​User Reviews – Namibia

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 207 Reviews
Andrew J   –  
United States US
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: May 9, 2024

Email Andrew J  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

The raw beauty of the country is striking.
Overall rating
5/5

Doing a self-drive in this country is an experience like no other. It is the most rugged, desolate, and hauntingly beautiful place I have ever been. The dunes, the sea, the wind, the rock, the vast emptiness. We saw stars at night with clarity like nowhere else. One can't accurately capture the beauty of Namibia in words. We felt entirely safe and secure while on the road in our vehicle and the drives from city to city, park to park, were not too long, though the hours spent on gravel roads were wild! I expect Etosha National Park can't hold a candle to wildlife parks in other parts of Africa, but combined with time spent in the desert and at the coast, a trip to Namibia gives variety no where else could match.

Dave Manson   –  
South Africa ZA
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 30, 2024

Email Dave Manson  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

The most diverse scenery that still looks untouched by humans.
Overall rating
4/5

Arranged the Trip through Great Explorations. (Outstanding) Flew to Windhoek and hired a 4x4 from Namibia 2 Go. Drove down to Sesriem in the South where the magnificent red dunes then Deadvlei where the trees are frozen in time from a million years ago when the river dried up. Temperatures in the upper 20's Took the Spreetshoogte Pass on route to Solitaire and witnessed the Moonscape like surroundings. A sight to behold. Drove to Swakopmund through canyons and incredible scenery. Roads are quite rough so we welcomed the 4x4. Recommend that you do the Living Desert Tour in Swakop which was so informative. Cooler weather here low 20's The Namibia desert is the oldest desert in the world and holds many secrets. Then drove through the Skeleton Coast on tar and salt roads on the way to Damaraland. Visiting Palmwag and Twyfelfontein. Much warmer here in the mid 30's. Again amazing scenery. Then into Etosha for 4 nights. Don't expect the same type of accommodation or first world service in the park. The roads were in terrible condition perhaps due to a lot of rain about 2 weeks prior. This impacted on the game viewing experience as there was little need for the game to seek water at the waterholes. The waterholes at the camp were a highlight for evening viewing and are recommended. Weather early 30's. Good birding which helped with the lack of animals.
It would be great if The government controlled park could do more maintenance. We spent 4 days driving through large areas of the park and didn't see one grader working on the roads. We would like to revisit Namibia and do the South where Luderitz is and also far North if possible. Would probably give Etosha a miss.

Annie   –  
Tanzania TZ
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 15, 2024

Email Annie  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Beautiful country, people and nature!
Overall rating
5/5

We saw amazing sceneries, from deserts to ocean, from savanna to mountains, insane wildlife including rhinos fighting, leopards and all the expected animals and more! The roads were excellent, the lodges had character and luxury and the price tags were very reasonable! Can't wait to go back!

Jarmo Juhani Kuntamo   –  
Finland FI
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 25, 2024

Email Jarmo Juhani Kuntamo  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Nice trip with our driver with 6-Day Etosha, Swakopmund and Sossusvlei (Lodging)
Overall rating
4/5

Nice trip with our driver with 6-Day Etosha, Swakopmund and Sossusvlei (Lodging) 3-Days in Windhoek was nice also staying hotel hilton best was pool area

Panagiotis Giannopoulos   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 22, 2024

Email Panagiotis Giannopoulos  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellen
Overall rating
5/5

Incredible trip of 10 days all around Namibia. The travel agency organised everything and personalised it. All the lodges were excellent. Can't decide what was better, the dunes in Sossusvlei, or the wildlife in the North.

Aaron Roberts   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 20, 2024

Email Aaron Roberts  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Namibia was one of the most enchanting, fascinating, and beautiful countries I've ever been to!
Overall rating
5/5

My recent trip to Namibia was nothing short of extraordinary. From the moment I set foot in this captivating country, I was greeted by a landscape that seemed to stretch endlessly, offering a mesmerizing blend of natural wonders and cultural richness.

One of the highlights of my journey was the opportunity to witness Africa's magnificent wildlife in its natural habitat. Guided by the knowledgeable and charismatic Rudolf, every excursion into the wilderness felt like a chapter from a wildlife documentary come to life. From majestic lions prowling the savannah to graceful giraffes and elephants roaming the plains, every encounter left me in awe of the sheer diversity and beauty of Namibia's fauna.

The dunes of Sossusvlei painted a surreal picture against the canvas of the desert, while the rugged terrain of Damaraland offered a glimpse into the ancient history of this land. Whether it was the ethereal beauty of the Skeleton Coast or the serene tranquility of Etosha National Park, Namibia's landscapes never ceased to amaze me.

And then there were the sunsets! Words fail to capture the sheer magic of watching the sky set ablaze in a symphony of colors as the sun dipped below the horizon. Each evening felt like a celebration of nature's artistry

But perhaps the true gem of my Namibian adventure was my guide, Rudolf. His passion for his homeland was infectious, his knowledge boundless, and his commitment to ensuring an unforgettable experience for his guests unwavering. From sharing fascinating insights into Namibia's history and culture to regaling us with tales of his own adventures in the wilderness, Rudolf was more than just a guide – he was a friend, a mentor, and a source of endless inspiration.

I carry with me memories that will last a lifetime – memories of Africa's wildlife, its landscapes, its sunsets, and the remarkable people like Rudolf who make Namibia truly special.

Aris   –  
Cyprus CY
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Feb 16, 2024

Email Aris  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Wild, remote, exclusively for adventurous nature lovers...
Overall rating
5/5

From all the many things we worried about before booking our Namibia trip that potentially could go wrong, nothing did! I think that must my starting point of my review. We didn't get sick, we had no road accident (not one flat tyre in 4000 km of road trip), we had excellent accommodation everywhere we went, we saw amazing landscape and wildlife that photos cannot do justice. We went on adventure tours that were value for money.
Safari Bookings connected us with Lilly of Great Explorations Travel Agency. I cannot praise Lily enough. She booked our car, the accommodation from every night in 10 different locations (we spent a total of 15 nights all over Namibia) and also booked in advance for us most of the adventure activities (safaris, hot air ballon, canoeing with sea lions, 4X4 dune driving etc). Everything worked out better than we hoped.

Herbert Tai   –  
Hong Kong HK
Visited: December 2023 Reviewed: Jan 17, 2024

Email Herbert Tai  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Exceed expectation, will definitely visit again!
Overall rating
5/5

If you are from urban area, you can never imagine there is a place like Namibia in the world.
Animals and breathtaking sceneries everywhere!
Comfortable lodges and good food make sure you can also take a good break.
People in this country are also very nice!

Kate Branagh   –  
Spain ES
Visited: January 2024 Reviewed: Jan 13, 2024

Email Kate Branagh  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Amazing scenery, fabulous space, friendly people, a great experience
Overall rating
5/5

Loved the remoteness, the wild scenery, the endless space and the adventures of traveling around the country and seeing the changing environments. I would highly recommend Namibia as a destination for a self drive safari.

Javier Jerez   –  
Spain ES
Visited: August 2023 Reviewed: Jan 7, 2024

Email Javier Jerez  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Best trip ever
Overall rating
5/5

Our decision to explore Namibia stemmed from its reputation for impressive and remote landscapes. Little did we anticipate the extraordinary warmth and hospitality of the Namibian people, adding a distinctive layer to our travel experience.

Engaging the services of Great Explorations Namibia, we were assisted by Anja van Neel, who demonstrated exceptional proficiency. The entire experience, from meticulously planned routes to budget considerations and hotel selections, showcased a commitment to excellence. This was particularly appreciated as first-time travelers to Africa, navigating an unfamiliar environment.

Our two-week itinerary, centered around hotel accommodations instead of camps, allowed us to appreciate Namibia's unique charm. Notable places such as Sossusvlei's towering red dunes, the otherworldly landscapes of Deadvlei, and the wildlife-rich Etosha National Park enriched our journey.

In summary, our experience was nothing short of stellar, and we eagerly anticipate a return visit. Our unequivocal recommendation stands at 100%.

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 168
  • 4 star 31
  • 3 star 6
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review