​User Reviews – Uganda

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 268 Reviews
Pamella Carvalho   –  
France FR
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 22, 2022

Email Pamella Carvalho  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

It's very different and a special place.
Overall rating
5/5

We went to Murchison Park and it was a amazing experience. We saw a lot of animals. Ors guide was very kind.

Reginald Leyssens   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: November 2022 Reviewed: Nov 20, 2022

Email Reginald Leyssens  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

AMAZING
Overall rating
5/5

Wonderfull country I recommand it Very safe A lot of wildlife

Ferdi Florijn   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: October 2022 Reviewed: Oct 17, 2022

Email Ferdi Florijn

nice green
Overall rating
5/5

It was a long way but with nice country musik from afrika and europe was the tripp relax. Ab(...... )our driver was excellent he told a lot about the culture animals and politic and other things

Mia Kontnik   –  
United States US
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Oct 14, 2022

Email Mia Kontnik

Fantastic wildlife and great hospitality!
Overall rating
5/5

We had a fantastic trip and really enjoyed seeing all the wildlife. Seeing chimpanzees, gorillas, lions, leopards, and elephants were some highlights, but all the other animals and birds were also incredible. We experienced lovely hospitality throughout our vacation!

Simon Ward   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2022 Reviewed: Oct 7, 2022

Email Simon Ward  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Gorillas and Chimpanzees
Overall rating
5/5

A good destination for Gorilla and chimpanzee trekking has the experience was a lot better than expected and the parks were well managed has not to get overrun and the people were warm and friendly throughout and Bamboo Ecotours made this a very memorable trip. For birders we recommend a trip to Mabamba swamp Lake Victoria to see the shoebill storks and plentiful bird life.

PI   –  
Germany DE
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 19, 2022

Email PI  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Enlightening, surprisingly safe, amazing nature and kind people.
Overall rating
5/5

Travelling in dry August was a great decision, no mosquitos!, still green savanna and animals everywhere to see. The accommodations, although partly on budget, were clean, safe and offered delicious food. Every person we met was kind and happy to help. When travelling on the boat, it was always rewarding if sitting on the side, closer to the river bank. But the most important thing was to have a great driver/guide, who is experienced, knowledgeable and flexible. He made our adventure above all expectations.

Padraig   –  
Ireland IE
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 18, 2022

Email Padraig  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Uganda is without doubt an experience you will never forget and never want too.
Overall rating
5/5

An overall wonderful experience filled with friendly helpful people, never forget wildlife and scenery which will leave you breathless. Whether it is the falls at Muchison NP, do the hike it is so worth it or the Chimps of Kibale or the Gorillas of Bwindi you will have memories to cherish for the rest of your life. Your greatest challenge will be trying to keep up. And that is only a glimpse of what could await you in this adventure.
Bring dollars in large bills ($50 or $100) as you get a better exchange rate for local currency. Charging can be challenging in the more remote lodges so bring power banks fully charged if you can. Always carry your passport as many parks will look for it or at least the number of it.
Always eat a good breakfast, you will need it!!!!! Bring a mask to see the chimps and the Gorillas, for their safety not yours!!! Enjoy lots of the local fruits, it is excellent. Buy Ugandan coffee, I did, and it is excellent.
Whether your thing is Elephants or Giraffes or Hippos or Lions you will see them all. I saw more butterflies that I have ever seen in the most beautiful colors and to many little birds to even count never mind name.
No matter your expectations you will not be disappointed.

Panagiota Marouli   –  
Greece GR
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Sep 2, 2022

Email Panagiota Marouli  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Unspoiled and true Africa!
Overall rating
5/5

We went on a tour with Home to Africa that was custom made for us and loved everything about it. Very professional agency from start to end. It is funny how pick season in Uganda means hardly any tourist vehicles around you! We only got to see other tourist cars when visiting Ishasha for the tree climbing lions, and next at the gorilla trekking and that was it.
So we had a lush country to roam like we were the only foreigners in it, winding red dirt roads fenced by dense nature being my favorite. On day one we saw almost every animal there (elephants, water buffaloes, impalas, zebras, birds etc). Queen Elizabeth National Park is home to great numbers of animals and one is sure to spot them very soon into their safari. I particularly loved the misty mountains and the gorilla trekking activity in Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. A short but intense adventure that still respects and protects the amazing gorillas.
Lake Bunyonyi is definitely worth a stop over, very serene and picturesque.
Food was excellent (loved rolex!!), no stomach issues although tap water is to be avoided. The weather varied depending on the itinerary, it was hot in the savanna but quite cold up in the misty mountains so t-shirs and fleeces would all serve well. Changing money to local currency is not very easy so you best change at the airport (we tried changing at a bank and they refused saying they would only change 50usd bill or higher!).
Throughout our trip we passed villages and towns, saw up and close the daily routine of the locals and got to meet some of the most polite, welcoming and attentive people I have met in my life. It blows my mind to see what they call "ordinary day" as opposed to what I do. Like when we were escorted to our bungalow and the guide casually directed his flashlight to a herd of implalas that was like 3m away, like right there, resting in the dark among men, feeling safer than the open savanna! The herd was so quiet and it was so dark that we never would've noticed it if he hadn't shown them to us!
Man and nature can co exist in harmony and that is something we need to think of and try to practice more. And this is why I keep returning to Africa.

Ken   –  
Canada CA
Visited: July 2022 Reviewed: Sep 1, 2022

Email Ken  |  65+ years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

19 aewsome days in Uganda
Overall rating
5/5

Very scenic country. Lots of cultural experiences to be had

Arlette   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: August 2022 Reviewed: Aug 26, 2022

Email Arlette  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Amazing Safari
Overall rating
5/5

The Murchison Falls National Park is just amazing. We had the chance to see the big Five (lion, leopard, elephant, buffalo and hippo). On our way to the park, we've made a stop at Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary as well.

The Murchison Falls are just breathtaking. It's a must see if you travel to Uganda.

Average User Rating

  • 4.7/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 202
  • 4 star 59
  • 3 star 6
  • 2 star 1
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review