​User Reviews – South Africa

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 1,001 Reviews
Tracey Sparks   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 18, 2024

Email Tracey Sparks  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Stunning diverse natural beauty
Overall rating
5/5

Cape Town has so much to offer, stunning sea views, beautiful beaches, mountains, vineyards and wildlife nearby.
Our experience of penguins, whales, dolphins and baboons was amazing . Then the big 5 at Aquila Game Reserve was a hit.
A sunset cruise in Table Bay was breathtaking.
The food was great quality and superb.Food markets very vibey.
Places visited like Stellenbosch, Franschoek, Gordon’s Bay and Hermanus plus the Hemel en Arde wine route was all possible in an our 2 week visit, including a surf at Big Bay.

Sparky   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 15, 2024

Email Sparky  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Far exceeds your expectations
Overall rating
5/5

Really enjoyed my safari with Viva Tours in South Africa; the 6 day safari was a luxury because I had time to do 2 full days in Kruger Park and numerous game drives in their private reserve to ensure I saw all of the big five animals as well as numerous interesting birds species, and zebras, giraffes, hippos, kudu, waterbuck, hyena, and so on. We were extremely lucky to see a pack of African Wild Dogs, one of the rarest species in Kruger!

The visit to an animal rescue and rehabilitation centre was extremely special; the care and knowledge that they bring to not for the wildlife but the wider community and the challenges that are faced to balance tourism, argiculture, and human needs.

The landscape of South Africa was far more varied and beautiful than I expected. I am awed by the Drakensberg Mountains!

Caroline Earnshaw   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 15, 2024

Email Caroline Earnshaw  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Spectacular 😍
Overall rating
5/5

We traveled to South Africa for a family holiday in March. We choose Kruger National Park for our safari destination and Nhlalala Travel for our tour guide. We stayed in the Kruger Gate Hotel which was fabulous. We did a sunset safari, full day private safari and a sunrise safari. We were very lucky as we managed to see the big 5. Our private safari guide was so patient and this enabled us to have a wonderful experience. After our safari we returned to Johannesburg and flew to Cape Town for the second part of our trip.

RA   –  
Philippines PH
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 15, 2024

Email RA  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Once in a lifetime experience
Overall rating
5/5

Our South Africa family holiday was a total blast! Maybe the best ever. South Africa is so blessed with natural beauty, including the people. And the wildlife? Second to none, IMHO. Joburg has so much history while Cape Town is one the most beautiful cities in the world! Definitely South Africa is a must travel destination.

Noreen Collins   –  
Canada CA
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 7, 2024

Email Noreen Collins  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

South Africa is a stunningly beautiful place and well worth a visit. It is also modern and sophisticated
Overall rating
5/5

We really enjoyed Pilanesberg and our game drives were the highlight of our trip. We saw a lot of amazing wildlife and really enjoyed the beautiful scenery. Our lodge was lovely and made us feel very spoilt

Michaela G.   –  
Germany DE
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 5, 2024

Email Michaela G.  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

So many different moments, sights, drives, people, accommodations - just GREAT! Never to forget!
Overall rating
5/5

It was such a great experience! Viva Safari (our tour operator) did a great job by showing us so many different aspects of the South African wildlife, the differences of Krueger NP and the Private Game Reserves as well as the struggling of Rehabilitation Centers for animals. We stayed in different lodges, which was also very exciting. All the people we met were so friendly, hosting an really loved what they do. We had a wonderful time and will definitely do it again!

Larry Trach   –  
Canada CA
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 4, 2024

Email Larry Trach  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Top three on my list of all places i have been
Overall rating
5/5

amazing is all i can say. Staff was great and saw more then i expected.

Alejandro Restrepo   –  
Colombia CO
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 1, 2024

Email Alejandro Restrepo  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Unexpected Magic
Overall rating
5/5

Africa is unexpected magic, the most amazing views, the best cuisine and lovely people.

Bart Reitsma   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Mar 26, 2024

Email Bart Reitsma  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

All the beauties of the world in one country
Overall rating
5/5

Beautiful country with more than friendly people in the Westkaap! All you want in one aeria ...beaches, mountains and dilicious food.

Debra Younghans   –  
Canada CA
Visited: February 2024 Reviewed: Mar 24, 2024

Email Debra Younghans  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Life changing experience, especially Kambaku Lodge, Tibavati Nature Reserve.
Overall rating
5/5

Timbavati Nature Reserve, Kambaku Lodge, was an incredible experience. Our ranger ensured that we saw every form of wildlife, it seemed like a dream. The warm hospitality of the staff, food, drink, was exceptional. It felt like a family gathering with the best vibe. Air conditioning in the huts would be the only recommendation. Kambaku Lodge, highly recommended.

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 850
  • 4 star 128
  • 3 star 15
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 2
Write a User Review