​User Reviews – Zambia

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 89 Reviews
Lisa Wilson Foley   –  
France FR
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Nov 8, 2022

Email Lisa Wilson Foley  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Wonderful Zambia
Overall rating
5/5

Zambia is a country that I had not ventured but perhaps I was saving it to understand it’s beauty after having visited many of the more frequented African countries.

The Zambezi River is a phenomenal place to get close to wildlife via canoe or motorboat. Watching a family of elephants swim across the river was special as was experiencing hippos so close. Don’t leave Zambia off your bucket list-you will be sorry!!

Philippe   –  
France FR
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 20, 2022

Email Philippe  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Very friendly country
Overall rating
5/5

Amazing game drive, a lot of animals, big cat's and birds. Very pleasant atmosphere everybody helpful, whether the guide, the staff in the hotel or passenger in the bus.

Mary Fleming   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 16, 2022

Email Mary Fleming

A very friendly country with some amazing sunsets and animals
Overall rating
5/5

We had a really great holiday particularly in the parks and getting so close to the animals. The people we met - in airports, shops, hotels, taxis, parks and other attractions - were really welcoming and helpful. It was lovely to find out so much about this country. We liked sitting in the peace and quiet of Thornicroft Lodge near South Luangwa park, watching the animals across the river and listening to the hippos in the river. We also enjoyed Victoria Falls although October is not the best time to visit here (water is getting low). The sunset cruise on the Zambezi from Victoria Falls Waterfront was really good and the sunset unmatched. We ate some delicious food during our stay and the local beer was good too. All in all a very memorable holiday.

Julie   –  
Indonesia ID
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 6, 2022

Email Julie  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

True Wilderness Destination
Overall rating
5/5

We’ve just taken a wonderful trip to Lower Zambezi and Kafue National Parks with Wilderness Horizon Safaris who I contacted through this site. Both Parks were top class for wildlife viewing with very experienced guides. Both of the camps we chose, although mid range, were very comfortable with wonderful, friendly and knowledgeable staff who couldn’t do enough for us. The meals were outstanding. We’ve been on many safaris in different countries in Africa but we think Zambia was one of the safest and you really have the feeling you’re in remote wilderness in the Parks as we rarely saw another vehicle. Missing it already and can’t wait to go back.

Mrs Aysha Lakhi   –  
Zambia ZM
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 22, 2022

Email Mrs Aysha Lakhi  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Zambia in the sun, the rugged side of Africa
Overall rating
4/5

We visited the Royal Zambezi Lodge as a family group of 8. A very long, bumpy, dusty ride. 4WD vehicles essential to traverse the rugged terrain and seeing elephant and buck roaming in the GMA. Check-in was pleasant and efficient and activities very efficiently organised. HALAL MEALS were accommodated and of excellent standard. Chef willingly shared a recipe or two! The monkeys in dining area, became tedious and downright annoying with their antics of pouncing down from the trees and making off with our food. This applied to relaxing on our private deck too as crunching on a snack out there was out of question. Chalets and facilities tastefully decorated and the thrill of walking to the boma with the possibility of encountering an elephant was exciting . Staff were always at hand to escort guests to and from their chalets making it calm and safe. I was in the Frontier Suite where elephant, hippo, buck and baboons were literally grazing under the balcony/deck.

Stanley   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: July 2021 Reviewed: Jul 25, 2021

Email Stanley  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Hustlers thieves, officials,police,ruin what would otherwise be a wonderful tourist destination
Overall rating
3/5

Zambia is a beautiful country with so much to offer, but traveling up from Botswana, there is a stark difference -the official's police and the Botswana people are friendly and efficient, (been several times) , have never been hustled in Botswana -the moment you arrive in Zambia there will be a hustler at your door -the Botswana officials expedite you quickly and efficiently -The Zambian side will keep you for hours -But that we can deal with.Livingstone(Vic Falls,) was empty this year of tourists, one would think they would welcome the ones who do come,but there we felt immediately like we were a mark, and constantly harassed and hustled, beware of the money exchangers and hustlers, do NOT deal with them,even if it costs a bit more, use a bank or ATM, where you are nor surrounded -they will come at you in gangs and try to distract you as others steal from you -this happened to us with our international guests who had money stolen, the police are no help,so don't expect any help there, we did go to the Livingstone police but they laughed at us and said we most probably dropped the money ourselves -so they find it a joke and obviously are not there to help tourists -our guests said it spoilt their experience there, and I doubt will recommend anyone else to go there

Ryan   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2010 Reviewed: Dec 4, 2020

Email Ryan  |  under20 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
5/5

because, i liked it.

Naghirah   –  
United States US
Visited: November 2017 Reviewed: Feb 2, 2020

Email Naghirah  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Everything was real u see the wildlife, the vegetation so green the waters so blue which makes the scenery beautiful

Halley   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2019 Reviewed: Nov 30, 2019

Email Halley  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Beautiful spot on the River
Overall rating
4/5

The safari overall was spectacular, just so much fun seeing all the animals in their natural habitats. The time we were there (mid October) was very hot, we felt it and so did the animals. So because of the heat many of the animals were not out and about, but still very much enjoyed everything Lower Zambezi had to offer!

Hakan Olsson   –  
Sweden SE
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Oct 9, 2019

Email Hakan Olsson  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Even better than expected, we had a wonderful but too short visit to South Luangwa.
Overall rating
4/5

We have travelled a lot in Southern and Eastern Africa visiting most of the great parks and South Luangwa stands out as one of our favourites after a previous visit. An Eden of scenic beauty and this time during high season there was wildlife everywhere and something to see behind each corner. And the park is never crowded. Flatdogs and Nkonzi are truly nice places, well managed with excellent food and comfortable safari tents. Elefants and hippos sharing the camp grounds are part of the bush feel. Guiding was superb including walking safaris and night drives.

Average User Rating

  • 4.6/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 60
  • 4 star 25
  • 3 star 4
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review