​User Reviews – Namibia

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 174 Reviews
Pedro A. E. Duarte   –  
Portugal PT
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 19, 2022

Email Pedro A. E. Duarte  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Namíbia Is the most civilized country and also one of the most beatifull from the ones i know.
Overall rating
4/5

Namibia is a country with very beautiful landscapes.
It is also a country with excellent natural parks where we can observe its abundant fauna and flora.
all this in a country with a very friendly, civilized and welcoming population.

Dharmendra   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Nov 8, 2022

Email Dharmendra  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Spectacular landscapes, desert and empty roads
Overall rating
5/5

Spectacular landscapes, desert and empty roads
Definitely recommend as landscapes change when you move around
Seen plenty of orynx
lovely tour and great itinerary

Pauline   –  
United States US
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 13, 2022

Email Pauline  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Spectacular
Overall rating
5/5

We choose to visit Southern Namibia including the Kalahari Desert, Fish River Canyon, Kolemanskop, Luderitz, the colossal dunes of Sossusvlei. Swakopmund, Spitzkoppe and Windhoek. Each destination offered great scenery, wildlife, beautiful landscapes and wonderful experiences. Our private guided tour was expertly organized by Indigo Safaris of London. We had the best and most personable driver/guide assigned by their Namibian partner agency Namvic.

Phil Atkinson   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 4, 2022

Email Phil Atkinson  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

A wonderful few weeks in an extraordinary country. We will be back as much more to see
Overall rating
5/5

We booked very late really, early August but our tour organiser, Lilly of Great Explorations Namibia, pulled out all the stops to ensure we had our agreed car and accommodation which was great. Time is always an issue with trips as there is way too much to see so compromise has to be part of the trip. I have written this in the order that we drove around Namibia rather than by favourites.

The weather we experienced was varied, it was still winter so cold at night and in the morning inland but temperatures hitting 30C+ by mid morning. We felt safe everywhere although you need to be sensible and follow the same precautions you would at home or any other European City that I have been to.

We started with a quick overnight stay on the edge of the Kalahari, a great introduction. Even from that first night, we had sightings of assorted antelope, baboon, huge numbers of birds which was great.

We then drove across to Sesriem in the Namib desert. An interesting introduction to Namibia’s roads but great fun too. During our stay at Sesriem we had a early morning hot air balloon flight over the mountains and dunes, it was absolutely amazing, well worth the cost. We also walked on the dunes and visited Deadvlei, an unreal and almost spiritual location, early morning is best as it gets very hot later.

Our next stopover was Swakopmund, much cooler as it’s by the Atlantic. Great town, lots to see, very good restaurants and opportunities for many experiences. We did a 4x4 trip across the dunes to Sandwich Harbour, it was a combination of history, eco awareness and some amazing driving between the dunes and the sea as well as hurtling up and down them too. Surprised at the extent of the wildlife we saw on the trip too. A kayak trip around Pelican Point was ace, mobbed by curious Cape Fur seals and overseen by flamingoes and pelicans.

After a few days we drove up to Twyfelfontein through some eerily awesome scenery. We started by driving north along the Skeleton Coast with its shipwrecks and dunes then up into the high mountains through an area a bit like Monument Valley in my mind. Again, despite the barren nature of the countryside we saw lots of antelope, Oryx in particular, elephants, giraffe and birds aplenty. We had time to chill here, do some walking and exercise as well as go on a game drive along the Huab river to find desert adapted giraffe and elephants, which we did. There is a lot of art and history in this area along with odd geological features.

We then had a few days south of Etosha which were great. Plenty of game, great food, friendly locals and great views to enjoy. The bird life, especially birds of prey, was almost overwhelming and we saw zebra, elephant and giraffe regularly plus all of the local antelope including kudu, springbok, oryx to name but a few.

Etosha National Park was the highlight though. Self driving whilst viewing lion, giraffe, elephant, white and black rhino, and a multitude of plains game was amazing. We saw, at close quarters, a herd of 25 elephant walking across the road just metres from our car bonnet, two black rhino, a cheetah and her cubs as well as lions feeding on baby rhino. The bird life was prolific, many that I had never seen in my life. This whole experience was further boosted by night time visits to the floodlit waterholes at Okaukuejo and Halali, both within the Etosha NP. Staying in the park was fantastic as you could be on the road by around 7:00am until 7:00pm if you so desired. We spent four days in and around the park, amazing and relatively inexpensive.

On the way back to Windhoek we spent a few days at Okonjima Plains Camp, home of the Africat Foundation. We learnt about the problems of the overlaps between man and wildlife and also about the educational work being done with local people, fascinating. Also saw some more cheetah and had a very close encounter with a leopard, magnificent, before going for some self guided walks in the bush.

On top of all of that it was fascinating to learn about the history and customs of the different tribes in Namibia, the ecology of the place and last but not least, spend time in some of the most amazing and varied countryside that I have ever seen. One of the best trips of my life during which we drove over 3,000km in 17 days over dirt and gravel roads but it was a fantastic experience, capped by nice people, good food, beer and wine and just a great feeling.

Richard Boyle   –  
New Zealand NZ
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 16, 2022

Email Richard Boyle  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Camping Safari around Namibia 2022
Overall rating
5/5

I booked a 12 day camping Safari around Namibia with Chameleon which was an excellent experience as the unknown group of 10 people from around the globe, all joined in together to make it an excellent memory for all.
The group was made of myself from New Zealand, a couple from Denmark, a family from France, a father and daughter from California and a single german.
Due to the time of year the weather was a pleasant warm temperature in the day time but at night in the tents the temperature dropped down to freezing which many had not expected but all survived.
The trip left Windhoek and headed north for our first night Okonjima Reserve where we were able to view three rescued chetah. We then moved onto Etosha.
This not being my first visit to Africa I was not expecting to rave about Etosha but now having been there to view game I would highly recommend this Game Park. Especially at night where you are not allowed to do night game drives, but in Okaukuejo Camp you are able to view game at the water hole any time at night as the water hole is well illuminated. Rhinos, elephants Giraffe, Zebra and lions are not unexpected.
The Skeleton coast was next on the trip and was as wild as expected with wonderful views and great feeling of remoteness.
At Cape Cross the seals which were plentiful but the stench was almost unbearable for some of the more sensitive souls.
I personnel did not warm to Swakomund although I did mange to locate an excellent source of Biltong at an excellent butcher in the town. The town museum is well worth a visit.
Sesreim was a real treat as we went and climbed the famous sand dunes which are absolute must to do, even if there are millions of other visitors as well.
Aus was a place of stunning sunsets and the launch off point to visit Luderitz and Fish Canyon a must see site on the trip.
The trip is for the hardy as there is a lot of driving but well worth it to receive an excellent taste of Namibia. The roads were in the main excellent so we were able to complete long distances.
Windhoek is the starting off and end of the trip where there are some excellent shopping for souvenirs and clothes.

Aparecida Kawamoto   –  
Germany DE
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Sep 13, 2022

Email Aparecida Kawamoto  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

It is a country with spetacular nature, very rich in wild life and friendly people.
Overall rating
5/5

The visit to Namibia was really a great experience. The wild life is amazing. The variety of animals that we could see was very astonishing and exceed our expectation. Travelling from Twyfelfontein to Swakopmund we could feel the drastic temperature change from 35oC to 15oC. The tour to the Living desert and to the Boat tour was excelent although with cold temperature. The highllights of our visit was the game drives at Etosha and the visit to Sossusvlei with its gorgeous red sand dunes. We were surprised to see how clean is the country during our whole traveling. Aside the roads there was no pollution left by human. Flollowing the advices from our guide, we felt very safe. We are very happy with our visit to Namibia. The tour operator was very efficient and our guide was excellent.

Dr Alecia Blackwood   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2017 Reviewed: Apr 20, 2020

Email Dr Alecia Blackwood

Wonderful Experience!
Overall rating
5/5

The scenery was beautiful and the accommodations were exquisite in the Nambia desert regions.

Anne Mbugua   –  
Tanzania TZ
Visited: March 2020 Reviewed: Apr 12, 2020

Email Anne Mbugua  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Amazing safari.....totally enjoyed it. Awesome country!!Loved
Overall rating
5/5

Lovely scenery with a lot of wild life and the weather was great. Most memorable accommodation with super cooking. Transportation was top notch, guide was knowledgeable and very professional. l would definitely return for another visit anytime.

Bob   –  
Canada CA
Visited: March 2020 Reviewed: Mar 26, 2020

Email Bob  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

A wonderfully interesting destination with lots of variety.
Overall rating
5/5

We spent a wonderful 10 days in Namibia with an outstanding guide (Lucky) The tour was organized by Nature Travel Namibia and the staff were responsive and helpful.

We managed to see a lot of game at the Erindi Game Reserve, including some more unusual species such as wild dog. Our visit to two organizations focusing on conservation (Naankuse Foundation outside Windhoek and Rare and Endangered Species Trust near Outjo) were highlights, especially REST's work with endangered pangolins. Our Living Desert tour near Swakopmund was fascinating as we were introduced to creatures living with no evident source of water.

The geographic features of Namibia are stunning, including the Brandberg mountains (and the fascinating cave paintings) and the red sand dunes of Sossusvlei.

Lodges and food were of a high quality. The people we encountered were welcoming and helpful. It was a wonderful experience and good value.

Constantin May   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: March 2020 Reviewed: Feb 23, 2020

Email Constantin May  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Great Tour with very friendly and attentive guide
Overall rating
5/5

Based on the experience I made during a 3-day camp trip to Etosha, I would recommend this tour operator.
Tour guide Saari did an amazing job!

Average User Rating

  • 4.7/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 137
  • 4 star 29
  • 3 star 6
  • 2 star 2
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review