​User Reviews – Kenya

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 1,005 Reviews
Monique Phipps   –  
Australia AU
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Feb 5, 2023

Email Monique Phipps  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Incredible nature and wildlife
Overall rating
5/5

Our trip to Kenya with my husband and 3 children (15,13,11) exceeded every expectation. The safari was amazing, we saw every animal up close. Our guide was brilliant and our accommodation was fabulous.
I can't recommend it highly enough.

Joe Goldiamond   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Feb 5, 2023

Email Joe Goldiamond  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Both Nairobi and the Wildlife Reserves are beautiful and fantastic.
Overall rating
5/5

We live in The Netherlands. My 21 year old son and I (father) went for two weeks, 1 week in Nairobi and the 2nd on Safari, to see 3 wildlife reserves. The people in Nairobi were very welcoming and very nice. In our hotel and everywhere else, everyone was very helpful. The city is beautiful and interesting.

The reserves were everything we were hoping for and more, especially Masai Mora. We had a very good driver / guide for our safari, which makes all the difference. Really fantastic to see the animals. Accommodations in Nairobi and during safari were all excellent. Food is good, and service is excellent. There is absolutely nothing I could say about our shared experience in Kenya - a real opportunity for some good ole father-son bonding - which would be less than laudatory. I intend to return soon!

Alan Willoner   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Feb 4, 2023

Email Alan Willoner  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Sunny
Overall rating
4/5

Good views of mount Kenya. Friendly people Nice weather. Good food

Hamza Douch   –  
Morocco MA
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Feb 4, 2023

Email Hamza Douch  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Best choice for a Safari in Africa
Overall rating
5/5

Best choice for a Safari in Africa
Safe country




Celia García   –  
Ecuador EC
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 30, 2023

Email Celia García  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Kenya is amazing, a combination of modernity and nature.
Overall rating
5/5

The whole tour was excellent, the safari in the Maasai Mara Reserve, the visit to Lake Naivasha and Nakuru National Park. It was a magical experience. Richard our guide, a very nice person, and he was always looking for us to see the best of these places.

Massimiliano   –  
Panama PA
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 27, 2023

Email Massimiliano  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Once in a lifetime experience into the wild savannah
Overall rating
5/5

I had booked a 3-days safari in Masai Mara through a website named "safaribookings" and I inquired a few options for Masai Mara, one of the best one seemed to be "Explorer Kenya".
Everything was well coordinated and our driver (Martin) pick up in Nairobi was extremely punctual and professional.
We enjoyed every minute of the journey and were lucky enough to spot all the big five within the end of the second day.
We stayed at the camp "Ashnil Mara" which was amazing. Meals and service was perfect. Only negative point was no internet connection in any area of the hotel during the first 1,5 days, then they had it fixed.
Nature was gorgeous and all the staff at the camp was simply amazing.
The commute from Nairobi to the camp is pretty long (some 6-7 hours) so be prepared. The 4x4 vehicle was comfortable and our driver/guide was very knowledgeable about wildlife including birds.
All in all, a fantastic experience to remember for the rest of my life.

Dominic Chan   –  
Canada CA
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Jan 27, 2023

Email Dominic Chan  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing friendly country with affordable options!
Overall rating
5/5

Kenya itself is an amazing country with so much to offer. While its big and you definitely need to plan how to get around, the country has so many friendly people. People are positive, full of smiles and helpful. They speak English very well. Staff are courteous and helpful and make me smile.

Kenya offers many. From beaches, hiking to safaris; anything is possible. I was able to book safari with safaribookings.com and they made the process so easy. I saw so many lions in Masai Mara on my birthday on Christmas Day. Then I booked a flight to Mombasa from Nairobi and the process was easy.

Safety is always important for me. I felt pretty safe throughout Kenya. However I don't advise wandering alone at night. Nothing happened to me but I would not trust walking alone at night anywhere in the world anyway.

Overall I would love to come back and see more of what Kenya offers. Its also very cheap so many of the foods and accommodations are very affordable.

Maria Correia   –  
Portugal PT
Visited: December 2022 Reviewed: Jan 25, 2023

Email Maria Correia  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Kenya is an excellent country for the beaches and wildlife.
Overall rating
5/5

We stayed at Baobab beach resort. The beach is great and there is a very good snorkeling spot just on the reef in front.You better take a boat (10 minutes) or you can hire one at the hotel and and on a few rows get there on the low tide.
The people on the beach trying to sell you things are a bit disturbing but always polite.
We had a bad experience on the beach booking a boat to take us to Wasini with "Captain Nemo". It was a fraud. He took us to a place where we were supposed to snorkel, but the current was very strong in the open sea. Afterwards we were take to an island where we ate a fried fish with rice. Not bad! We paid 260 dollars for four people and were told Wasini was private and had been closed.
The hotel is not luxury but the food is very good. The swimming pools are also great.We stayed in a garden view room, not very clean according to the european standards, but enough for the stay on the beach.
We booked luxury hotels for the safari The Cliff, Mara Entim and Tawi lodge 2 nights stay in each of them. The Cliff had a very nice clean room with a view, but a very cold dining room. Mara Entim had very good food and an extraordinary view.The best was Tawi lodge in Amboseli, a charming ambience and surroundings with a view of the Kilimanjaro.
Mufasa Tours organized the tailor made safari for us. It's a completely trustful agency always in touch with us when needed.The driver was very skilful to drive the 4x4 in difficult muddy terrain and extremely nice. The only problem was that on the day before our travel by train from Amboseli to Mombasa, the Madaraka express, we had to travel second class as we were told there were no first class tickets available for us. We booked this circuit 3 months in advance. I wonder what happened and why we were only informed of the fact 2 days before. The seats were terribly hard and very uncomfortable.We had 5 long hours until our destination, Mombasa before returning home.
We saw many animals,some with babies, the big five, the savanah was green and the sky with amazing clouds. No rain during the day.No safety problems at all.Overall it was a great travel.

Butch   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 25, 2023

Email Butch  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A simply outstanding safari experience
Overall rating
5/5

This was our first safari. André and the Spirit of Kenya safari team provided a great experience for our family. All transfers went as planned. Our hosts were very welcoming and extremely professional through the entire visit. Lodging at Amani Mara was superb and our safari driver was very knowledgeable and pleasant as well. Although our safari was only 3 days, we really enjoyed seeing so much wildlife up close from a Landcruiser. It was quite a sight to witness two lion prides feasting after their kills, along with many other animals large and small. Hippos, giraffes, cheetah, zebras, etc. January was not wildebeast migration season, but there was still plenty to see. The birding was also excellent. I highly recommend a safari to Maasai Mara in Kenya.

Bernard O'Kane   –  
Egypt EG
Visited: January 2023 Reviewed: Jan 24, 2023

Email Bernard O'Kane  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

great safari destination
Overall rating
5/5

Amboseli was wonderful for birds and Mara Masa for big cats.

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 805
  • 4 star 173
  • 3 star 18
  • 2 star 5
  • 1 star 4
Write a User Review