​User Reviews – Tanzania

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 33 Reviews
Aleksandra G   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 2, 2024

Email Aleksandra G  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Aleksandra G and not that of SafariBookings.
great hikes and people on the mainland, unpleasant in touristy areas
Overall rating
3/5

people on the mainland were absolutely lovely and very friendly, in Zanzibar the experience was the opposite - very insolent and everyone treats you like a bag of money. terrible flight coordination - your boarding pass, airport schedule and actual departure time are completely unrelated, resulting in unexpected change of plans as you go

Alessandro   –  
Spain ES
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 29, 2024

Email Alessandro  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Alessandro and not that of SafariBookings.
Avoid January
Overall rating
3/5

We went to Gombe NP (amazing chimps) and Selous Game Reserve. As it rained during all of our stay, the second safari experience was terrible. No animals, roads in the worst of conditions possible. 7 hours from Far Es Salaam are too many for this park. next time I would spend more and go to Serengeti, at least the money would worth it more.
Generally speaking Tanzania is quite expensive

Kai   –  
Estonia EE
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 16, 2024

Email Kai  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Kai and not that of SafariBookings.
A country with big potential.
Overall rating
3/5

We went on a safari while it rained. Because of the rain we did not see leopards and lions. Altough we saw hyenas who was eating a freshly catched animal. We also saw very friendly giraffes and antilopes. And a elephant family with two baby elephants. There were no mosqitoes.

Mirela Erbisti   –  
Brazil BR
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 15, 2024

Email Mirela Erbisti  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Mirela Erbisti and not that of SafariBookings.
Great place. Some issues during the trip…
Overall rating
3/5

Tanzania is a wonderful country. Great people, amazing safaris, but very poor. Need to watch the quality of the water you get in touch with and also take malaria pills during your trip to prevent illness.

Yao Cheng   –  
China CN
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 15, 2024

Email Yao Cheng  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Yao Cheng and not that of SafariBookings.
good
Overall rating
3/5

not safe ,my mum got bitten by monkey in tarengire national park,no one cares about it,so disappoint about agency.

Alison W   –  
Canada CA
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Sep 18, 2023

Email Alison W  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Alison W and not that of SafariBookings.
Spectacular wildlife and beautiful beaches.
Overall rating
3/5

The safari tours are fantastic. Drivers/guides are well coordinated with each other ensuring that animal sightings are passed along, giving tourists the best opportunity to see as many animals as possible.
Beaches are beautiful but the harassment from local vendors is intolerable. Locals are friendly until they find out you don't want to give them business or money.
As a woman, make sure you cover up to below the knees (no shorts no matter how hot if you're not on the beach) because the looks you get make you feel like you're a piece of dung at the bottom of a shoe.
Get a hotel close to the main attractions because the driving is insane.

Chiara   –  
Italy IT
Visited: June 2023 Reviewed: Jul 17, 2023

Email Chiara  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Chiara and not that of SafariBookings.
Very beautiful destination
Overall rating
3/5

The Ngorongoro Crater and Tarangine Park have been amazing, instead we have taken a bad decision going to Manyara lake, because we expected to find flamingos but it wasn't the correct season.

Nicholas J D'Anna   –  
Portugal PT
Visited: June 2023 Reviewed: Jul 8, 2023

Email Nicholas J D'Anna  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Nicholas J D'Anna and not that of SafariBookings.
Not as great as the first time
Overall rating
3/5

Returned to Tanzania after 18 years hoping to recapture the magic. Not quite. The first time was during the Great Migration and it was glorious. Huge herds with hungry predators picking them off. This time in June it rained both days in the Serengeti, there were no real herds, and I didn't see a single kill. It didn't help that my tent was leaky or that our guide was more interested in yelling at other drivers and on his phone than being a guide. The overloaded vehicle didn't help nor did the fact that he seemed uncertain who he was supposed to take on which tour.
Also getting into and out of my Airbnb in the center of Arusha was an adventure in itself because of the awful roads, one of which was blocked, forcing us to reverse a long way.
The one highlight was Zanzibar. I stayed in Kiwengwa at The Kichwa House, a locally-owned place, for three glorious nights. The beach was gorgeous, the locals friendly, the food great.

Zeituni   –  
Kenya KE
Visited: April 2022 Reviewed: Jan 1, 2023

Email Zeituni  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Zeituni and not that of SafariBookings.
It's a country which has honest people and a beautiful environment
Overall rating
3/5

People in Tanzania are good and they treat visitors like their king's.they have a wonderful culture and they know how to cook delicious meal, and they are surrounded with a good environment

Hugo   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 29, 2022

Email Hugo  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The review below is the personal opinion of Hugo and not that of SafariBookings.
Great people, great country, terrible government
Overall rating
3/5

Generally, the people in Tanzania are very helpful, friendly but poor. Corruption level is very high (especially with police and government positions). I got the impression that Tanzanian government want to keep its population poor for their own benefit. This did not feel very comfortable. Country is very rich in natural resources and has beautiful scenery, parcs and beaches. The high corruption level is a disturbing factor however

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 1,306
  • 4 star 202
  • 3 star 33
  • 2 star 5
  • 1 star 6
Write a User Review