​User Reviews – Tanzania

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 154 Reviews
Andreas M.   –  
Germany DE
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Dec 31, 2022

Email Andreas M.  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Friendly people, beautiful nature, tourism still in its beginning, rather expensive though
Overall rating
4/5

We did a 6 day safari in Nyerere National Park and Mikumi NP. Very recommendable, as these are not ovrcrowded. One jeep close to many animals, not the other way around. Mafia island is a perfect place to relax and go diving, after a safari.

Pet   –  
Germany DE
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Dec 8, 2022

Email Pet  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Africa feeling pure
Overall rating
4/5

Tarangiri NP and Serengeti were just fabolous, but also the villages, Masais, all locals, nature and landscape in general - I loved exploring everything every day!
Meals were delicious during the tour and tenting in the Serengeti was for me personally the best.

Leslie   –  
Virgin Islands (U.S.) VI
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 15, 2022

Email Leslie  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

This was a perfect up-close-and-personal visit with african wildlife!
Overall rating
4/5

We traveled Ngorogoro and Serengeti by Land Cruiser, and had a marvelous time viewing the wildlife. Great guide. Stunning land, amazing spirit of these animals. We felt safe and lucky to be where we were, at all times.

Jeanette P   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Nov 4, 2022

Email Jeanette P  |  Experience level: first safari

Interesting, the animals were incredible.
Overall rating
4/5

Tanzania was great. Animals were spectacular. Our guide Perfect was absolutely wonderful! Tarangire National Park and the Ngorongoro Crater were fabulous for animals and pictures. I would possibly try a different area of the Serengeti, a long drive from where we were to get to the interesting parts where the animals hang out. The food was not that great but considering the location it was acceptable. Unfortunately you get pretty much the same thing everyday for lunch, cold pasta and cold rice. Dinners were a bit better but not wonderful. All of the people involved were very nice, helpful, professional and accommodating. The rooms were clean. Some of the places used solar panels for hot water so if there were too many tents hooked to one panel they ran out of hot water. I would definitely go back again. The weather was great.

Julia   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 20, 2022

Email Julia  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Something Special (one in a lifetime)
Overall rating
4/5

We did only a 3 full day safari which is quiet short but was enough for us! Our Safari Guide frome „Lion King Adventure“ was really friendly but also a little bit tooo careful while driving on the „normal roads“ everyone will overrun us even the big trucks.. he was afraid of a big fine.
Also we went to Tiarangire, Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara. Our Guide was sad we did‘t book Serengeti (because it was too far away for us). And he didn‘t want to go home to his family because of a lot of bills, so he made us feel bad.. They don‘t have enough work / safaris to do / to less tourists.
We REALLY liked the „Karatu tented lodge“ in Karatu where we stayed for 2 nights!
Before and after the Safari we slept each one night in Arusha in the „Mount Meru“ Hotel, also recommend this hotel.

After the Safari we went to Zanzibar and we loved the north of it!! (Nungwi!) Probably the most beautiful Beach ever!
2 days it was raining a little bit but nothing bad.
The service in the Hotel was not as good as expected (sundies baobab hotel), we only booked B&B and went to different restaurants for lunch & dinner at the beach. That was amazing food and really cheap!
After 1 Week we went to the South of Zanzibar (Kizimkazi), we really liked the hotel (fruit & spice) but at the beach it was really windy and the beach was not really nice! Next time I wouldn‘t go to the South.. maye east, but definitely loved the North!

Eivind Håvarstein   –  
Norway NO
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 17, 2022

Email Eivind Håvarstein  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Fantastic wild life and kind people
Overall rating
4/5

Went to Mikumi National Park and got to see most of the known animals. Also visit ed the Masai Village in Morogoro which was a great experience. Lodging at Camp Bastian was good. Nice and clean chalets and good food

Andy Bees   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 3, 2022

Email Andy Bees  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Tanzania was every bit as good as we had hoped.
Overall rating
4/5

We did not know what to expect from a Safari tour, or from Tanzania in general. For us it was a step into uncharted territory.
I’m delighted to say that the trip proved to be outstanding. Our Safari was a remarkable experience and one which I would wholeheartedly recommend. To see so much wildlife in a natural habitat was amazing.
Other than the tour we did not explore Tanzania more widely. We did stay in a hotel in Dar Es Salaam for one night at each end of our Safari. The hotel staff and the hotel itself were very good. In fact a warm and gracious welcome awaited us everywhere we visited our stayed on the mainland and then afterwards when we stayed in Zanzibar for one week. That Safari/Zanzibar combination makes for a great holiday.
Not only was the food good in most places we visited, but Swahili generosity extends to portion size as well - so you will not find yourself going hungry in Tanzania.
If you don’t visit Tanzania you are definitely missing out on a terrific experience.

Karin Spaninks   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Oct 2, 2022

Email Karin Spaninks  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Beautiful country with very nice propyleeën. Hakuna matata.
Overall rating
4/5

We’ve been to Zanzibar and the mainland. The mainland for Safari. Stil very beautiful but compared with 4 years ago the national park ‘nyerere’ in Selous had become very touristic and commercial.
At lunchtime all the jeeps came together at the same spot and the place was crowded. The camp where we stayed however was perfect, Nice rooms and very good food!!!!

Kamal   –  
France FR
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 30, 2022

Email Kamal  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great
Overall rating
4/5

It’s was a one day safari from Zanzibar to Selous. It’s was great. I will surely book again for my next trip to Tanzania.

Halima   –  
France FR
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 26, 2022

Email Halima  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Wonderful
Overall rating
4/5

We had spent à very trip at Nyerere camp. It was wonderful. The guide and the driver were very kind.

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 1,017
  • 4 star 154
  • 3 star 25
  • 2 star 4
  • 1 star 6
Write a User Review