​User Reviews – Uganda

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 267 Reviews
Reginald Leyssens   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 20, 2022

Email Reginald Leyssens  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

AMAZING
Overall rating
5/5

Wonderfull country I recommand it Very safe A lot of wildlife

Ferdi Florijn   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 17, 2022

Email Ferdi Florijn

nice green
Overall rating
5/5

It was a long way but with nice country musik from afrika and europe was the tripp relax. Ab(...... )our driver was excellent he told a lot about the culture animals and politic and other things

Mia Kontnik   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Oct 14, 2022

Email Mia Kontnik

Fantastic wildlife and great hospitality!
Overall rating
5/5

We had a fantastic trip and really enjoyed seeing all the wildlife. Seeing chimpanzees, gorillas, lions, leopards, and elephants were some highlights, but all the other animals and birds were also incredible. We experienced lovely hospitality throughout our vacation!

Simon Ward   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 7, 2022

Email Simon Ward  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Gorillas and Chimpanzees
Overall rating
5/5

A good destination for Gorilla and chimpanzee trekking has the experience was a lot better than expected and the parks were well managed has not to get overrun and the people were warm and friendly throughout and Bamboo Ecotours made this a very memorable trip. For birders we recommend a trip to Mabamba swamp Lake Victoria to see the shoebill storks and plentiful bird life.

Jiri Machacek   –  
Czech Republic CZ
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Sep 26, 2022

Email Jiri Machacek  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Uganda is an interesting safari destination but its wildlife is obviously under a great pressure
Overall rating
4/5

I think Uganda is not for someone who suppose to have just one East Africa safari tour in his/her life.
For such people Kenya/Tanzania are better options.
Uganda is about some special animal (shoebill, chimps, gorillas, other primates, birds) and special landscape (lakes, Virunga, Ruwenzori, a margin of Congo rainforest basin) targets.

We knew that, we are strongly oriented to wildlife but anyway - Uganda was a partial (with the focus on PARTIAL) disappointment.
When I was a child the classical Ugandan national parks like Murchison Falls and Queen Elisabeth were symbols of the African wildlife beauty. They are still here but obviously under a great poaching pressure and some parts of QE (esp. Ishasha sector) are simply dying ecosystems. Without any change in NP management Uganda can expect even further decrease of safari visitors.

There were also 2 and 1/2 disappointments with the activities which were expected to be the Uganda safari highlights:

* Disappointment 1 : chimpanzee trekking in Kibale - IMO this is a cheat from definition - this is no trekking but cca an hour of standing in a dark forest and staring at a chimpanzee back high and far in the trees. I can understand it is made as it is possible but with all the marketing and for the price (a half of the gorilla permit) ... ? But I do believe that for chimps is Kibale a good place to live. Which is a good message.

* Disappointment 2 : tree-climbing lions in Ishasha/QENP - we saw just one older cub which was seriously and repeatedly injured (the older injury from poacher snares, the fresh new injury - as we were told - made by an aggressive male lion ). Add the evening/night shooting at elephants (to keep them out of the crop fields) and the fact that one half (really) of Ishasha sector is completely burnt down. A depressive place.

* 1/2 of Disappointment : gorilla trekking in Bwindi - this is no cheat (compared with chimps trekking in Kibale), it is a real rainforest trekking crowned with gorillas observation from a close distance - we spent a half an hour with a female and cca 10-month-old baby (nice) and we could hear other group members (incl. silverback) in the undergrowth nearby. But when the female with her baby was leaving we were told by our leader guide we could not to continue in observation because of a wasp nest (it was really there but it was there all the time and could be easily bypassed when trying to follow gorillas which were apparently nearby). So we finished our session after a half an hour and returned to the base where we were waiting another half an hour until the "easy group" returned (we were the "medium group"). I suppose the gorilla trekking is no cheat from definition (as I suppose the chimps trekking in Kibale is) but we simply had a hard luck with our leader guide. You didn't travel so long distance and didn't spend so much money to skip a half of the activity for such a vague reason.

But there were also very good points in our Uganda safari tour :

* shoebill in Mabamba swamps
* rhinos trekking in Ziwa RS
* Nile delta boat cruise (private small boat)
* giant forest hogs close to Buffalo lodge/QE
* Kazinga channel boat cruise (private small boat)
* Golden monkey trekking in Mgahinga NP (by far best of the primate trekking)
* Lake Mulehe birding (private small boat)
* Lake Bunyonyi birding (private small boat)
* birding !!!

And the trip organization by Africa Adventure Vacations was excellent. The tour was discussed and planned with Robert and we were guided with Ceasar and Daphne. I can highly recommend all of them, the tour organization was simply great and we would like to thank them once more at this place.

To sum up - I'm far from being sure to visit Uganda again but if we do that we'll ask Africa Adventure Vacations (Robert, Ceasar, Daphne) to organize our trip again.

PI   –  
Germany DE
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 19, 2022

Email PI  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Enlightening, surprisingly safe, amazing nature and kind people.
Overall rating
5/5

Travelling in dry August was a great decision, no mosquitos!, still green savanna and animals everywhere to see. The accommodations, although partly on budget, were clean, safe and offered delicious food. Every person we met was kind and happy to help. When travelling on the boat, it was always rewarding if sitting on the side, closer to the river bank. But the most important thing was to have a great driver/guide, who is experienced, knowledgeable and flexible. He made our adventure above all expectations.

Padraig   –  
Ireland IE
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 18, 2022

Email Padraig  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Uganda is without doubt an experience you will never forget and never want too.
Overall rating
5/5

An overall wonderful experience filled with friendly helpful people, never forget wildlife and scenery which will leave you breathless. Whether it is the falls at Muchison NP, do the hike it is so worth it or the Chimps of Kibale or the Gorillas of Bwindi you will have memories to cherish for the rest of your life. Your greatest challenge will be trying to keep up. And that is only a glimpse of what could await you in this adventure.
Bring dollars in large bills ($50 or $100) as you get a better exchange rate for local currency. Charging can be challenging in the more remote lodges so bring power banks fully charged if you can. Always carry your passport as many parks will look for it or at least the number of it.
Always eat a good breakfast, you will need it!!!!! Bring a mask to see the chimps and the Gorillas, for their safety not yours!!! Enjoy lots of the local fruits, it is excellent. Buy Ugandan coffee, I did, and it is excellent.
Whether your thing is Elephants or Giraffes or Hippos or Lions you will see them all. I saw more butterflies that I have ever seen in the most beautiful colors and to many little birds to even count never mind name.
No matter your expectations you will not be disappointed.

Panagiota Marouli   –  
Greece GR
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 2, 2022

Email Panagiota Marouli  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Unspoiled and true Africa!
Overall rating
5/5

We went on a tour with Home to Africa that was custom made for us and loved everything about it. Very professional agency from start to end. It is funny how pick season in Uganda means hardly any tourist vehicles around you! We only got to see other tourist cars when visiting Ishasha for the tree climbing lions, and next at the gorilla trekking and that was it.
So we had a lush country to roam like we were the only foreigners in it, winding red dirt roads fenced by dense nature being my favorite. On day one we saw almost every animal there (elephants, water buffaloes, impalas, zebras, birds etc). Queen Elizabeth National Park is home to great numbers of animals and one is sure to spot them very soon into their safari. I particularly loved the misty mountains and the gorilla trekking activity in Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. A short but intense adventure that still respects and protects the amazing gorillas.
Lake Bunyonyi is definitely worth a stop over, very serene and picturesque.
Food was excellent (loved rolex!!), no stomach issues although tap water is to be avoided. The weather varied depending on the itinerary, it was hot in the savanna but quite cold up in the misty mountains so t-shirs and fleeces would all serve well. Changing money to local currency is not very easy so you best change at the airport (we tried changing at a bank and they refused saying they would only change 50usd bill or higher!).
Throughout our trip we passed villages and towns, saw up and close the daily routine of the locals and got to meet some of the most polite, welcoming and attentive people I have met in my life. It blows my mind to see what they call "ordinary day" as opposed to what I do. Like when we were escorted to our bungalow and the guide casually directed his flashlight to a herd of implalas that was like 3m away, like right there, resting in the dark among men, feeling safer than the open savanna! The herd was so quiet and it was so dark that we never would've noticed it if he hadn't shown them to us!
Man and nature can co exist in harmony and that is something we need to think of and try to practice more. And this is why I keep returning to Africa.

Ken   –  
Canada CA
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Sep 1, 2022

Email Ken  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

19 aewsome days in Uganda
Overall rating
5/5

Very scenic country. Lots of cultural experiences to be had

Sarah   –  
Australia AU
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Aug 31, 2022

Email Sarah  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Beautiful green lush country with friendly people
Overall rating
4/5

After spending some time in Kenya (dry and rough in most places), it was refreshing to travel through Uganda for a few days. The landscape was breathtaking, so many green hills - not to mention the incredible Bwindi Forest where we had the opportunity to see Silver Back Gorillas in the wild! The roads were much better than in Kenya, and the people were friendly - especially towards women who seem to be well respected in the Ugandan society. The amount of wild life can't compete with Kenya's huge & abundant national parks though. Overall I had a lovely time in Uganda and I'd be happy to return!

Average User Rating

  • 4.7/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 201
  • 4 star 59
  • 3 star 6
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review