​User Reviews – Tanzania

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 867 Reviews
Olivier Noret   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 3, 2022

Email Olivier Noret  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

"National Geographic"-like holidays but in real life !
Overall rating
5/5

We were lucky enough to see all the Big Five's animals during our trip. Safari was well organized (we went for the camping-budget option) and gave us the opportunity to have zebras grazing just next to our tent.
A one-of-a-lifetime experience recommended.

James   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2022 Reviewed: Jul 5, 2022

Email James  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Tanzania as a safari destination that has it all.
Overall rating
5/5

If this is your first safari and your driving ambition is to get some amazing sightings and to rack up the big 5 as soon as possible then Ngorongoro Conservation Area is probably the best place in the world. Head for the Serengeti, however, if you have time for a longer safari and your goal is to take time to roam – moving as a nomad with the vast herds, or simply skirting across the savannah between the rock outcrops that are the lookout posts of the Serengeti prides. The Serengeti remains for me (alongside Botswana’s Kalahari) as one of the very best places in the world to experience the awe-inspiring vastness of the African wilderness. There is no feeling like being in the middle of the incomparable immensity of the savannah with no other vehicle in sight and a herd of wildebeest stretching as far as the eye can see towards the horizon. Big thumb up to Mgalaa Expeditions for organizing such a wonderful safari of our life.

Jean   –  
United States US
Visited: December 2021 Reviewed: Jun 23, 2022

Email Jean  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Incredible safari experience!!
Overall rating
5/5

This was an incredible experience all around, and that is largely due to the incredible hospitality and friendliness of everyone we met in Tanzania. The safari was amazing - while the star of the show is obviously the animals and habitat, the knowledgeable guide, well maintained vehicle, and delicious food (thank you Ben) made it all the better. Our tour guide (Chris) was simply amazing!! He made sure everything was as frictionless as possible. The food was fantastic and everyone was looking forward to each meal. The guides you choose are a big part of your experience and I could highly recommend Jiwe adventures more if you are looking to visit Tanzania!

Erka J   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2022 Reviewed: Jun 13, 2022

Email Erka J  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Tanzania - Simply the best travel destination in Africa.
Overall rating
5/5

I had been on safari in some African countries however in Tanzania I found the best experience ever, from the quality parks and beaches to the friendly people. In March 2022 we travelled to Tanzania, three nights in Zanzibar , four night in Serengeti and one night in Arusha. Everything was excellent planned. Nema did an amazing job planning our trip. In fact because I had a family problem I asked her to cancel all arrangements ten days before the trip and finally because I was able to travel she managed to rebook everything just four days before leaving!!! She did such a great job! Zanzibar was beautiful and the accommodation at Fun beach hotel super! There are no words to describe the safari! Our driver and guide Chris was very knowledgeable and friendly! He spotted all the big 5 and many more!!! The accommodation in the park was also excellent. We changed lodge every night and all were perfect and their staff very friendly.
I highly recommend Mgalaa Expeditions to plan your trip to Tanzania!!! I am thinking of doing the Kilimanjaro mountain...however need to start training a bit !

Erca J   –  
United States US
Visited: May 2022 Reviewed: Jun 8, 2022

Email Erca J  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Reaching the stars
Overall rating
5/5

I'll start by saying Edgar is the most fantastic person to work with. He genuinely cares about the safety of his clients, has amazing attention to detail, and promptly responds to any questions you will have over email. If you're looking for unbeatable customer service, safety as a priority, and booking with a local company to keep the money in Tanzania, your research should stop Mgalaa Expeditions, just reach out to Edgar and get booked now!

For the Kilimanjaro climb, it's impossible to put into words how incredible of an experience this was. I'm convinced that Ackley, Jackson and Erick are the best guides on the mountain, so try to book with them if possible. Then there is Edward, the chef, who is frequently referred to as a 'Stomach Engineer'. His soups are amazing, and every meal he makes is as good as it gets for trekking. All the porters were so friendly, and had unforgettable personalities. If you can get Mandela, Obie, and Boni, you'll be in great hands.

In terms of the difficulty of this hike, be prepared for a mental and physical battle, especially on summit night. The guides do an amazing job of keeping you positive as you hike in complete darkness, until you reach the summit for the most incredible sunrise you've ever seen in your life. I haven't mentioned all the amazing scenery you'll see along the way of the Lemosho route. Again, everything about the experience with Mgalaa expeditions was perfect.

Now I'll talk about the 5-day Safari. This was the perfect follow-up to 8 days of strenuous hiking, and Mgalaa Expeditions allows you to easily cross off two major bucket list items with everything planned for you, and at a better bang for your buck than any operator out there. Our guide Chris was amazing! He has tremendous passion for all of the animals, is extremely knowledgeable, and puts in great effort to not only get you to see everything you want, but to get as close as possible to the wildlife. It's hard to explain how alive you feel when an elephant walks past the jeep and rumbles the ground, or how majestic it is to be 1-2 meters away from a cheetah or a lion. Book this with Chris, and book everything you can with Mgalaa expeditions!

Kelly   –  
Canada CA
Visited: February 2022 Reviewed: Apr 29, 2022

Email Kelly  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Unforgettable honeymoon experience in Tanzania with Jiwe adventures
Overall rating
5/5

We spent our honeymoon in Tanzania during and made an 8-day Safari with Jiwe adventures. It was an outstanding and very unique experience which we will never forget! Our trip went from Arusha to Tarangire National Park (2 nights), to Lake Manyara (1 night), to Central Serengeti (2 nights), to South Serengeti/Lake Ndutu (1 night), to Ngorongoro (1 night) and back to Arusha. If you want to make a shorter trip, we recommend to skip Lake Manyara, all other places should not be missed!
Each stop was very different from the other with new highlights every day. We had wonderful lodges and especially recommend Lemala (Tarangire), Ndutu (South Serengeti) and Kubu Kubu (Serengeti). All of them had great views into the endless African wilderness with Zebra & Co. visiting us at the balcony, luxury accommodation, fantastic food as well as very friendly staff. Our driver Chris was super! He drove us to breathtaking places, made us see the big five (finally the rhinos on our last day in Ngorongoro crater), served delicious lunch every day and did not get tired of answering our countless questions from African animal behavior to Tanzanian economy and Massai traditions :) Thanks again Chris, we hope to see you again one day!

Inger   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: July 2021 Reviewed: Sep 19, 2021

Email Inger  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Everything else was just great and so close to our jeep.

Emanuel   –  
Israel IL
Visited: January 2021 Reviewed: Feb 7, 2021

Email Emanuel  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

I would highly recommend Friendship Adventure to anyone looking to have an unforgettable trip!
Overall rating
5/5

I have just finished amazing 10 days of safari in Tanzanya.This was my first safari experience in Africa! Everything was wonderful, much better than what I expected! The tour was very well organized by Friendship African Adventures Safaris agency.The tours to Serengeti, Ngorogoro, Lake Manyara and Ndutu were really an experience of a lifetime! Thanks to Michael it was even a better experience. My driver and guide Michael was brilliant, this man is a legend. Michael has a lot of knowledge, excellent English, very friendly and took care of everything what I needed! At first I would like to say thank him for his personal qualities: responsibility, courtesy, extraordinary intelligence and readiness ,secondly for his high qualifications such as preparedness, extensive knowledge and rich experience. Best experience and the best tour guide Michael!I would highly recommend Friendship Adventure agency and specifically Michael to anyone looking to have an unforgettable trip!

ShaNae McCleskey   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2012 Reviewed: Dec 19, 2020

Email ShaNae McCleskey  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The most eye-opening and life-changing experience I’ve ever had.
Overall rating
5/5

I’m writing this review many years late. But my appreciation for Tanzania, the people I met there, and the wildlife is still a driving force in my life. I went in 2012 and my tour guide on this safari was Loth Kornelio and his team. They were absolutely incredible—they had extensive knowledge of the land and wildlife, were so kind, and gave us all memories we’ll cherish forever. I’m so grateful for them and their hard work—I hope to go back some day!

DMBT195   –  
United States US
Visited: December 2020 Reviewed: Dec 17, 2020

Email DMBT195

An Awesome Experience Worth Repeating
Overall rating
5/5

Did a 3D/2N "Camping Safari" that was arranged through Swahili Paradise Tours & Safaris. From start to finish it was an easy process and pleasant experience dealing with everyone from Jimmy to Mashaka, Juma (Driver) and Paul (Chef who made sure we had some very tasty meals).
Visiting Serengeti National Park and Ngorongoro Crater has to be one of the world's premium safari experiences and doing it with a company like Paradise Tour is a must. IMHO, everything on this safari was beyond my expectations from the accommodations, weather, food, scenery and wildlife (except not spotting a leopard). Tanzania should definitely be high on any traveler's list. I know it will always be for me and I am looking forward to returning and exploring more of what Tanzania has to offer.

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 867
  • 4 star 132
  • 3 star 23
  • 2 star 4
  • 1 star 5
Write a User Review