Reviews

Average User Rating
5.0/5

Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 1,931
  • 4 star 16
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 2

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 1,952 Reviews
Tiia   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Apr 19, 2020

Email Tiia  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Tiia and not that of SafariBookings.
Hillary swapped customers to cheaper tour operator without disclosing this
2/5

I spent a good while researching safari options prior to my trip to Tanzania. I chose to book with Suricata Safaris based on their great reviews (#6 of 1,294 Outdoor Activities in Arusha) and accepted the cost as a part of the great experience I was in for. Weeks in advance, I had emailed the company to confirm this tour was going ahead on that day. Hillary from Suricata Safaris confirmed this.

When the tour started, I quickly realised it was not the 5-star treat I had paid for. Another day in, I realised that we had ended up with Arunga Expeditions & Safaris (#674 of 1,294 Outdoor Activities in Arusha) and their rude personnel. When I asked about this, our driver told me to "stop complaining". When I confronted the Suricata representative, Hillary, he said that they moved me to a cheaper operator to save costs.

My experience with Arunga was very poor. There was no toilet paper, no hot water and no WiFi in the camps, and I shared a small tent with two people (I was told differently when I made my online enquiry with Suricata Safaris). When one of our crew fell ill and needed transportation out of the nature reserve, our guide suggested that we need to sort that ourselves.

I ended up getting dinner and 10% of my money back from Suricata Safaris after the tour. This really does not make up for the difference in quality for the two tour operators.

Annelies   –  
Tanzania TZ
Visited: November 2021 Reviewed: Nov 14, 2021

Email Annelies  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

everything great
5/5

Everything went on time and correctly as agreed! Very good, friendly, competent and patient companion who drove us through the five days! We saw a lot and felt comfortable the whole time. Highly recommend and would do the same again. Ratios for price and services is top!

Nihal   –  
Turkey TR
Visited: November 2019 Reviewed: Nov 25, 2019

Email Nihal  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

so happy to be a part of an environment where wild life is still respected
5/5

When you are choosing a safari company, in fact you are choosing a service to build up probably the most unforgetable trip of your life. I am happy that ours was a smart decision.

I should start with our guide Fredy: A very professional, knowledgable, cool and kind person! He spoke English very well, always gave lots of information about the animals, even showed their close-up pictures from his book, answered all our questions patiently, made sure to locate the car at the best angle for taking photos (and showing respect to people at the other cars and animals - which is so important to us), waited patiently while we took tons of pictures. Most importantly, he was more than a guide, a friend with nice character that we would like to have with us on a long holiday.

Our talented chef Chaz was a master. He always cooked very delicious food and made sure we had enough. He surprised us by serving tasty and special things very quickly even early in the morning. We will miss the excellent food we had during the safari. Also we will miss his joyful chats with Fredy.

We had a difficult time in choosing the safari company as there are about 1000 alternatives. When I decided on one and was about to pay, there had been a couple of things I did not like. I checked for an alternative and met Suricata. I thought it was a young company but experienced enough. Hilary answered my e-mails very promptly. He was flexible and did his best to tailor the programme according to our wishes. I noticed he is one of the founders and that made me feel more comfortable knowing that he will be there to solve any possible problem. I was right; there had been a small misunderstanding during the trip and was solved through a phone call between Fredy and Hilary. Paying the deposit was easy and safe and we did the rest of payment on arrival.

We were a family of 3 people and had an 8 days private safari including Arusha National Park, Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Lake Eyasi (tribe visits), Serengeti and Ngorongoro. These 8 days were full of magic. Surprisingly, visiting the tribes was the highlight of our trip. We met Maasai, Datoga, Hadzabe, Makonde and Gidangodic people and had a wonderful time with them. We learned the way they live. We went to hunting with Hadzabe, jumped with Maasai, sang with Datogas who asked many questions about ourselves and our country and we were warmly welcome by all tribes. We keep the souvenirs mostly done and sold by women for ourselves as they are so precious to us and all are a great memory.

During those visits local guides Deo and Yusuf (sorry if I mispronounce) accompanied and helped us to communicate as the tribes' languages are different. Also there was an armed ranger (Ali) and his intern who accompanied us in Arusha National Park for a walking safari.

While deciding about how to use our budget before the safari, we preferred budget camping. Doing so, we could take a longer trip rather than paying more for lodge-stays. We are happy we did. But you might prefer lodges if you do not feel cool and adventurous enough. In Serengeti and Ngorongoro you hear voices of wild animals just around your tent. In our case, something rare occurred and lions tried to hunt two buffalos very close to our tents and one animal hit the tent. We were lucky as nobody was hurt (buffalos also survived) and now we have a story to tell all through our life. Also we heard steps of many zebras feeding around our tents in Ngorongoro Simba Campsite.

Choosing November for safari also has been a wise decision. Although it is short-rains season, luckily there was no rain. Also the parks and public camp-sites were not over-crowded. The herds had already arrived Seronera region so we were lucky to experience the great migration.

And yes, we saw all of the "big 5" but a safari should be regarded not as an experience of seeing; but as feeling. It is hard to describe how happy we felt during all these 8 days. In most of the world, people have built up plazas and cities full of unhappiness. With a human-centric point of view, they left no space for wild life. We are lucky people who experienced to spend 8 days at a place on earth where things are different. We were able to be a part of an environment where wild life is still respected and preserved. And we would like to thank Fredy, Chaz, Hilary and the rest of the Suricata team who helped this dream to come true. Asante sana!

Charlotte   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: June 2019 Reviewed: Jun 12, 2019

Email Charlotte  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing 3 day camping safari in Serengeti and Ngorogoro Crater
5/5

Suricata Safaris was recommended to us by some friends who used them previously and had a great time. After checking the positive reviews, we decided to book a 2 night and 3 day camping Safari through Serengeti NP and Ngorongoro crater. We’re so glad we did! Hilary (the manager) was very prompt to reply to all our questions via email and WhatsApp.

The safari itself was incredible; our guide Edgar was very informative, the chef Chaz cooked us tasty food every day and we saw all of the Big Five (and many more smaller animals) in just 3 days. Seeing a cheetah and and her cub was the highlight for me!

The campsites (Nguricho and Simba A) were basic but clean - both had working showers, toilets and a dining room. Wild camping was a great experience and seeing/hearing a herd of buffalo outside our tent overnight was exciting! We The tents, mattresses, pillows and sleeping bags provided by Suricata made sleeping comfortable and Edgar helped us to set them up each night. Tips are not included in the overall price and are optional - we were very happy to pay them for the great service provided! (Hilary recommends $10/day as a tip which is then split between the chef and the guide.)

I would really recommend this company for a budget safari.

Marcin   –  
Czech Republic CZ
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Feb 7, 2024

Email Marcin  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Fantastic experience
5/5

Fantastic experience with Surricata Safari. We spent quality time with Bryson as driver/guide in both Serengeti and Ngorongoro crater. The trip was supplemented by exceptional food prepared by chef Pius. Highly recommended for whoever considers seeing wildlife in real life!

Ellen   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 27, 2024

Email Ellen  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing 5 day safari—family of 4
5/5

Our family of four just returned from our private 5-day/4-night safari with Suricata Safaris. We had an amazing experience and highly recommend Suricata! Planning was easy and Hilary was very helpful and informative. Their prices were very reasonable, and the door-to-door service by Tawlib once we arrived at the airport made the trip easy. Our guide and driver, Ezekiel, was absolutely fantastic. We really appreciated that he taught us so much about the animals, birds and even the plants. He found every animal we wanted to see and could spot and identify them from so far away. It was easy to spend 5 days with such a kind and friendly person! He also arranged our itinerary so we could stay two nights in a row at the same lodge, which was great. We were upgraded to a stay at the wonderful Suricata Boma Lodge at Lake Menyara. It was amazing—beautiful resort-like villas with incredible views and unbelievably kind and welcoming staff (plus a pool and spa). We also stayed at two different Angata Tented Camps (Serengeti and Ngorongoro) which were very comfortable and welcoming and the staff made our youngest feel so special he didn’t want to leave! The food was terrific at every location and we were served a hot cooked lunch every day on safari. Suricata staff asked about our food allergies/restrictions and preferences and the food was so delicious! Overall Suricata Safaris was incredible and I highly recommend them!

Daniel   –  
Germany DE
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 25, 2024

Email Daniel  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Good Organisation. Free Transfer. 100% recommend
5/5

We booked the low-budget 5-day trip as a couple with Suricata and are still overwhelmed by nature. The organization was great, from the pick-up at the airport to the end of the safari. Our guide Amiri and chef Pius were simply great. There was always freshly cooked food every day, even on the day trips at lunchtime. While other safari groups only had their standard packed lunches, we always had hot food which was based on European cuisine - thank you Pius!

Amiri our good guy guide knew a lot about the animals. You could simply ask him anything. Thanks again Amiri.

All was great. We can recommend Suricata Safaris 100%.

Srikanta Basu   –  
India IN
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 18, 2024

Email Srikanta Basu  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Homely and value for money tour agent
5/5

1. Prompt reply with clear cut answers from Halima of Suricatas.
2. Well curated trip meeting our expectation: at leisurely pace, as 4 out 5 were more than 55 yrs.
3. Rocky our guide really rocked, spent 4 days on this trip . He was very knowledgeable and hands on, explaining the topography, floras and faunas, and also laying the table at the lunch.
4. My wife had a old knee injury, Suricatas and Rocky helped out of their way to help.
5. Lucky to have got a good weather, and and very good sighting of wild animals birds.
6. Daniel was good in his briefing.
7. Appears to much better than Kenyan safari.
8. Highly recommended Tanzanian safari.
9. Suricata tour operator Rocks!

Dr Rashmi Sarkar   –  
India IN
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 17, 2024

Email Dr Rashmi Sarkar  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing safari with dream stayoverd
5/5

Suricata safaris is real value for money.Found by my husband on search .Daniel and Halimat from this group who answered all our queries are excellent.Our driver and tour guide,Rocky was truly amazing- teaching us Swahili, setting up a lovely table top in the midst of the forests and providing perfect meals and coffee.The places to stay at night were comfortable getaways with lovely meals and helpful people.Seeing the large number of the big 5 of animals was once in a lifetime. A must visit for all with Suricata safaris of Serengeti, Ngorongoro and Tangerine parks.

Dr Venkataram mysore   –  
India IN
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 17, 2024

Email Dr Venkataram mysore  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Great experience
5/5

We had a four day tour. Great driver Rocky, chef Tom gave us good food. Well chosen lodges. Comfortable iterinery. Very good information provided. Punctuality maintained well. Superb experience. Strongly recommended

Average User Rating
5.0/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 1,931
  • 4 star 16
  • 3 star 2
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 2
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Suricata Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Suricata Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions