​User Reviews – Uganda

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 267 Reviews
BradJill   –  
Hong Kong HK
Visited: March 2009 Reviewed: May 26, 2011

Email BradJill  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

The gorilla safari is excellent but it seems difficult to recommend the traditional African safaris in Uganda when you are so close to some of the best animal viewing in the world in nearby Kenya and Tanzania with the Masai Mara and Serengeti National Parks.

Tracey   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: March 2011 Reviewed: Jun 3, 2011

Email Tracey  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

I have been to 4 other safari destinations and it is the most beautiful African country I have been to. Do not go if you wan to see the big five go to Kenya or Tanzania but if primates are your thing go to Uganda the people, the service is superb

Angela Niesz   –  
United States US
Visited: May 2011 Reviewed: Aug 5, 2011

Email Angela Niesz  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

There's a great variety of things to see.

ddarbela   –  
United States US
Visited: December 2010 Reviewed: Sep 5, 2011

A hidden gem in the rough !
Overall rating
4/5

Uganda wildlife is rich. You have to venture to the national parks for most of the action. The scenery is spectacular from the rolling hills to savannah, as well as the scenic Lake Victoria vista's, and forests there is a lot to take in. Accommodations can range from super luxury hotels in Kampala, and some of the upscale accommodations in the safari lodges. However more affordable accommodation can be found depending on personal tastes. Transportation is available but can be challenging given the state of infrastructure. A good destination for the eco-tourist who is willing to give up the creature comforts for the sake of beauty.

gipukan   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: July 2010 Reviewed: Sep 6, 2011

Email gipukan  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

As it's a small park the number of different animals is limited but that makes one focus on more than just the big five.

Jean-Pierre   –  
United States US
Visited: December 2009 Reviewed: Sep 7, 2011

20-35 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

The parks were more affordable than other countries. The country is small so it is easy to travel from Kampala, the capital, to the parks. The wildlife is diverse and the birding is fantastic. Best of all the Ugandan people are friendly and accomodating.

Jess Hoffert Visited: June 2009 Reviewed: Sep 7, 2011

A relatively small country with an endless variety of landscapes and wildlife.
Overall rating
5/5

The wildlife was like nothing I've seen before in my life. Giraffes, lions, monkeys, wildebeest...just about everything you usually picture about Africa, except real and in close proximity. At one point, we even had an elephant blocking the road! That's just something you can't experience in the states. The weather in June was surprisingly mild with highs in the 80s. Scenery was fantastic. I couldn't believe the vast array of landscapes, from vast plains to craggy mountain ridges. Food was starchy and filling. Not the best food ever, but something you could handle for a few weeks. Overall, though, an incredible experience with wonderful people.

Allison   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2010 Reviewed: Sep 8, 2011

20-35 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

Lots to see, expecially if this is your first safari experience!

Ezequiel   –  
Argentina AR
Visited: August 2010 Reviewed: Sep 8, 2011

Email Ezequiel  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

The parks are very nice (I especially liked Kidepo Valley) and you´ll never see a crowd!

liesje Visited: August 2010 Reviewed: Sep 8, 2011

Overall rating
4/5

I liked the things we saw in Uganda, but Tanzania was better.

Average User Rating

  • 4.7/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 201
  • 4 star 59
  • 3 star 6
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review