​User Reviews – Zimbabwe

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-8 of 8 Reviews
Roy Chavrimootoo   –  
Mauritius MU
Visited: March 2020 Reviewed: Mar 24, 2020

Email Roy Chavrimootoo  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Interesting but tedious. However the staff at Victoria falls and Hwange national park were exception
Overall rating
3/5

The wild life and scenery are average. The accomodation at Hwange was superb and rustic . The cook and staff at Hwange looked after us very well. We were lucky to have Liberty as our guide as he was kind and knowledgeable.
We particularly enjoyed the lunch in the bush where the table was laid out to celebrate my friend's birthday.

Janet Visited: September 2004 Reviewed: Oct 14, 2011

Southern African Safaris
Overall rating
3/5

We didn't have a safari in Zimbabwe. We were there to see Victoria Falls and stayed at the Victoria Falls Hotel. There was sight seeing on the Zambezi where we saw many animals. Our safaris were in South Africa at Kirkman's Kamp in the Sabe Sands area and in Botswana in the Okavanga Delta at Eagle Island Camp and Kwai River Camp. Our daughter's family took a safari in November of 2010 in South Africa's Sabe Sands at Elephant Plain Camp and were thrilled with everything . We all saw all the big 5 animals and many more.If my husband were well we'd doing it again.

Mr Ush   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: July 2007 Reviewed: Oct 7, 2011

35-50 years of age

A beautiful country being slowly crushed by one man's intransigence
Overall rating
3/5

While I wasn't in Zim for wildlife, what we saw was fantastic. The weather was perfect, the scenery stunning. As you would expect the only issues were those which could be traced from the economic situation.

Dominik Visited: May 2006 Reviewed: Oct 3, 2011

Victoria Falls
Overall rating
3/5

We spent two days in Victoria Falls during a two week safari (going throuhg national parks in Botswana). Of course there we visited beautiful and waterfalls. There was ample possibilities for "entertainment" as well: aerial view of the waterfalls by helicopter or micro-light, bungee jumping, elephant rides and walking with lion cubs. Other attractions are boat cruises on the Zambezi river or barbecue dinners in the evening. Be aware: for all of this you pay high dollars (USD of course).
In a high contrast to this is the situation of the citizens: extreme poverty, extreme inflation, unemployment and hunger crisis.
My travel experience is from 2006, since then the situation got even worse regarding economics and politics. Considering this i would not recommend to travel to Simbabwe.

arnorab   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: February 2010 Reviewed: Sep 23, 2011

65+ years of age

Overall rating
3/5

It all remarkably unspoiled at the moment.

Jörg Schönfels   –  
Germany DE
Visited: October 2001 Reviewed: Sep 18, 2011

35-50 years of age

a (very) short view in North Zimbabwe
Overall rating
3/5

We visited - coming from Botswana on the way to Zambia - shortly the Zambezi N.P. and the Falls. 2001 was the time at beginning of the crisis in Zimbabwe, there where only a view organized tourists at the falls and no one in the N.P. accept ourself. There were some problems with the petrol supply e.g.
Wildlife was a bit poor in the park - have seen just some pigs and a lot of monkeys, which try to steel what they could get (including closed tins and onions).
The Falls are better to visit an the Zimbabwe side than on the Zambian.
Because of the unsave situation inside the country at this time we did not travel further in Zimbabwe.

Nico Roets Visited: October 2010 Reviewed: Aug 16, 2011

Overall rating
3/5

Zimbabwe is the most scenic country in Southern Africa. Mana Pools and Hwange are special places and Victoria Falls should be seen by everybody.

oceansteward   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2010 Reviewed: Jul 3, 2011

Email oceansteward  |  65+ years of age

Overall rating
3/5

We would have rated Zimbabwe higher if we hadn't just come from a 5 star experience at three separate camps in Botswana. Also we thought Victoria Falls was overrated. We scheduled two days there - one would have been enough. Flying over the falls on our way back to Victoria Falls airport from Mana Pools was breathtaking - much better than seeing the Falls on the ground.

Average User Rating

  • 4.5/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 50
  • 4 star 32
  • 3 star 8
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review