​User Reviews – Botswana

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 351 Reviews
Skye Winslow   –  
Mauritius MU
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: Jun 23, 2024

Email Skye Winslow  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing wildlife - not just animals but also the birds!
Overall rating
5/5

We had no idea that a "budget" travel could in fact be so luxurious! We were two people with a full time staff of four -including an incredible guide and chef. We felt safe and secure and well looked after and it is a trip we will never forget. We were so close yet still a safe distance from elephants and rhinos! We had no idea how beautiful it would be -- especially the sun rises and sun sets. We highly recommend the trip!

Ross James Wilson   –  
Australia AU
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: Jun 3, 2024

Email Ross James Wilson  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Friendly people; wonderful wildlife; sadly drought stricken so dry rivers and significantly reduced
Overall rating
4/5

Botswana is a wonderful travel destination. The wildlife experience was top level with very knowledgeable guides. The people are very friendly. Our safari lodge was very nice. Unfortunately, we visited during a bad drought so we didn't see it at its best.

Emily L   –  
United States US
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: Jun 3, 2024

Email Emily L  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Chill vibes and lots of animals!
Overall rating
5/5

We did a 6-day safari in May 2024. The weather was great, warm during the day but not too chilly at night. We started in Maun and ended in Kasane, traveling through Moremi, Savuti and Chobe game parks, and included a Chobe River boat cruise - definitely do a boat cruise if you are interested in seeing birds and hippos and crocodiles up close. We saw so many animals including elephants, giraffes, hyena, wild dogs, hippos, lions, cheetah, leopards, jackals, zebras, baboons, vervet monkeys, warthogs, water buffalo, wildebeest, an ostrich (!!) and tons of different deer & antelope and birds. We used tour operator Tony's Mobile Safari out of Kasane and loved them. We camped in tents at night and got to listen to the mating calls of Impala. We loved the camaraderie of the different tour operators, who would share info on game sightings so each tour group got the chance to see the most animals and the jeeps would jockey around for best positioning when there was a group of lions enjoying a kill (for instance) so everyone got a good photo and viewing opportunity. Overall all the Botswana people we met were friendly and relaxed, which made for a great vacation.

We were 100% happy with choosing Botswana as a destination and would go back and do it all again.

Susanne   –  
Germany DE
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: May 29, 2024

Email Susanne  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Worth a visit and a return, but expensive.
Overall rating
5/5

We did two things in Botswana, a self-organized tour to the Tsodillo Hills and the Moremi Game Reserve with a rented 4x4 car and a tour with Kalahari Tours (3d/2n) to the Chobe NP. Both experiences were remarkable.
As Botswana is a wild but safe country, you can organize a tour yourself with care and good preparation. However, even in the low season, many campsites and rental cars were no longer available due to advance reservations. It seems common to do a reservation without turning it into a booking later. In fact, we hardly saw any other self-drivers. If you don't want to book early due to the unpredictable weather situation in the low season, it can be become difficult to get a space and/or a car.
We welcome the policy of reducing the amount of tourists traveling to Botswana by limiting space and rising prices , but it should be possible to explore the countries beauty on ones own.
We hope to come again and visit other parts of this fantastic country.

CJH   –  
Canada CA
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 24, 2024

Email CJH  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Easy, friendly Botswana
Overall rating
5/5

We entered at Kazungula border for a day in Chobe park. The experience was easy, the tour staff were friendly and helpful. Yes things did not run on time and we had to wait for other people to gather; but as they say, "this is Africa". Just relax and enjoy the scenery. Wish we could have stayed longer.

María   –  
Spain ES
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: May 15, 2024

Email María  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

In the middle of the nature
Overall rating
5/5

I went to Botswana with my sister and was amazing to be in their vast and perfectly well preserved national parks.
It is a priviledge to be with not many tourism in the middle of a beautiful and pristine nature, that belong to the animals and being and spectator of all that wild life.
Botswana are doing well, preserving its amazing natural heritage from the massive tourism.
We stayed in incredible and small lodges, saw a lot of natural life and unforgeatable countryside and all the guides and personnal were very profesional, knowleadge and kind.
Absolutamente worth the value for money

Anton Obser   –  
Germany DE
Visited: May 2024 Reviewed: May 13, 2024

Email Anton Obser  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The Land is very beauty
Overall rating
5/5

Top animals fewing.
Nice and friendly People.
Beutyful Country.

Bill Swan   –  
United States US
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: May 11, 2024

Email Bill Swan  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Raw African Beauty and Wildlife!
Overall rating
5/5

I have done several other safari’s, and Botswana is exactly what I’ve been looking for! Rustic bush experiences abound, and the people are beautiful and kind. I felt like we were out exploring nature, not driving around a big zoo. I would absolutely recommend Botswana to anyone who is looking for an up close and personal experience with the beauty of Africa’s nature and wildlife.

Jamie Lee   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: May 4, 2024

Email Jamie Lee  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Captivating
Overall rating
5/5

Did the chobe water safari and land, the beard of elephants close up were amazing. Lunch at the lodge was SUPERB! Recommended.

Alexander Valentin   –  
Germany DE
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 29, 2024

Email Alexander Valentin  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Much more exiting than Kruger Park in SA, less tourism, great hospitality, good access
Overall rating
5/5

Kim Wagner, Safari online was the perfect booker.
Ghoha Hill camp in Zavuti was just a disappointment with a lack of maintenance and refurbishment urgently needed! In contrary Kiri camp on Chiefs Island was exceptionally good, brand new and only could be recommended.

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 299
  • 4 star 45
  • 3 star 7
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review