​User Reviews – Hluhluwe-iMfolozi GR

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 92 Reviews
Globetrotter17 Visited: August 2006 Reviewed: Jul 1, 2011

Hluhluwe-Umfolozi, nature at its best
Overall rating
5/5

Beautiful green, with a bit of hills and lots of White rhino, zebra and birds.
We had a great lunch at Top Hill (lunch with a view). Also a good shop here. We entered at Memorial gate and left at Nyalazi gate. Excellent experience.

Ron Moon   –  
Australia AU
Visited: April 2009 Reviewed: Jul 4, 2011

50-65 years of age

This is THE place to see rhino .... but you'll see lots more as well!
Overall rating
4/5

We've been to Hluhluwe-Umfolozi a few times now and love the scenery and the wildlife. On a couple of occasions we've been held up on the road by two or three big white rhinos which were awfully close and at other times we've seen 12 or more in a single game drive. The bird life has also been wonderful and one time while sitting in a small picnic area we had a leopard wander down the nearby dry river bed.

The accommodation in the hilltop lodge is first class, as is the food.

I'd go back again on our next trip to South Africa, which hopefully wont be too far away!

Shahar Bar   –  
Israel IL
Visited: May 2011 Reviewed: Jul 27, 2011

Email Shahar Bar  |  under20 years of age

Hluhluwe - Umfolozi a great park to find vegetarian animals.
Overall rating
4/5

I live very close to Hluhluwe (2 hours drive) so I am going to this game reserve a lot because is the best in the area.

Hluhluwe - Umfolozi is not with a lot of predators so it's give the opportunity to see animals that are vegetarian and even there is not a lot of predators you can see them sometimes (about 1 a day). In the park there is a lot of elephants and massive amount of Rhinos, and a same as any other park a lot of Impala and Niala.

In the game reserve there is a nice view on the river and there is a big chance to see animals drinking from the water, in the park there is also huge amount of birds that is perfect for birding. In the game reserve there is also a lot of reptiles to see such as monitors and even some snakes.

The park is little comparing to Kruger National park but there is a lot less visitors which give you your enjoyment of nature without other people. This game reserve is perfect if you want to see vegetarian animals and a bit of the predators.

ilovesouthafrica   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2004 Reviewed: Aug 19, 2011

35-50 years of age

The best way to observe wildlife in their natural habitat!
Overall rating
5/5

This was my first safari experience and I absolutely loved it. The pristine beauty of the land at Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Game Reserve; the diversity of animals and fauna; and best of all, the ability to observe wildlife in their natural habitat, is an experience I have not forgotten. The Reserve is easily accessible from Durban and should be on the must-see lists of all visitors to this beautiful part of South Africa!

Instinia Visited: May 2010 Reviewed: Sep 20, 2011

Overall rating
5/5

Friendly staff and small enough to stay away from the tourists

John A Forbes   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: September 2011 Reviewed: Oct 5, 2011

65+ years of age

Overall rating
5/5

Excellent to see game. The park is renown for its Black and White rhino, the latter which were saved from near extinction in a capture programme pioneered in this park and many subsequently translocated to other parks. Regretfully rhino are once again under extreme pressure due to increasing demand in the East for rhino horn and many have as a result been brutely killed by poachers. Elephant, Lion, Hippo and Buffalo may amongst other be seen, and if really lucky Leopard. The Greater St Lucia Park is within a short distance where Hippo and Crocodile may be seen.

Airboat Afrika   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: May 2011 Reviewed: Oct 16, 2011

35-50 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

The KZN parks enjoy some of the most spectacular scenery anywhere in SA.

ftriep   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: August 2011 Reviewed: Oct 24, 2011

Email ftriep  |  50-65 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

It is nice to hike between the animals

Trudi   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: October 2011 Reviewed: Nov 15, 2011

Email Trudi  |  50-65 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

We did not see very much animals, but the park with the GeleKoortsbomen, was wonderfull

Colin Summersgill   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: April 2011 Reviewed: Nov 22, 2011

Email Colin Summersgill  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

Easy game viewing with a good spread of species, many of which are easily seen.
Depending on season the scenery can vary from lush in summer to stark in winter, especially in Imfolozi. This does however have it's own beauty.
Hluhluwe can be fairly busy from a tourist point of view as the game viewing is easier. Imfolozi certainly has a wilder, more bush vibe feeling.
Birding is great across the park, with a distinct change in habitat from Imfolozi in the south and going north to Hluhluwe. Hluhluwe presents higher species numbers, but Imfolozi can very often be better for raptors.

Average User Rating

  • 4.4/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 46
  • 4 star 36
  • 3 star 9
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review