User Reviews – Tanzania

Sort By: Date Most Helpful 1-10 of 131 Reviews
John Carthy   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: August 2008 Reviewed: Feb 1, 2012

Email John Carthy  |  20-35 years of age

Book an organised safari in advance!
Overall rating
4/5

We drove down from Kenya (Masai Mara to Arusha via Nairobi in one day - I don't recommend it) and tried to have a look around Tanzania on our own. It didn't work. Immigration kindly informed us that our very expensive visas were only valid for six days, so we booked into a post hotel in Arusha, had a curry for tea, and frantically searched the town for a four day safari to Ngorongoro leaving immediately. Fortunately, Arusha is full of tour operators, so we found one. Unfortunately, it consisted of a mental Michael Schumacher wannabe driving a decrepid Land Cruiser with a cook whose main contribution was to eat all the meat before the tourists got it. The drive to and from the crater was hairy. As such, I would recommend anybody going to do the sensible thing and book a good tour with a reputable company.
The Serengeti and Ngorongoro are amazing parks. The best Leopard action I've ever had, and loads of other excellent animal and bird encounters. The campsites are pretty good aswell. Prices are very high, as they are elsewhere in East Africa, compared with similar parks in southern Africa.
Due to our visa predicament, we didn't have time to see anymore of Tanzania. I'd love to go back though, and go to Zanzibar and the Selous.

Marko Miettinen   –  
Finland FI
Visited: March 2020 Reviewed: May 18, 2020

Email Marko Miettinen  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Top experience
Overall rating
4/5

Everything was well executed, the guide was on time to pick us up from the hotel. The weather was favorable, it rained a few times. The nature is incredibly beautiful. Our guide and driver Mr William was really on top, taking us there and back even though the flooded river was an obstacle. Due to the rains, the roads were in poor condition in places. The accommodation was ok, the food could have been better.

We saw a lot, maybe the highlight was eating wild dogs, eating a dead hippo. We saw lions, elephants, giraffes, Hippos, and others.

Stephen Pigott   –  
Australia AU
Visited: March 2017 Reviewed: Mar 25, 2017

Email Stephen Pigott

Saw the big 5 easy
Overall rating
4/5

Bring heeps of US dollars. Everybody wants payment in US$. I brought $3000us I should have brought $6000 for Kilimanjaro,safari,gorillas,Zanzibar,hotels,tips,day trips etc. I did 3 country's in east Africa. A stable currency is preferred over a fluctuating local currency. Foreign owned business have to pay tax in US$ I was told.

Stuart Visited: June 2007 Reviewed: May 2, 2012

Beautiful country with a wide variety of safari options
Overall rating
4/5

Tanzania has many safari options, from luxury hotels in the heavily visited Ngorongoro to unserviced campsites in Mikumi National Park. In general the main roads outside the cities are OK but other roads are often dirt. However, in my experience safari companies are well aware of this and bring appropriate transport (as always, you get what you pay for).

Tanzania has some unmissable sights: Ngorongoro, Serengeti (an extension of the Mara in Kenya) and, if you are fit enough, climbs up Mount Meru and Kilimanjaro.

Safari options range from basic camping (in parks where it is allowed) to all-inclusive luxurious hotels in the middle of the savannah. Often it is a good idea to get a park ranger to accompany you if available - they often offer - and because they work in the park all the time, they can be more knowledgeable about recent animal sightings.

If you are visiting the parks in the north of Tanzania you probably won't have much reason to visit Dar es Salaam, and you probably won't miss much either. It isn't a particularly interesting place and many people just pass through on the way to Zanzibar.

Ezequiel   –  
Argentina AR
Visited: August 2010 Reviewed: Sep 9, 2011

20-35 years of age

Amazing wildlife, but among crowds of people
Overall rating
4/5

Tanzania is a wonderful country to visit, I stayed over a month, and could see just a corner. Besides the well known parks in the north corridor, there´s the more tranquil parks in the south, some of them scarcely visited, and of course Zanzibar is a mandatory destination, and many more places worth your time if you are in the mood for some adventure. Unfortunately, wherever there´s a main tourist attraction, entry fees are extremely high. Outside the north corridor, distances are long and travel is slow. Public transportation leaves room for desire. Wildlife is just unbelievable. Accomodation ranges from very poor to extremely luxurious, you can stay by very cheaply (outside the parks) or enjoy an incredible confort in amazing locations, but in this cases -inside the national parks- prices are very high by any standart. BE careful when choosing your safari company.

Nile_Geordies Visited: December 2009 Reviewed: Aug 22, 2011

A raw jewel, from dust tracks to flush green areas! Great people.
Overall rating
4/5

On our first visit to Tanzania me and my wife decided to spend a week or two working in an orphange. Such a rewarding experience, the people and kids all eager to learn and friendly unlike many in the UK!

We then moved on to a tented lodge in Arusha, gave a great feel of sights and sounds of the countryside. This prepared us for our main event climbing Mount Kilimanjaro (via the Mechame route). What a fantastic trip, hard work physically and mentally with beautiful scenery looking to Meru, each days scenery changed getting less and less dense of forest. We successfully completed our trek to the summit With Forsters Safari's on Boxing Day 2009! Unbelievable...

We returned to base and went back to our tented lodge for a few days to relax, then we took a few days safari around Manyara, Ngorongoro & Tarangire. Ngorongoro is a must, what a setting full of animals, like Jurrasic Park! We stayed in the Rhotia Valley afterwards which was lush and green, people working the fields with ox and their hands. We then visited Manyara which was a different type of reserve on the lakeside then moved on for a few days at Tarangire which was different again in the bush, true dirt tracks, river crossings in the 4x4 and loads of the smaller birds and animals too.

The hustle and bustle of the towns can feel intimidating to some though we enjoyed it, visit the Masai markets for local crafts. The country is much more relaxed and everyone stops to help if you if you need it. A really nice place to visit.

Patricia Palma   –  
Portugal PT
Visited: March 2019 Reviewed: Apr 13, 2019

Email Patricia Palma  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Top tour !
Overall rating
4/5

After some research se choose Kiliholidays tours to do our safári. We had support during all trip and even before ( we had some questions regarding the payment, and we had all explenations by e-mail). Our guide in Dar és Salem, Isan was super disponible, kind and interested to show us as much as animals as possible. He definly make the difference in our Safari.

Christophe Jouvin   –  
France FR
Visited: January 2019 Reviewed: Feb 26, 2019

Email Christophe Jouvin  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Safaris are tiring, but magical! Zanzibar is relaxing;)
Overall rating
4/5

Everything was very good, except the choice of our organizer (hello tanzania) who did not take care of us properly, and made us available old uncomfortable vehicles making safaris less enjoyable ...

Jan Hendriks   –  
Netherlands NL
Visited: October 2015 Reviewed: Dec 17, 2015

Email Jan Hendriks  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Overall rating
4/5

Tanzania has much wildlife in parks which are not so crowded visited. For that you need a good gide to bing you near the animals. We had an excellent guide. The known parks are to expensive and there are to many tourist being there. In Mikumi it is cheaper and there are a few tourists and you can see all the game (except the rinoceros.

CuypersBart Visited: July 2010 Reviewed: Sep 10, 2012

Overall rating
4/5

Tanzania is an absolutely beautiful country and the wildlife is amazing.

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

  • 5 star 860
  • 4 star 131
  • 3 star 23
  • 2 star 4
  • 1 star 4
Write a User Review