​User Reviews – Kenya

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 933 Reviews
Tony Laurenson   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Sep 26, 2022

Email Tony Laurenson  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Kenya is an amazing, must visit country with great people, wildlife safaris and sunny beaches.
Overall rating
5/5

Our Kenyan holiday included 7 days in a Mombasa Beach Resort and a 4-day of safari to Tsavo East and West. We stayed in Sarova Beach Resort which was excellent with comfortable rooms, superb restaurants and exceptional staff who provided a great service. Our safari trip was arranged through Indigo Safaris using Explorer Kenya as the local provider. Explorer Kenya and our excellent driver / guide, Douglas Mwaiko, provided us with a truly memorable safari experience. We saw the Big 5 and much, much more.

Kenya is an amazing country to visit. The tourist experience is fantastic with excellent Mombasa Beach Resorts and memorable safari experiences. The quality of facilities is excellent but, above all, the experience is made really special by the friendly local people who always strive to provide an excellent service. Even a Covid Mask cannot hide a Kenyan smile. Asante Sana, Kenya

Anthony Doppler   –  
France FR
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Sep 26, 2022

Email Anthony Doppler  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

peacefull , greenfull
Overall rating
5/5

We were 3 days in the Maasai mara Reserve, 2 days of safari and 1 morning to discover a typical Maasai village. We saw all the kenyan wildlife expect the Rhinoceros. Thank you Okoa for this experience, and thanks to our guide and driver. We will remember this trip for the rest of our life !

Marcela Perez Romo   –  
Mexico MX
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Sep 23, 2022

Email Marcela Perez Romo  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Magical!!
Overall rating
5/5

The safaris were amazing!! The conservation efforts Kenia is doing is really great and we saw cubs in all animals!! Our guide Joseph from Mufasa Tours was the best!! Extremely knowledgeable and looking for the animals, we saw the big 5!! The camps (The Cliff and Neptune Mara Riantra were amazing, great food, great personel, everything wow!!)
Would definitly recomend the trip!!

Jane   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 23, 2022

Email Jane  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

An all-round great place for a holiday. Wonderful coast, amazing safaris and delightful people.
Overall rating
5/5

The beaches are beautiful and hotels excellent. Perfect for families or couples. The people are very friendly and welcoming and the service is wonderful as is the food.
There is a choice of safari destinations, each one distinct and special in its own way. The Masai Mara stands out as the top safari destination with guaranteed sightings of everything except rhino. We had a wonderful safari driver, safe and very knowledgeable. The accommodation was very good too.
Naivasha can easily be visited for a couple of days, driving from Nairobi and offers more exciting sightings and activities such as Hells Gate National Park and Crescent Island where one can walk with giraffe, zebras and antelopes.
Nakuru has guaranteed rhino and some flamingoes.
Do your research: Use recommended local companies to support them and save money.

Nick S.   –  
Canada CA
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Sep 22, 2022

Email Nick S.  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing wildlife viewing experience
Overall rating
5/5

Our guide Eric showed us incredible animals all across the parks in the country. Recommended great additional activities and was very friendly. I was fortunate enough to see all of the big 5 as well as cheetahs in the hunt. Amazing trip.

Shanta Mukherjee   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Sep 19, 2022

Email Shanta Mukherjee

Fantastic
Overall rating
5/5

It was a wonderful safari which was booked through SafariBookings. Okoa was my Safari operator and it all went very well. To be honest, I was very sceptical regarding booking since there are too many options online and was confused about who to go with but it all worked out very well. Martin was our driver who is basically the main person besides the representative, Max, whom I met once after reaching Nairobi to make the full payment. Martin is an excellent guy whose knowledge about the whole Safari is excellent, so is his driving. I would highly recommend Okoa and Martin for the Safari. I went on a private Safari with my family and is really happy with the service. Kenya is amazing and the wildlife is something I didn't even imagine to be so exciting. Thank to Okoa for a memorable trip.

Baijayanta Banerjee   –  
India IN
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 19, 2022

Email Baijayanta Banerjee  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Budget trip to masaimara, lake nakuru and amboseli
Overall rating
5/5

KARIBU SAFARY IN KENYA MADE OUR TRIP A DREAM COME TRUE. It was amazingand pur little one loved it. The tour guides cum driver made it sure that everything was taken care of! Thank you Karibu Safary In Kenya!

Annelies   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 17, 2022

Email Annelies  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Fascinating, Beatiful and Friendly
Overall rating
5/5

We booked a 6 day safari for the family with Jocky Tours and then 5 days at the Flamboyant B&B in Diani Beach. The safari was excellent and Solomon our guide was a super-interesting and insightful person. He enriched our experience immeasurably.

Kenya is vibrant, different (for us Europeans) and very beautiful. We were there during the elections which added to our concerns before we travelled. In fact, passing through towns (in between Game Parks), was great and there was a lot of life on the streets and planty of very noisy trucks playing music and shouting slogans.

The people were universally friendly - however note that we didn't spend much time in the cities or in places off the tourist trail. I would love to explore more given more time.

The parks (Maasai Mara, Amboseli and Nakuru) were all excellent in their own way. We saw so much wildlife and, just as importantly, were able to get a strong feeling for what an exceptional environment the African bush and savannah are. Take your time to stop and just experience the silence and openness.

The Indian ocean was also wonderful - despite rain on some days. Our stay was super-relaxed and we couldn’t have been happier with the location and the people.

Kenya is a great destination.

Laurie Levy   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 16, 2022

Email Laurie Levy  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Amazing Memories safari
Overall rating
5/5

Four of us went on an 8 day safari with Amazing Memories. We visited Amboseli, Aberdare, Lake Nakuru, and Masai Mara. We elected o use a 4x4 vehicle, and were glad we did, as many of the roads were pretty bad and we encountered several stranded vehicles along the way. I exchanged several emails with Anne while planning the trip, and she was very prompt in replying and provided thoughtful suggestions to make sure we settled on exactly the trip we were hoping for. Our driver, David, was an incredibly skilled driver and a conscientious guide. We stayed at Kibo Safari Camp, The Ark Loodge, Sarova Lionhill Game Lodge, and Enkorok Mara Camp (a mixture of luxury tents and lodges). We were very pleased with all the accommodations. The staff at all 4 lodges went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and ensure that all our needs were met. In addition, we were happily surprised at what excellent food we had in all these places. I thought this itinerary was exceptional in the diversity of game it allowed us to see and also to see diverse landscapes in Kenya. We had no problem of any kind during this safari and felt very well looked after. I would recommend this itinerary and this company to anyone seeking to explore Kenya's game parks.

Clare   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 16, 2022

Email Clare  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Gorgeous wildlife and warm, fun people!
Overall rating
5/5

Go to Kenya if you get the chance! It was an incredible place and experience, I hope to be back ASAP. My group visited the Masai Mara, Aberdare National Park, and scuba dived off Wasini Island - the Mara had the most incredible biodiversity (birds, mammals, and reptiles) but all experiences were incredible. We found our safari through safaribookings.com and had a great experience - I've been recommending this method & site to everyone.

We went in August & the weather was easy - needed a mid-range sweater in the morning and then down to a tank with long sleeve later in the day. Not too hot but never super cold (definitely will want long sleeves though).

My recommendations - bring good binocs, a good camera, and wildlife identification books purchased at home - it's easier to find them before travelling and they're spendier in the country where you need them. You will be especially happy to have a good camera.

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 744
  • 4 star 163
  • 3 star 18
  • 2 star 4
  • 1 star 4
Write a User Review