​User Reviews – Zimbabwe

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 32 Reviews
T Sharp Visited: June 2008 Reviewed: Nov 22, 2011

Zimbabwe is a country of rich culture and history, friendly locals, and stunning natural beauty.
Overall rating
4/5

My stay in Zimbabwe was a very memorable one. I had the good fortune of meeting some local guides on my first day in Victoria Falls, and so was able to see some local sights that I feel I wouldn't have otherwise. I watched the sunrise over the falls, went on bushwalks, and camped in places that were very secluded and special. Zimbabwe is a photographer's paradise, and the opportunities for good shots were endless. I was there during their fall/winter, and the weather was brisk at night, and very temperate during the day. I loved the food, especially some of the more exotic dishes, and in rare cases wild game meat. Though their economy has seen better times, the quality of safari available there, as well as the unmatched natural beauty, continue to make it a desirable destination for many adventurers, photographers, and wildlife enthusiasts. I truly hope that I can return to Zimbabwe soon, because there is more to see and do there than anyone could write about. Safari njema!

Philip & Doris Morgan Visited: October 2008 Reviewed: Nov 9, 2011

Incredible wildlife, people and scenery
Overall rating
4/5

The highlight of the visit was to see Victoria Falls from the Zimbabwe side which without a doubt is the better side to view the falls. The wild life is to be found everywhere from the waterhole next to our hotel called the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge to the animals wandering around the Victoria Falls. You can expect to see elephants and many exotic animals if you take a boat ride on the Zambazie river or a local safari. The scenery takes your breath away and you can not stop taking pictures of scenery such as the falls or the Zambezie river. In fact our trip to Africa produced around 2,500 digital photographs each for my wife and i. We were also concerned about the food quality but were pleasantly surprised by the excellent quality and the interesting content. In fact this is true of all the amenities provided such as the transport, drivers and guides who went out of their way to provide service in a pleasant and friendly manner. One special event was high tea at the Victoria Falls Hotel and i still have the bill which came to Z$25, 650,000 or US$26 at the time. Again walking around the grounds of the hotel resulted in encounters with many baboons and warthogs. The poverty is a culture shock but buying local goods and services must help the people survive and provide hope for a better future. The locals are more than willing to exchange the old Zimbabwe currency at attractive rates i.e. a 5 billion dollar note for US$1 and gifts for the children such as good quality hats are well received and appreciated.

Ronel van Zyl   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: November 2003 Reviewed: Apr 24, 2012

Email Ronel van Zyl  |  35-50 years of age

A Gem of Southern Africa
Overall rating
4/5

Zimbabwe away from the big cities in the unspoilt bush is a true wildlife and nature enthusiast's paradise. We visited the Victoria Falls area. The upsetting thing is that everything is charged for in US dollars which make it expensive. River rafting the 18 rapids on the Zambezi with the experienced guides make the trip a pleasure. Who has done 5 grade 5 rapids in one day? The safari lodges and hotel serve great food and it is recommended to visit a few for different dining experiences. The elephant back experience and the hot air balloon flight over Victoria Falls was magnificent. We stayed for two weeks in this area and it still felt not long enough. Petrol/ gas is a problem and one should fill up as often as possible if self driving. Great lodges, guesthouses and B&B's in the area with lots of friendly locals.

choofly   –  
United States US
Visited: October 2009 Reviewed: Oct 13, 2011

35-50 years of age

Wild beauty
Overall rating
4/5

Matetsi was a dream. The lodge was not full, which was very nice for us, but we found ourselves wishing more people would spend time there for the good of those who depend on tourism for a living. The service was top notch and everyone we met was genuinely friendly and lovely. We had perfect weather (not too hot, no rain) and we saw wildlife we hadn't seen in south africa, botswana, or tanzania -- wild dogs. We also saw african fishing eagles, elephants, giraffes, leopards, and lots and lots of wildlife. Amazing. The food was also top notch, but we found ourselves feeling very guilty eating such luxurious meals while food was difficult to come by in town. I would return to Zimbabwe in a heartbeat.

kgates Visited: February 2011 Reviewed: Oct 7, 2011

You will not regret a trip to Zimbabwe.
Overall rating
4/5

My husband and I were part of a tour group that visited Zimbabwe in February of 2010. I came away with wonderful memories and an incredible respect for the people of that country. I felt so welcomed into this land, so foreign to my experience, and found its citizens warm and eager to explain their lives. We stayed at the breath-taking Victoria Falls Hotel. I could not have wished for a more beautiful setting and we even did the "foofie slide" over the Zambezi River-- an even more "breath-taking" experience. Victoria Falls itself was an unforgettable experience.

We visited several markets (one for visitors and one for residents) and even had a chance to have a meal with a local family and compare our lives. Our local tour guides were amazing people who made our experience even more meaningful.

While in Zimbabwe, we boarded a jeep, hoping for sightings of the rare Black Rhino at the Victoria Falls Private Game Reserve. We had a great view of a pair of these huge animals, and also saw elephants, zebra, impala, warthogs and baboons. And birds galore! Even more fun was spotting the warthogs, monkeys and elephant tracks around our hotel itself. We also visited a lion-rehabilitation center, getting to pose with three huge cubs, and rode an elephant through the brush while learning about elephants from our guide.

The animals in Zimbabwe were amazing, but what made the Zimbabwean experience truly memorable for me were the people of this country, so courageous and generous. I hope to return some day.

Portland, Oregon, USA

www.wlasnadroga.pl   –  
Poland PL
Visited: September 2013 Reviewed: Aug 26, 2015

Email www.wlasnadroga.pl  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

For plus I can write that park is almost empty. You can trade the price because there is not so many people. But if you would like to see many different animals you can be disappointed. In Zimbabwe every park has something different, so you have to choosen what is interesting for you.

momathew   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: September 2014 Reviewed: May 2, 2015

50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Overall rating
4/5

Mana has no dearth of wildlife, and it ticks all the boxes as a great safari destination

kboaler   –  
Australia AU
Visited: August 2009 Reviewed: Sep 22, 2011

20-35 years of age

Full of character and surprises.
Overall rating
4/5

We went there in August and the weather was amazing, October gets really hot and dry. We went to Victoria Falls or "Mosi oa Tunia" as the locals call it. The smoke that thunders. It was absolutely amazing and I recommend it to anyone. Victoria falls has loads of activities to offer, rafting ,canoeing , Gorge swing , game viewing, river cruises and much more.
The hotels are mostly 5 star although if you are on a budget Victoria falls has a variety to offer as does most of the country.
Watch out for Visas, if you are on an American or British passport be prepared to pay up to $50 for a single entry!

The amount of wildlife you will see depends on the time of year that you go, if you are ere during the "rainy season" most of the big game will be hard to find, though the guides should be able to find most.

Don't rely on public transport though the trains seem to be ok, they leave once a day.

Sydney Girl Visited: February 2005 Reviewed: Sep 21, 2011

Beautiful Scenery, Enchanting Wildlife, Friendly People
Overall rating
4/5

I traveled to Zimbabwe as part of a 6 week safari from Nairobi to Johannesburg. My week in Zimbabwe was one of the absolute highlights. The country is naturally stunning, and the wildlife parks feel pristine and untouched.

I camped my way through Africa, and found some of the camp sites in Zimbabwe to be a little less accommodating than some of the other countries that I visited.

The people are however incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating and they more than made up for the lack of infrastructure that exists.

On one occasion our group took a hike to a mountain cave to see some ancient wall paintings and we were caught in a torrential downpour. At the base of the mountain we discovered that a tiny stream had become a raging river. Our local guides expertly handled the situation and managed to get us all back to camp safely. That day is one of my fondest memories of the trip.

Get out there and see this beautiful country, the local people there really need you!




AT   –  
Singapore SG
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Sep 17, 2019

Email AT  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Absolute bliss
Overall rating
4/5

People were amazing... animals were surreal as there were herds of them! Lovely weather although it was very hot in the afternoon. Guide was very knowledgeable. Overall it was just heavenly!

Average User Rating

  • 4.5/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 50
  • 4 star 32
  • 3 star 8
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 0
Write a User Review