​User Reviews – Zimbabwe

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 50 Reviews
Michelle Welch   –  
New Zealand NZ
Visited: November 2019 Reviewed: Dec 28, 2019

Email Michelle Welch  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Wonderful experience - loved every moment
Overall rating
5/5

We had nervous expectations of travel in Zimbabwe. However, from our arrival in Victoria Falls to the day we departed we
had nothing but positive experiences. This was largely based on the friendly, helpful and kind people we met along the way.
Zimbabweans are resilient. Despite the tough economic hardships they are experiencing they continue to find ways to keep their lives and their businesses operating and they do it with a sense of humour and a smile. We were encouraged by their endurance.
The weather was very hot on the Zambezi and rain was desperately needed. Our guide was a natural bush man - passionate about the flora, animals and birds. He kept us well informed on what we were seeing along the way and helped to educate us on the interactions of the wildlife in the ecosystem. We had plenty of bottled water, good healthy food and comfortable accommodations with warm water for showers and morning washes. Safety was a high priority with the guides and we felt safe both on land and in the canoes.
The highlight of the trip was sitting around the dinner table and to have the guide say 'don't move anyone' - as an elephant walked right past our table.
Our only concern was to see plastic waste on the river banks and to hear powerboats and generators - ruining the pristine nature of this beautiful wilderness area.

Jessica Negrisoli   –  
France FR
Visited: November 2019 Reviewed: Dec 13, 2019

Email Jessica Negrisoli  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

One of the most beautiful experience I ever had
Overall rating
5/5

Like I just said, this was one of the most beautiful experience I had.
Tongesai took care of our safari from the beginning to the end.
We spent 3 days at Sable Sands in Hwange National Park.
Everyone at Sable Sands is super kind, the place is peaceful and the food is amazing and we were able to see the elephant from our room.
Unfortunately the rains season was starting and was not easy to find the animals.
I truly recommend this experience with Cultural Vibe & Travel Tour.



Colette *****   –  
France FR
Visited: November 2017 Reviewed: Nov 21, 2019

Email Colette *****

WONDERFUL TRIP!
Overall rating
5/5

I really have loved this country. Each part has its interests and beauty. I had the chance to see many lions and cheetahs as well as other animals like elephants, zebras, and a lot of birds on Zambezi river where i canoed 4 days.

Matopos also worth to be seen with its strange stones and very beautiful landscape, especially at sunset.
And, I have walked with the lions in Gweru.

I sincerely advise to visit this country!!

Diane Marsh   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2019 Reviewed: Nov 8, 2019

Email Diane Marsh  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Fantastic Trip
Overall rating
5/5

The safari experience in Zimbabwe was absolutely wonderful. I’ve been on three prior safaris in a different country and have to say this trip exceeded my expectations. The wildlife was plentiful, the scenery changed from place to place, and the guides were very knowledgeable and informative. Accommodations were great, and the food was fantastic. Had I eaten everything that was served, I would have easily gained 10 pounds in 10 days! As it was, I had to ask for smaller portions so as to not waste food. There was also a good cultural component, so be sure to ask about visits to nearby schools and villages. The camps I used were secluded enough that there were often no other vehicles in sight, so it was just our vehicle and the wildlife. Since other vehicles went out from the camps, they must plan different routes to avoid the “zoo” type of feeling. I would highly recommend Zimbabwe to anyone wishing to experience a good safari.

Elizabeth   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Sep 1, 2019

Email Elizabeth  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

A short but very pleasant holiday in an extraordinary landscape
Overall rating
5/5

Our holiday in Zimbabwe was a short luxury break after a longer more basic road trip from Cape Town. We we driven in a comfortable air-conditioned vehicle to Matopos Hills where we were accommodated in the honeymoon suite of a popular lodge. Reached by a short climb up stone steps, and by squeezing between enormous boulders, our accommodation consisted of a large well appointed room built around another huge boulder, a balcony overlooking the valley, a gazebo (also with a marvellous view) reached by a rope bridge, and most fun of all, an open air roll-top bath. We were there to see rhino, and we managed to see two females with young, zebra, giraffe, various antelope and birds as well as rock art, the Rhodes grave site and the spectacular scenery the area offers. We had also requested a visit to the railway museum and the Khami ruins. We would recommend both. We were able to wander at will at the museum, climbing into some of the engines and carriages. Some were in a sad state, but Cecil Rhodes' personal coach was protected from the elements and merely dusty. Truly how the other half lived! On the other hand, the Khami ruins were a beautiful and spectacular reminder of how sophisticated the pre-colonial culture was in the area. Our guide throughout was an engaging and knowledgeable young man, the food at the lodge was beautifully presented and delicious, and all the other staff there were friendly and kind. We did not want to leave!

Meghan Warren   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2019 Reviewed: Aug 29, 2019

Email Meghan Warren  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The safari was exciting, informative, and adventurous.
Overall rating
5/5

The accommodations were fantastic..very comfortable. The guides were excellent, knowledgeable, and fun. The wildlife was amazing. It was great trip from start to finish.

Carole Capen   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2019 Reviewed: Aug 19, 2019

Email Carole Capen  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Great trip, sad country financially
Overall rating
5/5

We loved our trip to Zimbabwe. There is lots of wildlife, a little limited for the big five, but some others that were just as dgreat. The guldes were good and very knowledgable. We had great accommodations, but July can be a little cold - winter jackets would have been great for early morning and evening drives. If you go consider trying to make an impact on the economy.

Heidi   –  
Germany DE
Visited: March 2019 Reviewed: Mar 26, 2019

Email Heidi  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

An unforgettable experience
Overall rating
5/5

The journey was most impressing. Even I have traveled a lot in Africa and even lived there all was in a way new and exciting.
The tour guide was amazing and every thing was brilliant chosen - the sequence of the route, the lodges and hotels with the excellent food and transportation. Everything was going smooth with care of the group, every wish fulfilled to satisfaction, all in harmony - which was important for me - and the feeling of individuality was always present.
So I want to say thank you to Caroline for all her care and her lovely emotion.

Ole Moll   –  
Denmark DK
Visited: January 2019 Reviewed: Jan 23, 2019

Email Ole Moll  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

the guides were very skilled in pointing out the game
Overall rating
5/5

The wild life was amazing. The weather was fine. Transport was fine in Budlawayo and vic falls. Our guide was fantastic. Tongasai did pick us up personally in Budlawayo and drove us to the Nwange Lodge for over night stay.After the game the next day , he did drive us to Vic falls. On the way we discussed potential events in Vic falls. Tonagesai did suggest a lot of good events and helped us book these events even though we did arrive late . He also picked us up at the lodge in Vic falls the next day and drove us to the vic falls and back. Very good service

Kind Regards

Ole Moll

Joaquín Rivero   –  
Spain ES
Visited: August 2018 Reviewed: Dec 9, 2018

Email Joaquín Rivero  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Overall rating
5/5

Average User Rating

  • 4.5/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 50
  • 4 star 32
  • 3 star 8
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review