​User Reviews – Zimbabwe

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 32 Reviews
tidingstendai   –  
Namibia NA
Visited: May 2011 Reviewed: Jun 23, 2011

Email tidingstendai  |  35-50 years of age

Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe is one of the greatest world destinations for the discerning tourist.
Overall rating
4/5

Zimbabwe remains beset with a myriad of political challenges. It is however a pure heaven experience to a descerning tourist. The ease of US$ currency usage is more than satisfying. By all measures Victoria Falls offers international interaction and unmatched quality of experience. So many activities complement one's experience ranging from the famous 111M Bunji to elephant rides. Scenery is as if God had extra time for creativeness at the panoramic views of Victoria Falls area and the suroundings.

Gil Aegerter   –  
United States US
Visited: July 2008 Reviewed: Jul 16, 2011

50-65 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

Zim has some fantastic spots, Matusadona, Hwange, Mana Pools, Chimanimani. Some Americans, used to the advertising of a Kenyan or Tanzanian safari, might be a little disappointed, but the connoisseur will be rewarded.

Pietro Pecco   –  
Italy IT
Visited: January 2005 Reviewed: Sep 1, 2011

Email Pietro Pecco  |  35-50 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

One of the best destination in Africa for the nature

Alexander Bramly   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2010 Reviewed: Sep 21, 2011

20-35 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

Parks such as Mana Pools in the north provide a unique experience to be able to experience the bush by foot whilst the superbly run Hwange demonstrates that preservation of such large areas of bushland can be done effectively.

Sydney Girl Visited: February 2005 Reviewed: Sep 21, 2011

Beautiful Scenery, Enchanting Wildlife, Friendly People
Overall rating
4/5

I traveled to Zimbabwe as part of a 6 week safari from Nairobi to Johannesburg. My week in Zimbabwe was one of the absolute highlights. The country is naturally stunning, and the wildlife parks feel pristine and untouched.

I camped my way through Africa, and found some of the camp sites in Zimbabwe to be a little less accommodating than some of the other countries that I visited.

The people are however incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating and they more than made up for the lack of infrastructure that exists.

On one occasion our group took a hike to a mountain cave to see some ancient wall paintings and we were caught in a torrential downpour. At the base of the mountain we discovered that a tiny stream had become a raging river. Our local guides expertly handled the situation and managed to get us all back to camp safely. That day is one of my fondest memories of the trip.

Get out there and see this beautiful country, the local people there really need you!




Zimfreak Visited: October 2010 Reviewed: Sep 21, 2011

Overall rating
4/5

Despite the political humdrum Zim is a very safe, open, and friendly country!

kboaler   –  
Australia AU
Visited: August 2009 Reviewed: Sep 22, 2011

20-35 years of age

Full of character and surprises.
Overall rating
4/5

We went there in August and the weather was amazing, October gets really hot and dry. We went to Victoria Falls or "Mosi oa Tunia" as the locals call it. The smoke that thunders. It was absolutely amazing and I recommend it to anyone. Victoria falls has loads of activities to offer, rafting ,canoeing , Gorge swing , game viewing, river cruises and much more.
The hotels are mostly 5 star although if you are on a budget Victoria falls has a variety to offer as does most of the country.
Watch out for Visas, if you are on an American or British passport be prepared to pay up to $50 for a single entry!

The amount of wildlife you will see depends on the time of year that you go, if you are ere during the "rainy season" most of the big game will be hard to find, though the guides should be able to find most.

Don't rely on public transport though the trains seem to be ok, they leave once a day.

Simone   –  
United States US
Visited: January 2008 Reviewed: Sep 26, 2011

20-35 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

Zimbabwe is a very depressed and troubled country right now. It's very pricey to be there for a long period of time. It helps to have a local act as your tour guide for the whole trip, as we did.

Whyone   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: October 2010 Reviewed: Oct 4, 2011

Email Whyone  |  50-65 years of age

Overall rating
4/5

Zimbabwe has of course suffered during the troubles of the last 10 years or so. The infrastructure is not what is was in the 1990's due to neglect/lack of money for maintainance. The more remote parks, like Mana, remain beautiful and largely unaffected and are well worth visiting.

Simone   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: December 2003 Reviewed: Oct 7, 2011

35-50 years of age

Special country, perfect scenic
Overall rating
4/5

I traveled from Harare to Vic Falls by bus.

Average User Rating

  • 4.5/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 50
  • 4 star 32
  • 3 star 8
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review