Cookie Settings

By clicking ‘Accept’ you agree that we use Analytical cookies for gathering information about how our website is used, as well as Advertising and social media cookies (including cookies from trusted partners) to personalize our advertising campaigns and to allow you to share on social media. About our use of cookies

Manage Cookie Settings

Please select which cookies you would like to keep switched on. Open a list of all cookies

Below you can decide which type of cookies you would like to keep switched on. Open a list of all cookies


Functional cookies

Functional cookies are essential to using our website and cannot be switched off. These cookies do not contain personal information and are not used for analytical or advertising purposes. Show Hide description

Analytical cookies (anonymous)

Analytical cookies gather anonymous information about how our website is used. The information collected does not contain personal information, cannot be traced back to you, and is not used for advertising purposes. Show Hide description

Advertising and social media cookies

Advertising and social media cookies (including cookies from trusted partners) enable us to personalize our advertising campaigns, and enable you to share on social media. Show Hide description

Safari Reviews

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 71,739 Reviews
Erik Altink   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: May 2009 Reviewed: Jan 12, 2011

20-35 years of age

About: Tanzania
Review about Tanzania by Erik Altink
Overall rating
5/5

Tanzania is a large country with a lot of beautiful scenery. Every park has it\'s own characteristics and is worth a visit. While many species can be found in multiple parks, combining multiple parks is a great way to see the animals in different surroundings. Arusha National Park has a different climat compared to Serengeti National Park but both are awesome.

James and Jess ingham   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: January 2011 Reviewed: Feb 7, 2011

35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Samburu and matemwe
5/5

After some trepidation we agreed to take Rose's advice and went to Saruni samburu for our first ever safari and a much needed holiday, we were right to trust her knowledge as the lodge offered the perfect mix of wild remote game viewing and luxury. We followed it with a week at matemwe on Zanzibar which was also heaven.

levi schouten   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: February 2009 Reviewed: Feb 20, 2011

35-50 years of age

astonishing
Overall rating
4/5

7 day trip, good guide, good accomodations, good travel partner. Saw 4 of the big 5.
We did a 2day trip through a special gamereserve. There where the most beautifull encounters with wildlife.

Purplebuggy   –  
Australia AU
Visited: February 2011 Reviewed: Feb 22, 2011

South Africa is so amazing, I ended up never wanting to leave... so I haven't!
Overall rating
5/5

I first travelled to South Africa over New Years 2008/9, I loved it so much it was only 8 months before I was back and then I've stayed here (in various Game Reserves) since Dec 09.
My experiences vary -
I initially did a short trip through the country: Game Drives, cultural tours, (a bit of partying), visiting the sites. I visited most of the National Parks on the East side of the country and would say my highlights were Addo, Cintsa (Buckanners Backpackers) and Cape Town.
My next trip started in South Africa but was an overland trip through Southern and Eastern Africa, South Africa didn't feature too heavily but I did manage to get to The Cape of Good Hope which, even in bad weather, is still definately worth the trip. My advice for Tabe Mountain - get there as EARLY as possible, the crowds alone is the main reason but if the wind is high enough, the close the cable cars. (Take the double decker bus too - it's cheap and you get a tour all over the city and surrounds)
Since I've been back I've now experienced a variety of volunteer programmes. You'll find these vary in facilities, organisation, tasks, activities and what's included. I can say I've gotten a mix of everything. I have specifically vounteered in the wildlife area but some of this will be relevant for any area.
If you're interested in volunteering, ask what facilities the place has, we have so many people now that "expect" things and you simply have to say that you're in the bush, you're lucky to get a lot of what we do provide! Some places might vary in terms of hot water, electricty, how many people to a room, food situation (very important for me being a vegetarian!), vehicles.
In terms of what you'll be doing, don't volunteer if you're just looking for a cheap safari - volunteering means that although you get so much more of an experience than a lodge guest (you'll learn more, spend more time, get to know specific animals and not be as stressed to "tick off your list") you do need to give a bit in return. Enjoy what you're doing though - you'll learn so much more by being enthusiasic about helping out (and usually get better opportunities out of it as well - staff are always more willing to help out a great volunteer rather than one who's not)
Some places will say what's included but be aware, some may still "forget" to mention that the price only partially covers extras like excursions. Kruger trips would be a big example. Many don't mention that you will have to pay the conservation fee out of your pocket in addition to whatever they have said.
Most importantly though, have fun when you're volunteering - meet new people and get to know the locals more than you would normally.

George P, London   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: January 2003 Reviewed: May 2, 2011

35-50 years of age

Review about Skeleton Coast National Park by George P, London
Overall rating
4/5

Hard work - big miles and not much changes as you travel - but it's worth the effort. You feel remote. It's an imposing coastline.

George P, London   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: January 2003 Reviewed: May 2, 2011

35-50 years of age

Review about Etosha National Park by George P, London
Overall rating
5/5

It feels wild. Not too many other people about. You can drive yourself if you want. Affordable.

George P, London   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: January 2003 Reviewed: May 2, 2011

35-50 years of age

About: Namibia
Unexpected, unusual, unbelievable, unforgetable
Overall rating
5/5

I had no preconceptions about Namibia - I'd always been interested in the sand and the desert elephants and Skeleton coast and i thought I'd visit this place called Etosha but having been to Kruger just a month beforehand I expected little - especially as it was salt flats and not what I considered t be 'bushland'. What did i know? How wrong was I?! Etosha was incredible. We sat in the car just yards from lions for an hour. We saw hundreds of zebra. There were hyena and ostrich and warthogs and rhino and just about everything you wanted to see. In just two or three days we'd seen hundreds of animals in a very relaxed atmosphere - very little traffic on Etosha's 'roads' (it's basic but it's great for that reason). Outside the park though we saw giraffe 'wild' just wandering about the desert. Sadly we never found the desert elephants but the Skeleton Coast had huge seal colonies (man, they smell!) and the vast sand dunes of Sossuvlei are just unreal - I paid $100 for a sunset flight in a small plane and it was totally unforgetable. Namibia isn't as polished as some locations but that's its appeal for me. Just a stunning and unruined country.

ticktock01   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2007 Reviewed: May 3, 2011

50-65 years of age

Between the Masai people and the wonderful herds of elephants, the most interesting place on earth.
Overall rating
5/5

We spent 2 days at Amboseli, as part of a 9 day safari with Wildlife Kenya Safaris.
We visited other parks including Tsavo, Lake Nakuru, Mara and Mt. Kenya.
I believe Amboseli was my favorite because of our fascinating visit with the Masai tribe that lived there and the huge herds of elephants that went walking past our van on a regular basis. Seeing 30 or 40 elephants march within a few yards of our van was an incredible experience. Galdessa at Tsavo East was the most luxurious of the camps we stayed in. A beautiful place. We traveled to Kenya at the end of June into the beginning of July. The weather was for the most part, very pleasant. We had very little rain. The food in most of the places we stayed was satisfactory, but by no means gourmet. The food at the Serena Mountain Lodge at Mt. Kenya was the best.
I would highly recommend a safari with Wildlife Kenya Safaris. This was a very well organized, stress free holiday. Sammy (our driver) picked us up from the airport in Nairobi and was incredible. He was trustworthy, reliable, knowledgeable, and a very experienced driver on the very difficult roads. He also had the most incredible eye for spotting animals that were well camouflaged and often miles into the distance.
Overall the safari with Wildlife Kenya exceeded our expectations. I would not hesitate to book with them again.

Thank you for such an amazing experience, I would highly recommend both Wildlife Kenya Safaris and Sammy to anyone interested in travelling to Africa.









The entire trip was a perfectly organised, stress free holiday. Sammy (our driver) picked us up from the airport and was incredible. He was trustworthy, reliable, knowledgeable, and a very experienced driver on the very difficult roads. He also had the most incredible eye for spotting animals that were well camouflaged and often miles into the distance.

The accommodation recommended by the company were all excellent, and exceeded our expectations, especially Galdessa in Tsavo East.

ticktock01   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2007 Reviewed: May 3, 2011

50-65 years of age

Review about Masai Mara National Reserve by ticktock01
Overall rating
5/5

Greater variety of wildlife than any of the other parks we visited. Many lions.

ticktock01   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2007 Reviewed: May 3, 2011

50-65 years of age

Review about Lake Nakuru National Park by ticktock01
Overall rating
3/5

A little too civilized. Lots of Flamingos and Rhinos. Some giraffes, but not as great a variety as other parks.

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5

Rating Breakdown

Write a User Review