusha where we said we wanted to relax. Instead he kept pushing for us to pay for more tours. The transport to the airport was 45 - 60 minutes delayed.

Overall what we suggest especially to couples is that to choose a mid-range (more luxurious) option compared to the one with tents. Then you might not be annoyed by some of the things we have listed.

Reply from Suricata Safaris
Reply from Suricata Safaris
Posted on Aug 23, 2022

Dear Dilan,
we are glad to receive your feedback and especially the positive points. We are very sorry for some experiences you had and we will work on improving. We are a young and growing company and feedback like you did is very important for us to revise internal conducts and miscommunications. We are very aware that improving our and our associate accommodations (campsites, lodges, hotels) service quality will reflect on the way our actual and future guests live their Suricata Safaris experience and experience Tanzania. Our focus in to make this really a memorable moment.
Let me go through on all the points you mentioned and give you some explanations:

1-We are in close contact with our partner accommodations and are working on checking the points you mentioned. We will create a checklist to revise ourselves the sites to improve. Some of the points are a bit tricky as we are bound to the infrastructure we have in Africa and that is sometimes a bit different from what our guests from other regions of the world are used to. Rooms insulation/noise sometimes is due to the location of the rooms inside the lodges; we are working on choosing the best solution taking into account budget restrictions that come with the packages that are booked by our guests. It is important to notice that these problems don’t happen in medium/higher budget safaris, where the lodges’ structure, architecture, atmosphere and staff conduct are designed to provide a more exclusive/calm experience.

2-Our guides/drivers conducts are on a constant process of improvement. We will reinforce with all of them the importance of the photo/video’s moment to all our guests. For sure calm/silence is needed to enjoy it fully. We have a steady flow of people and have actually very good feedback on our guides. We apologize if your experience was below expectation. The experience is until the last “goodbye”. We are aware and will make sure that such an experience does not happen again.

3-We are aware of the acoustical limitations in the safari cars. We have chosen not to put microphones because we think that silence is an important feature when observing wildlife. While very close to animals the best conduct is to turn off the engines, because silence is needed. On the other hand some guests want to experience safari almost in silence, so we will think about how to improve this point, including the distribution of people closer or not to the driver/guide.

4-Our guests’ recommendations are for sure very, very important to the company, as it is the way people can understand better the coming experience. The tips are a recommendation only, and is important to say that the tips are a very important income to all the people that work in safari business in Tanzania. We will solve the internal miscommunications about the tips and the approach to new experiences.

We are working to improve every day, we are sorry for the inconveniences you mentioned. Thank you for your time, you feedback is valuable to us.

Hillary and Suricata Safaris team.

Anita   –  
Canada CA
Visited: February 2023 Reviewed: Mar 2, 2023

Email Anita  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

5 day private Safari

We just finished a 5 day private Safari. Planning with Hillary was seamless and we really appreciated his recommendation to spend 2 nights in the Serengeti instead of 1. We loved the Ang’ata camps in the Serengeti and Ngorongo. Max our driver was organized and with such long days and so much to see he always had us on schedule. We had a great time with Max, saw the big 5 and so much more…... thanks for the memories!
340/100 minimum

Eloïse B   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: February 2023 Reviewed: Feb 23, 2023

Email Eloïse B  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Felt well taken care of - great experience

We had a really good experience going on a 3 days trip to Serengeti and Ngorongoro. We saw many animals, it was beautiful! The cook was excellent and took well care of us. We advice you going during low season before the rain season (march) , we went in February it was perfect, they weren’t too many tourists.
The first camping site was awesome. We were by ourselves. The second one was busier and the toilet not the best but we still had a good time meeting people and watching a beautiful sunset.
The people at Suricata are so nice and helpful! We advice it.

Felix Boisvert   –  
Canada CA
Visited: February 2023 Reviewed: Feb 19, 2023

Email Felix Boisvert  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Nice route, nice guide, nice cook, improve cold and toilet

Nice Safari to do. The guide Kalulu and the cook Tito were insanly great at what they do. Our guide inform us really well, answer all our questions with high quality informations. Our cook was the best! I was in tent, the locations were nice, but the toilet/shower would need improvment. An additionnal blanket would be nice in february at two locations, it was cold at night. 8.5/10 for me.

Stevens   –  
France FR
Visited: February 2023 Reviewed: Feb 11, 2023

Email Stevens  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing safari experience

We had a very good 4days trip safari in tarangire , serengheti and ngorogoro.
We saw all the big five even 4 rhinoceros which is so rare !

We had Edgar ( driver ) always searching for us the best , explain a lot of thing and ask us if we are ok to wake-up earlier to be first to some spots
and Tito ( cooker ) made every meal different and so delicious always with the smile !

Edgar and Tito were so nice and amazing with us, treating so well and doing all they best to enjoy our trip !!!

We do choose to do camping tente and its was amazing the tente were big and perfectly waterproof. The experience was crazy we heard during night some hyena on the camp and buffalo. This experience will
Be always in my head

The company manage the tour perfectly even more than we was expected they took/drop us to the airport and book for us hotel arrival and departure.

Thank you so much Hilary , Ali , Edgar and Tito for this amazing trip

marge   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 21, 2023

Email marge  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Everything taken care of

Great experience with Aron as our driver. Everything was taken care of in terms of meals, lodging, transportation. Just had to show up and have a good time. Communication with the owner, Hillary, to adjust the schedule and coordinate was very fast and responsive

Aron was a hero for getting the car out of some pretty gnarly mud gullies! He did a great job of getting us to all the animals we wanted to see. Fun guy with a good sense of humor too.

Two things to improve:
- I would have loved if Aron was more talkative when it came to educating us about the animals and the region. Often I had to initiate questions to him.
- The group (including the guides) got a bout of food poisoning at the second lodge (Ngorongoro Tortilis Camp) due to some bad fish. Maybe no more seafood or other risky meats for the lodging meals…

Average User Rating
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 1,331
  • 4 star 12
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 2
Write a Review


  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Suricata Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Suricata Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions