​User Reviews – Kenya

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 998 Reviews
Emmanuel Hanssens   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Sep 10, 2019

Email Emmanuel Hanssens  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

We found a agency on Safaribookings and we have been scamed
Overall rating
1/5


WE FOUND A SAFARI ON SAFARIBOOKING BUT WE HAVE BEEN SCAMED. SAFARIBOOKING HAS DONE NOTHING TO HELP US AND DIDN'T TOOK THEIR RESPONSIBILITY. WE LOST OUR MONEY AND OUR TRIP TO KENYA. COMPLETE DISASTER!!

fangzhao   –  
China CN
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Aug 24, 2019

Email fangzhao  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The scene is beautiful,but the guide and the travel agency (Kenya walking)is cheater。
Overall rating
1/5

Just remember this name “kenya walking”,the travel agency has taken 8307 dollars from me ,but the driver said he has no money ,so he can't go to the park unless we pay another 3000dollars. we turn back to the travel office and the door is closed。we have go the policestation,but till now no response for it。It is a very bad experience。

Cornelia Meier   –  
Germany DE
Visited: August 2018 Reviewed: Sep 9, 2018

Email Cornelia Meier  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The most leaders are asolutely unreliable + the company dont keep promises!Get hurt by a guide
Overall rating
1/5

- The wildlife was absolutely various and we saw a lot of things.
- The food was most of the time great
- The accommodation was always perfect
- And our first guide was nice

BUT then we get a new guide. Ok we didnt get him, because Dan never arrrived and we didnt get any information about this, even when the hotel called him a lot of times. So we couldnt do the boattrip. The next day, we get a new guide. He was so terrible and drove his car badly. We asked him four times to drive a lit slower and to watch the streets (not his phone). When we finished lunch, we had to wait for him, because he wanted to talk and wait for other drivers. The restaurant was empty then, all the groups left the restaurant before us, even that we were the first group who was arriving in the locals and had to wait after lunch a half our extra for him.
He had just a normal car, so that we get in stuck in the safari. After that he was so nervous, that when I started to get in, he started to drive. (With my open door) -> so I get hurt and was falling on the ground. He was not nice after this and didnt ask me how I feel.

After we had also an disappointment with the company and Dan. Our first guide promised us, that Dan will help us with our camera, which we lost at the airport. Yes but noone came. We told the company about this promise and they told us, they called Dan in this moment and he will come now. But Dan didnt know about anything and was not willing to come. We told the company but they dont care.

So when they hadnt change our guide, I would give 5 Stars, but after our first guide everything was bad..... And honestly, with every other company you will see the wildlife. Choose someone else!!!!!!!!

Michael McCarty   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2017 Reviewed: Oct 12, 2017

Email Michael McCarty

Mis-informatiom
Overall rating
1/5

I wouldn't put a lot of trust in SafariBookings. They keep sending me these surveys to fill out on my trip to Kenya. I've never been to Kenya and Never had a tour with these folks. I'd steer clear of this outfit.

Meg   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 1, 2022

Email Meg  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amzing wildlife
Overall rating
2/5

I enjoyed my trip, but there are few things I must say.
Safaris are overbooked. We had 10 people in the van ( including driver). For people sitting in the back or front sit (next to the driver) it was difficult to enjoy the experience. It was too crowded, sometimes I couldn't even turn or stand up for the view. Missed quite a lot because of that. Bare in mind people in the van won't just let you see.They want to enjoy as well and they won't just sit and say 'your turn now'. Vans should be bigger or less crowded.
People here will give you a price after looking at you and judging how much money you have. Prices are visible only in supermarkets.
Be careful what you buy. Souvenirs often contain bone, skin or plant fragments that are illegal to bring back home.
If you decide to stay in Nairoibi, avoid city centre. It's overcrowded, easy to get mugged. I alsao have beed sexually harrased and called names for no reason. Racist.
Rubbish everywhere. It was heartbreaking to see so much plastic and other stuff along the road. Very bad for environment.
Avoid raw fruits and vegetables, eat only what's been cooked. You never know what kind of water they used to wash.
Food was often cold. We stopped for lunches on our way from one park to another and never had a hot meal. Easy to get food poisoning.
Be prepared to spend a lot of money for tipping people. Every little thing they do for you they will expect you to tip them, some will even tell you how much.
On the good side wildlife is amazing.
You see the same animal many times and still don't have enough.
Most of the parks are really big. You just keep driving.
I liked the fact that they are kept as natural as possible (no modern roads, few stops with actual toilets etc.) Gives you real wild experience.

Colin V Desouza   –  
United States US
Visited: February 2020 Reviewed: Mar 14, 2020

Email Colin V Desouza  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Masaai Mara Safari
Overall rating
2/5

Let’s start with the Mara Lodge 5***** lodge service and 3*** food
The pickup was seamless
The drive took 8.5 hours as we got stuck in Mud after entering very rough Terrain in the Mara and it’s a single lane hi way with numerous stops for random construction
Every tour driver stops to help the stranded driver
Nice when we got stuck but after three others got stuck it wasted 2-3 hours of day1
Unfortunately the roads were so bad that in no time my back was out of sync
The rest of the two days was at the wonderful lodge getting pampered by the staff as the only guest on the premises.
The ride back was equally long but after complaining a lot I was given the front seat
Also asked for a refund for the 2 Nd day entry which was given unwillingly
Take the LandRover or Jeeps DO NOT take the MINI VANS
They are uncomfortable unreliable and the drivers are a clique
Ensure you enter the park all 3 days as the charge is for 24 hr entry from first entry
This tour Co only entered the park in the first 24 hours and pocketed $80 USD for 7 passengers
Would not use them again

badblue   –  
Japan JP
Visited: January 2020 Reviewed: Feb 27, 2020

Email badblue  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

tour is good,but food and companyis bad
Overall rating
2/5

Amboseli is not so good.
It has many elephants ,but others are not so many.

And my tour company is really really the worth.
They told me that I could pay all of price by cresit card,but actually it could do for only deposit.
And they did not tell me the fee of cresit.

And they said water was included,but actually not.

And food was bad, There were always flies around the dishes.

The guide of the lake Nakuru and Amboseli was also the worst.
He was often late ,and could not find the wild animals.
And,when he took me the next place,he dropped off many times because he wanted to buy goods.
So, I have less time to see the wild animals.
I appreciate my tour mates because they could find more animals than his.

Richard Benjamin   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2018 Reviewed: Sep 25, 2018

Email Richard Benjamin  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Awesome National Parks and Wildlife
Overall rating
2/5

I spent one day in Nairobi, and that was enough. The city was crowed and overrun with litter. You couldn’t step out of your hotel without being set upon by several pushy men wanting to be your “ guide”. Traveling through the villages to the various parks and lake areas you saw the trash and liter everywhere. I realize it’s a poor country but picking up your trash doesn’t cost anything.
The parks and wildlife were completely different. Clean and it seemed, well guarded, the wildlife and scenery were amazing. We have always wanted to see the animals in their natural habitat and we weren’t disappointed. They were abundant and it was amazing to see them wander freely in their natural environment. The safari experience was everything we hoped it would be.

Kaushik Mitra   –  
India IN
Visited: July 2018 Reviewed: Aug 8, 2018

Email Kaushik Mitra  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Wildlife is a great host for the human guests.
Overall rating
2/5

Masai Mara, the name itself holds its own identity around the globe. It's a paradise for wildlife lovers. This was the very sentences which used to ring in my head before entering beautiful Kenya. And if I was to rate Kenya after my visit, on a scale of 5 then I would have given 6, leaving besides the bitter experience with our tour operator #tourkenyasafariheights, just because of them my rating would go down to 2.
Before travelling to Kenya, I and my friend searched on internet several times about tour operators conducting safaris. From them we shortlisted a few and ultimately finalized #tourkenyasafariheights. The agreed with the price us on all the criteria demanded by us without any terms and conditions.
It was a 6N7D tour which included as promised by #tourkenyasafariheights :
Day 1: Nairobi - Maasai Mara National Reserve

At 07:30 to 08:00, you will be picked up from your hotel and depart for the Maasai Mara National Reserve via the viewpoint of the Great Rift Valley and Narok Town for refueling and lunch. Afterward, you will proceed to the game reserve, arriving at the camp at 14:00. You will then have a little siesta and proceed on the first introduction game viewing at Maasai Mara National Reserve. You will return back to Masai ole moran

Day 2: Maasai Mara National Reserve

After breakfast, you will proceed on a full day game viewing within the reserve. The landscape is scenic savannah grassland on rolling hills. Maasai Mara National Reserve is the best park for game viewing in Kenya as it has an extensive road and track network which allows for close range viewing and photography. After the game viewing, you can have a break for your picnic lunch at the hippo pool, looking out for hippos and crocodiles. The dinner will be served and you will stay overnight at the Masai ole moran

Day 3: Maasai Mara National Reserve - Nakuru

Early in the morning, you will have a pre-breakfast game drive. After breakfast, you will depart the Mara Region for Nakuru and have lunch en-route with scenic views of Mount Longonot and Lake Naivasha from afar on the main highway. The dinner and overnight stay will at Flamingo Hill Camp

Day 4: Lake Nakuru National Park - Amboseli National Park

After breakfast, you will proceed on a game drive at Lake Nakuru National Park, known for its prolific birdlife including flamingoes. The park contains a sanctuary for the conservation of white rhinos while species like Cape buffalos and waterbucks can be seen near the shoreline. Afterward, you will drive to Amboseli National Park arriving late in the evening with game viewing en route to the camp. The dinner and overnight stay will be at Kibo Safari Camp

Day 5: Amboseli National Park

You will have a full day of game drives in this park which contains swampy grounds in which elephants and hippos bathe in abundance. A variety of plains game, antelopes, and birds can also be seen. You can also see Mount Kilimanjaro’s peak if weather conditions permit. Tour Kenya Safari Heights will cater for your picnic lunch before returning to Kibo Safari Camp



Day 6: Amboseli National Park - Nairobi

In the early morning, you will have a game viewing activity and then return to the LODGE for a full breakfast. Later on, you will be transferred back to Nairobi.


But, what was delivered to us was very different. Not a single pre-breakfast game drive was given to us and all the accommodations as promised by the #tourkenyasafariheights were changed. We used to stay @ about 45-30 mins distance from the main park entrance,because of which I felt time was wasted and I could have enjoyed more. Whereas the accommodations which were promised are very near to the entrance of the parks/inside the parks.
Everyday inbetween 2 parks the car driver of #tourkenyasafariheights would float new names of hotel in which they would provide accommodations for us. Which was really depressing and disturbing at the same time. Because of such uncertainties we failed to enjoy the beautiful scenery of the mountains and the lakes on our way.
Furthermore, I would like to mention that #tourkenyasafariheights had promised through messages on on our personal number. That #tourkenyasafariheights would provide lodging at a proper place for us at @Nairobi on the day we arrived and on the day we would depart. Which would be included in the package. It was very disappointing that on the day we arrived they provided accommodations for us @ hotel sunrise which is a pathetic hotel, location is not good. And on the day we arrived @Nairobi after completion of the tour , #tourkenyasafariheights refused to provide any accommodations which was further more disappointing in a foreign land.
Finally, I would suggest to tourists/travellers arriving 1st time. It is just because of the nature's own gift to the land that inspite of such irregularities I would suggest you to visit the place again and again. But be careful with such tour operators and ensure your bookings personally with the hotels which are promised initially by such tour operators.

Geoffrey Black   –  
Portugal PT
Visited: March 2020 Reviewed: Mar 20, 2020

Email Geoffrey Black  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

good animal viewing but roads and general environment poor
Overall rating
3/5

Wildlife - good viewing but most only visible on the roads, where they are almost "tame"
Guide was great. Indeed all Kenyans were nice to us.
Roads in the parks terrible limiting getting around and detracting from the pleasure of being there. A very rough ride!
Roads to get around also very crowded with terrible traffic jams, mainly due to large trucks.
Due to the inability to cross into Tanzania there were long drives to and from the parks, via Nairobi
Accommodations variable
Nairobi is a polluted crowded city with terrible traffic jams and no redeeming features
in terms of souvenirs, poor quality and very expensive with most not in ebony (although sold as ebony)

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 799
  • 4 star 172
  • 3 star 18
  • 2 star 5
  • 1 star 4
Write a User Review