​User Reviews – Lake Manyara NP

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 199 Reviews
bruges00   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: August 2008 Reviewed: May 3, 2011

Email bruges00  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

Great scenaries around the lake. Cats, giraffes and elephants easily spotted while they go to the lake to drink at evening or inside the vegetation on the way to the lake. Rich also of hippos, flamingos and many other species of birds. Sunset is great moment to go, lovely colours on the horizon. On the way to the park, one may think to make a stop in the Mtowambu village: Very interesting the guided tour aroiund the village, organised by local people and with provents going to local population. One day is in my view enough.

club60   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2010 Reviewed: May 9, 2011

50-65 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

It was our first stop so memorable for that. The elephants and flamingos are standouts here.

mrdiggler   –  
Germany DE
Visited: June 2011 Reviewed: Jul 15, 2011

Email mrdiggler  |  20-35 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

go and have a half-day excursion (hunting, "smoking") to the Hadzabe people!!

Dudley   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: June 2010 Reviewed: Jul 21, 2011

20-35 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

Lake Manyara was quieter than the other parks we went to in Tanzania. The bush vibe was more evident as a result. I really liked the terrain, which was far less open than the other reserves and led to a better chance of coming across animals unexpectedly, as we did with a group of elephants. It also has a great hippo pool.

Wildlife viewing wasn't quite as good as elsewhere, but in part that's down to luck. Had we seen a large cat or two it would probably have been my favourite of the parks.

Rita Gazdag   –  
Hungary HU
Visited: January 2009 Reviewed: Aug 4, 2011

Email Rita Gazdag  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

I enjoyed meeting with the Maasai people and talking to them in Swahili about their customs. They were so friendly that they took me to one of their very traditional programs.

billt4sf   –  
United States US
Visited: June 2011 Reviewed: Aug 7, 2011

Email billt4sf  |  50-65 years of age

Overall rating
2/5

Few animals, hard to see the flamongoes

gavathome   –  
New Zealand NZ
Visited: February 2011 Reviewed: Aug 8, 2011

Email gavathome  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
3/5

Very dry and dusty, also was very hot and uncomfortable. Would recommend going at a different time of year, we went in February.

Gary Strand   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2005 Reviewed: Aug 9, 2011

50-65 years of age

Overall rating
5/5

The flamingos and tree climbing lions!

Courtney Visited: May 2011 Reviewed: Aug 10, 2011

Overall rating
4/5

This was our first park. It seemed a little smaller than the others we visited but, it was much more lush. We observed a variety of baboon and monkeys here that we did not see elsewhere. Convenient to lodging and was not crowded at all. Great introduction. We stayed at Kirimuru Tents which was awesome!

Cookiebabe2 Visited: January 2011 Reviewed: Aug 15, 2011

Overall rating
5/5

Great for elephants, baboons and hippos!

Average User Rating

  • 4.1/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 81
  • 4 star 63
  • 3 star 46
  • 2 star 8
  • 1 star 1
Write a User Review