​User Reviews – Zimbabwe

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 32 Reviews
AT   –  
Singapore SG
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Sep 17, 2019

Email AT  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Absolute bliss
Overall rating
4/5

People were amazing... animals were surreal as there were herds of them! Lovely weather although it was very hot in the afternoon. Guide was very knowledgeable. Overall it was just heavenly!

Luke   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2019 Reviewed: Aug 13, 2019

Email Luke  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Wonderful experience, rough around the edges
Overall rating
4/5

My wife and I are Americans in our late 20s who spent a week in July 2019 in Victoria Falls and Hwange National Park.

Overall, we had a wonderful time. Everything was very safe, the people are quite friendly and helpful, and the wildlife and falls were spectacular. Travel here takes a bit of planning, however, as cash and fuel are in short supply and power cuts are somewhat frequent (twice during our stay). In this part of the country I wouldn't worry about safety, I would just make sure to make as many arrangements ahead of time as possible.

Richard   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: June 2019 Reviewed: Aug 5, 2019

Email Richard  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Victoria Falls spectacular. Helicopter views awesome
Overall rating
4/5

Victoria Falls spectacular. Our trip to Zimbabwe was limited to Victoria Falls. An enjoyable stay with good eating options. River cruise was excellent.

Tom Bullock   –  
Australia AU
Visited: September 2018 Reviewed: Oct 17, 2018

Email Tom Bullock  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

A walking safari was a first for us and gave a very different perspective of Hwange.
Overall rating
4/5

The numbers and diversity of the animals in Hwange was disappointing and definitely not comparable to the pre-independence period.
The bush camp was well organised and comfortable.
Our guide, Scott, was knowledgeable and interesting.
Unfortunately we hit a hot spell which made activities in the middle of the day difficult.

Fred and Deb   –  
Canada CA
Visited: December 2017 Reviewed: Feb 4, 2018

Email Fred and Deb  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Wonderful Experience, wonderful guide, wonderful staff, wonderful accommodation.
Overall rating
4/5

Everything we expected and more, especially our guide Leo who was extremely knowledgeable and accommodating. Weather was a bit wet, but it was the rainy season, and our guide was prepared. Food was great as was the camp staff.


Mary   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2017 Reviewed: Oct 22, 2017

Email Mary

Victoria Falls and safarias make Zimbabwe a wonderful vacation destination !We
Overall rating
4/5

We enjoyed very nice tour guides at Victoria Falls! We were there during the dry season, but Falls were still not to be missed! The weather was quite warm in September making the walking tour a challenge for my husband, but we were very comfortable in our accommodations at Stanley and Livingstone. The lodge itself was rather posh, with beautiful wood furnishings. Food was delicious with several choices each night and staff was very nice!

In Hwange, accommodations were not too opulent nor too rustic. We stayed at the Ivory Lodge. It had a safari “feel” with all needed amenities in our private building overlooking a watering hole. We sat on our deck to watch wild animals come out of the bush to drink. We felt as though the staff’s only priority was to be sure our needs were met and that we had a great time. It was not “just a job” to them. They went above and beyond. The camp director, Jamie is indeed a special hostess I hated to say goodbye to.
Safari guides shared their vast knowledge of the bush and wildlife with us. They tracked the animals and communicated with each other to give us the best viewing possible. We especially liked Jeb.
Food was very good and my special dietary needs have never been catered to as well as at The Ivory Lodge.
Everything was perfect, except we would have liked to have seen more cats. The bush however is not a zoo!

deasibeau   –  
Australia AU
Visited: August 2015 Reviewed: Dec 11, 2015

Email deasibeau  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

Although we saw quite a lot of wildlife, we did hope to see more but it seemed pretty quiet at the time we visited.

Jean.   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2015 Reviewed: Nov 23, 2015

Email Jean.

Overall rating
4/5

It seemed harder to find animals as we were driving around. We did see a lot at the two watering holes we went to.

www.wlasnadroga.pl   –  
Poland PL
Visited: September 2013 Reviewed: Aug 26, 2015

Email www.wlasnadroga.pl  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

For plus I can write that park is almost empty. You can trade the price because there is not so many people. But if you would like to see many different animals you can be disappointed. In Zimbabwe every park has something different, so you have to choosen what is interesting for you.

momathew   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2014 Reviewed: May 2, 2015

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

Mana has no dearth of wildlife, and it ticks all the boxes as a great safari destination

Average User Rating

  • 4.5/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 50
  • 4 star 32
  • 3 star 8
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review