​User Reviews – South Africa

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 738 Reviews
Brooke Baker   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Nov 29, 2022

Email Brooke Baker  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing, would recommend and visit again!
Overall rating
5/5

We visited South Africa as part of our honeymoon and started our trip with a 4-day Safari/Panorama Route tour (with Wild Planet Safari). We could not have had a more excellent experience with our Safari. We booked a private tour which included a group night ride, and we decided to add a group bush walk as well. We did meet up and eat with other private groups which broke up the tour and allowed us to meet other adventurers!

Our guides were extremely knowledgeable on all animals, plants, and park/area history which was amazing when we had questions! They were amazing photographers (and shared their images with us after we left), and awesome cooks (all meals were great and made us feel like we were really getting a taste for South Africa). All of the guides were so friendly, passionate, and provided the most amazing experience to kick off our honeymoon we would recommend them for anyone traveling and trying to experience a safari. We saw so many animals (even a Cheetah, although we missed the elusive leopard, a reason to return :)) and the Panorama route was absolutely a gorgeous way to end our safari before returning to Johannesburg.

After the safari we flew to Mozambique and ended our time in Capetown enjoying some amazing adventures (paragliding, hiking Lion's head, Hermanus whale-watching, Stellenbosch wine tours). Would recommend South Africa to anyone who has enough time to travel from the US!

Bart & Liza   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Nov 29, 2022

Email Bart & Liza  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Hakuna Matata, wildlife heaven, just a magical journey ...
Overall rating
5/5

What an adventure! Hakuna Matata ....

After arriving in Johannesburg and exploring the city for 1 day, we flew to Hoedspruit. We’ve started with the Simbavati Trails Camp with glamping facilities and clear star skies in Greater Kruger (2 nights). We enjoyed encountering animals on short distances from small to big and to learn about their footprints and behaviour. After a scenic walk in the evening, we were surprised with a sunset Gin Tonic and a hot bubble bath under the stars. It was a unique experience in an unfenced Camp, where elephants drink from the swimming pool by night. The food served out of that basic kitchen was 1-star quality and versatile. Thompson is an excellent chef. The facilities were clean, confortable and we had everything we needed or wished for. The staff was outstanding. Donald brightened our days.

After 2 nights, we’ve moved to another area (Klaserie Private Nature Reserve) and the Simbavati Amani Lodge (also 2 nights). We had close encounters with the animals while enjoying the afternoon at the swimming pool. The water hole in front of the lodge is a dream come true. We had the feeling the whole Lion King movie just passed by ;-). In the morning and afternoon we’ve enjoyed fantastical game drives with drinks and snacks in-between. Our guide Julius was amazing. The facilities were luxurious, and we felt very welcome and as part of the Amani family. For us the combination of the Trails Camp and the Lodge with game drives was a perfect fit and the ideal combination between luxury and proximity to nature with close encounters. We always felt safe and got very close to those wild animals.

We definitely recommend Safaribooking and the team of SW AFRICA Destination Management and Simbavati Trails Camp and Amani Lodge. Everyone helped us to make our dreams come true.

Farah   –  
Saudi Arabia SA
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Nov 28, 2022

Email Farah  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Unique
Overall rating
5/5

observing the wildlife of South Africa by game drives is a wonderful experience, and surpassed my expectations my trip was arranged by africanwelcomeSafaris who also arranged some activities in cape town based on our preferences everything from the food, people and wildlife were amazing, beside enjoying the southern hemisphere starry nights in the bush

Allison Huff   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 27, 2022

Email Allison Huff  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A once in a lifetime opportunity
Overall rating
5/5

South Africa is a must see on anyone's list. They have entertainment for all! You can go from hiking in national parks, to visiting wineries, to sarfari rides and seeing animals, to bungee jumping and cage diving with great white sharks. There is always adventure waiting around the corner!

We had a fantastic time with Shinzelle Safaris! They really took care of us and made sure we got to do and see everything we wanted. Would 100% recommend them!

Jihye Shin   –  
South Korea KR
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 24, 2022

Email Jihye Shin  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Happy time with wild animals
Overall rating
4/5

It was unforgettable experience to see wild animals in the nature. They look so peaceful unlike the animals in the zoo. The scenery was also awesome not only in Kruger national park but also in Hazyview but due to the rain and heavy fog could not enjoy the scenery well. I recommend this safari tour to everybody who likes nature or unique experience.

Nasira   –  
Ireland IE
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Nov 24, 2022

Email Nasira  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

It's for literally for everyone as it has beach, wildlife, nature, chill, adventure.
Overall rating
5/5

South Africa was an amazing experience for me. I love being active on holidays so I went surfing, did a bungee jump, lots of hikes but my sister likes chilling so she enjoyed the beaches and weather. We love the nature and saw amazing wildlife which would never be possible where we live. This country is literally made for every tourist, whether you're a couple, a group of friends or a solo traveller: you can make it as active or chill as you want, as luxurious or basic as you prefer. Everything is possible.

The highlight of this trip definitely was our 5-Day Tremisana Lodge Kruger Park Safari. We slept in a tree house and saw the Big Five. It was the most authentic experience with the most amazing people to guide us there. The food was super good, everyone was so nice and the nature is indescribable.

Schisandra   –  
Turkey TR
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 17, 2022

Email Schisandra  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

An absolute gem!
Overall rating
5/5

South Africa is was a surprise. Beautiful people, amazing scenery and mind-blowing wildlife. I was worried about security, but this was never an issue, as long as you stick to a few basic personal safety rules. I started my journey in Joburg and found the Red bus city tour to be a great choice for initial intro to the city. Definitely don't skip a trip to Soweto. From Joburg, the journey took me to Sabi Sands private reserve where we saw the big five (minus buffalo) and then some, spending a lot of time with leopards in particular. What an amazing experience! The weather was a bit unfriendly as it rained 2 out of the three days, but the lodge was well-prepared with ponchos for everyone. Do pack a sweater though. I also had the opportunity to visit Cape Town which essentially is L.A. but better--it has penguins! Here, I also used the red bus to tour the city for the highlights and a trip to Cape of Good Hope (really felt like standing at the edge of the earth). I also did shark cage diving with Marine Dynamics in Gansbaai--another amazing experience despite the water having 13 degrees! Due to the short time, I missed the vineyards and the food, so I'll definitely have to go back soon. Overall a great travel destination.

Joaquín Oviedo   –  
Chile CL
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Nov 16, 2022

Email Joaquín Oviedo  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Impressive
Overall rating
5/5

Incredible Country with great culture, landscapes, attractions. I will come back for sure.

Chloe Horgan   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Nov 15, 2022

Email Chloe Horgan  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing experience
Overall rating
5/5

Karina at Safari Bookings organised an amazing trip - I wouldn’t change anything!

We visited Sabi Sands and Timbavati game reserves and both areas were stunning . We were so amazed at how close we got to the wild animals and it was a life changing experience .

The food was also amazing and Karina made everything so seamless by organising transfers etc.

After the safari part of our trip (6 days) we also visited Johannesburg and Cape Town - Cape Town especially was beautiful.

I will be back to South Africa!

Margaret   –  
Australia AU
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Nov 8, 2022

Email Margaret

Contrasting scenery, wild animals and great food
Overall rating
5/5

We arrived in Johannesburg and went on a 1 day safari the next day. We were picked up promptly at our hotel, but then spent a long time driving around the suburbs of JB, picking other group members. ( around 3hrs)
The safari was in ope n trucks and conducted by local guides. We saw 3 of the Big 5 ( no Buffalo, but a view of moving grass about 200m away, that we were told was a Leopard.Flew to Cape Town and joined a 3 day excursion, with just the 2 of us as travellers. I preferred this tour. Visited the Ostrich Farm, did some WineTasting, drove through some beautiful scenery and townships. Accommodation was mid range **s, but quite comfortable. Meals were organised by the tour operator, and except for one, were very nice.
The Cango caves tour was on Day 2. We opted for the adventure tour..... almost 3 km underground, some of it bent over or crawling on your stomach. At one point, we had to ascend through a "chimney" and then "post" ourselves through a "post box " slit, before sliding head first down the rock below. It was a lot of fun. Recommend you try the "templates"" up top before going on this tour. I'm really glad we did this element, rather than the normal cave tour. A traditional South African lunch, saw us served with Ostrich. Delicious
Another day safari, where we saw 4 Big 5 animals ( no Leopard), but did see a Cheetah and her cubs instead. A private park with no as much bush cover as the first Safari.but we appreciated seeing the animals up close.
Day trips from Cape Town included Cape Point/Cape of Good Hope, the Penguin Colony and some really nice seafood at Seapoint.
This was my 3rd trip to SA and I still get a buzz from seeing the animals in their natural habitat, as well as other local places.

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 620
  • 4 star 98
  • 3 star 13
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 2
Write a User Review